We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic B&B that made this country GREAT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cliffside Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cliffside Guest House
Save
You added Cliffside Guest House to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   79 - 81 Queen's Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Classic B&B that made this country GREAT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I arrived late but were welcomed warmly and shown to our room. Very comfortable and spacious with a great view. Local knowledge was shared and this meant no time was wasted finding a good meal.
Breakfast was excellent and plentiful. Use this B&B with confidence. A1

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Owner at Cliffside Guest House, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the the time to review our Guest House, We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us especially the home cooked breakfast.

Myself and Wendy look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Many Thanks
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    4
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
doncaster united kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Thank You Paul & Wendy, Had a great stay, Christopher enjoyed is time at your Hotel and your Hospitality was First Class. Location, brilliant, accsess to both sides of Hotel. Car park on sea view side. Ideal for Cricket ground short walk ( 150 mitres ).on North Marine road side of Hotel. Lovely room (24 ) Beatifull sea view.

Room Tip: Room 24, Beautifull sea view. ( top floor, no lift )
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Owner at Cliffside Guest House, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks ,happy to see you again in August
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Just had a 2 night stay here and it was brill just a shame it wasn't longer! Avin said that we av booked to go back again in August owners very friendly and helpful. Breakfast very filling, can't wait to go back in August!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Owner at Cliffside Guest House, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just had a weekend at cliffside, a warm welcome from Paul and Wendy as alway . We have been coming here for many years and have never been disappointed with anything including the weather.The views from the hotel are stunning , and being able to park is an added bonus as parking in scarborough can be a problem. A good breakfast is always served if you leave here hungry it's your own fault .thank you Paul and Wendy and we hope to see you again soon .ps we will bring the sunshine!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Owner at Cliffside Guest House, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thanks for your comments, see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Basic guest house on the North Bay of Scarborough. Staff are friendly and the views are beautiful. The town centre is a 5 – 10 minute walk away, Castle the same although up a steep hill. We found different ways to walk to each attraction (spa, harbour, castle etc), some strenuous but with lovely views and others through the town were less strenuous.
The rooms all vary in size and shape, and can hold singles, couple, families etc; with bunkbeds, doubles etc to fit everyone in. We were in room 6 which has a double and single, with a great sea view. Rooms are cleaned as expected in a guesthouse, TV’s were modern with all your regular channels, and there was a kettle for tea and coffee. The curtains were for show only as they kept no light out at all and as the weather was good it meant 5am wake ups with bright sun streaming in. The bathroom door didn’t close properly and the shower head wouldn’t stay in the bracket but these were all things that I could live with.
Breakfast is a choice of a few cereals and a fry up with either beans or tomatoes. It is only served between 8.30 – 9 which made it quite restrictive if you either wanted to get up early and head out, or have a lie in. Also, the vegetarian in our group could only have beans, egg or tomato on toast. Throughout our time in Scarborough we got the impression vegetarians aren’t really very well catered for with the exception of Thai and Indian restaurants.
Overall I imagine this is pretty standard for guesthouses. If you want somewhere comfortable, basic and friendly then it won’t disappoint.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, Owner at Cliffside Guest House, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thanks for your comments, i would like to say that you were one of the best University groups we have had, very friendly and well behaved.As for having to put up with the shower and door, you don't need toThings do go wrong from time to time and if mentioned to the owners or staff during your visit 99% of the time they can be sorted we rely on Guests to le us know.As we are family/holiday hotel we tend to have set breakfast, but it can be flexible as it was with your party when we did an earlier one on your day of departure...Good luck with your studies and travelling...Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of Oct 12. And was very impressed. I chose this hotel for the view only but got a lot more. Our room was large clean and warm. With a magnificent view over the north bay and the castle. Our linen was changed for our second day. Breakfast was served very efficiently and was lovely. The owners were friendly and welcoming and I am sure we shall be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend 27th to 30th July. Great central location, fantastic food, warm friendly hosts and staff, good value. Made to feel very welcome and the service was excellent. We would definitely return and recommend this guest house.

Room Tip: Room 24 is right at the top with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cliffside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Guest House

Address: 79 - 81 Queen's Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffside Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 16

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliffside Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.