We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing, rude and bland” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kam Sang

Kam Sang
1-3 North Marine Road, Scarborough YO12 7EY, England
+44 1723 501718 ‎
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 308 Restaurants in Scarborough
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Disappointing, rude and bland”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This Resturant is far from appetising. As a group we enjoy visiting Chinese restaurants often, ordering a variety of dishes to share.

The dishes were all very similar in taste! There was very little variety in flavour.

The service was awful. Dishes were served quickly but the staff were rude and were making comments to each other in their language which seemed to be about us and our fellow diners.

The prices are pretty high. £8.50-£10 for a main dish. For this price you would expect a great service and flavour - we got neither. I pay less than that in my favourite Chinese Resturant in Central London!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    123
    50
    28
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prudhoe
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Good recommendation from our B and B owners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a comfortable and well set out restaurant with plenty of space between tables.
It was also found to be good value once we finished our lovely food and received our bill.
The staff were found to be well mannered and attentive when we asked for drinks etc.and rests between meals. They respected our wishes nicely in this aspect.
The food in all 3 courses was fresh, hot and tasty. Good as you get chicken and sweet corn soup, crispy aromatic duck, and chicken and green peppers in black bean sauce and special chow mein were all devoured with gusto. They were all excellent in their taste and presentation, A "well done" to the chef is deserved here .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fab place to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We popped in to the Kam Sang on our way out for a pre dinner drink and asked if we could book a table for an hours time. Although they were busy, we were able to get a table booked for us. On our return we were quickly shown to our table, and ordered drinks as we looked over the comprehensive menu - loads of choice! After changing our minds several times we eventually decided on a sharing platter to start with which included chicken satay, seaweed, prawn toast and spring rolls, all of which was very tasty, Our main meals of duck cantonese style and chicken with bamboo shoots & water chestnuts with rice was absolutely lovely. Service was swift (but we didn't feel rushed) and efficient, and we were made to feel welcome. Highly recommend eating here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“fabulous meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Wow, wonderful meal, friendly staff, definitely worth a visit if you're in Scarborough. Service was efficient, menu comprehensive and food good quality and portion sizes more than adequate. No hesitation in recommending this restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great value, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We visited Sunday 22nd September as a party of four adults, to enjoy the Sunday buffet... and enjoy it we did. The food was plentiful, varied, hot and really good quality.

The waiters/waitresses were a bit too keen to clear our table when a couple of the party were 'resting' before going back to sample a different dish. In the main, well worth £9.00 for this quality of food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kam Sang also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Kam Sang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kam Sang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.