We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miricia

Save Saved
You added Miricia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Miricia
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   5 Rutland Terrace | Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7JB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 180 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Hexham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Room with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Sorry it has taken time to do this report but I have just found the photos.
We found the B&B on the Internet and located the area with Google street maps. The accommodation was very clean and the full English breakfast was very good our hosts were very helpful and polite, as soon as we got there they give us a free parking permit for the time we were staying with them and a number for internet assess. The standard room & breakfast was £25-00 but we went for the room with the bay window and easy chares with a fantastic view of the sands & sea of the north bay, (well worth the £2-00 extra p.p.p.n.)
I do not have anything bad to say about this B&B as we did enjoy our stay with them and I do think the price per night was ok, (I would not have liked to pay more for the accommodation).
Thank you.

Room Tip: We are in our late 50 years so it was good to have a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Miricia, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you for your comments, the room you stayed in has been redecorated since your trip so you should find it even better should you return and the price is still the same. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    6
    2
    5
    5
See reviews for
14
32
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The first time we stayed here was because we were struggling to find a b&b that would accomodate our young baby. The owners were lovely, friendly and extremely helpful even moving a bed out of the room to put up a cot. We were on the very top floor so had to walk up a few flights of stairs, but this didn't bother us it just meant that we could enjoy the breakfast all the more in the morning. The breakfast was homecooked and fresh and set us up for the day. The rooms were nice and clean and the b&b is situated in a great position with easy access to both the beach and the town. We enjoyed our stay and have already been back again and will definitely be staying here on our future stays in Scarborogh.

Room Tip: We have only stayed in the top room which is a climb up a few flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Miricia, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are so pleased you enjoy your trips. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

nice (family-run) B&B
brilliant sea view, quick response via email

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Miricia, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased that you were happy with our guest house. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

we stayed for a couple of days and had the sea view rooms, it was lovely and relaxing, views were amazing, breakfast was good and the lady was really friendly, will be back

Room Tip: we had room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Miricia, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased that you were happy with our guest house. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights during August, and 2 nights was definately enough! The HOTEL has a strange musty smell when you go in and that spreads throughout the place. The room was average must have been good at camera trickery as it didnot resemble the room i had seen on line. There were some very loud guests in that meant we had very little sleep both nights! Breakfast was adequate but the staff seemed rushed and harrased. A VERY basic B&B that we won't be visiting again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Miricia, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
I'm sorry to hear your comments, I cannot understand the musty smell as we clean on a daily basis. The pictures we use on-line are taken with a normal digital camera and no trickery is used. With regards to the noisy guests, we clearly state on all our sites that we do not accept groups or drinking parties but unfortunately people do misbehave, this is out of our control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

My girlfriend and myself have just arrived back after a few nights stay at the Miricia. For the price, we cannot fault the accommodation and rooms were clean and tidy. For breakfast, we had toast and full english breakfast which was very nice and tea/coffee or orange juice to drink. The owner was very nice and helpful and we fully recommend the hotel. Looking forward to going back! :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Miricia, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

had a great time great breakfast small but clean room loved location room facing over sea with come back again and again cheap but well worth the price and more the owner was friendly and very welcoming will be back soon :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Miricia, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Thank you for your comments, so pleased you loved our guest house, we have increased the size of breakfast too! Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Miricia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miricia

Address: 5 Rutland Terrace | Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 180 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Miricia 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Miricia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miricia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.