We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Court Hotel to your Saves list
Palm Court Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ES, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful Hotel with really helpful and friendly staff especially Dave in the bar who always remembers your name and makes you laugh. The bar snacks and meals are fantastic, coleslaw best ever. The Bar and lounge area have a romantic atmosphere with vases ot tea lights and flowers on the tables. The restaurant is beautiful with linen tablecloths and candelabras. The breakfast menu is really good with plenty of choices, fresh fruit,compote,yogurts ,croissants,fruit juice,cereals and a wonderful full English kippers or haddock. The Hotel is in a wonderful location very close to the Beach and shops,with free car parking for guests and the wonderful addition of a swimming pool. The only negative for us was we booked a small double, Room 24 which unfortunately only had a shower and it felt a bit claustrophobic. However our friends also had a small double, Room 27 which was very nice with a bath and shower and a better view. This is all in all a wonderful hotel and privately owned which is rare these days. Long may it continue.We look forward to returning with our friends in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    112
    48
    19
    10
See reviews for
84
154
10
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Having stayed at this hotel many times and returned due to excellent value for money, on this occasion despite reporting the problem many times we had no hot water for three days. Compensation amounted to complimentary bed and breakfast for one night out of season.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH-Scarborough, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear CLT238,

Thank you for submitting your review concerning your stay with us here at the Hotel. Firstly I must apologise for the Hotel not exceeding your expectations. On this occasion we didn't deliver. We did experience issues with our hot water which frustrates us further as the Hotel's utilities had a considerable upgrade only 12 months ago with new boilers not being least of these.

I do hope that our gesture of a complimentary stay in the future will give the Hotel another chance to rectify the issue and show a true representation of the Palm Court Hotel.

if you wish to contact me directly please do not hesitate in doing so.

Kind regards


Mr Jay Clements
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

It was a last minute booking of a single room, bed and breakfast for 2 nights my reservation taken over the tlephone by a friendly receptionist at a rate of £75 per night.
Ther hotel is centrally located and the indoor car park is a bonus, as is the free wifi.
My room although on the small side was clean and comfortable. Nice touches were complimentary bottles of still and sparkiling water and a sachet of ground coffee as well as the usual instants; also a good selection of teas', including wiild berry!
There is an atmosphere of days gone bye; the antiquated lift is an interesting experience!
Breakfast was good with local produce; local fresh yoghurt was delicious. All staff were welcoming and friendly. A hotel I would be happy to retunr to.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at the Palm Court Hotel at the beginning of April and we booked the current offer weekend break availalble. Ideal for a relaxing break. We had a fantastic lunch on arrival in the hotels lounge, then a four course meal on boths nights, with a full English breakfast each morning and afternoon tea on the saturday too. The food was fantastic! The room was clean well apointed and the bathroom was a good size with a good selection of toiletries.
We received great service, helpful staff with a really nice atmosphere. Staff very friendly and helpful... overall a really relaxing weekend. Loved it!

Room Tip: Dave the Bar Manager
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH-Scarborough, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Lord N,

As a daily routine of checking guest feedback may I take this opportunity of thanking you for your kind comments concerning your stay with us here at the Palm Court. The weekend break that you booked forms part of our discounted offers that we promote throughout the year. We do encourage all guests to contact the Hotel directly to receive our Best Available Rate.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future.

Kind regards


Mr Jay Clements
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

A lovely hotel very convenient for the railway station, theatres and main shopping area. The beach is a 15 minute downhill stroll away or the lift is close by.

Parking is free in their dedicated car park around the corner. We arrived a few hours before official check-in time but the hotel reception was happy to give us a car pass for that day. Be careful not to go into the ‘Palm Court Car Park’ with the barriers, this is NOT the hotel car park and you will be charged. The hotel’s car park is a few yards along Vernon Road at street level and without barriers.

We stayed B&B in room 40 on the top floor. Being adjacent to the lift and stairway door it may be noisy when the hotel is busy but we had no problems on this occasion. The room was a little tired looking but had all the facilities that you would reasonably expect – tea/coffee, TV (but no Sky), complimentary toiletries etc.

The staff were professional, friendly and cheerful and the extensive breakfast set us up for the rest of the day.

There are numerous bars and restaurants within a few minutes’ walk of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We booked the hotel through a recommendation of family friends. The Hotel staff were extremely welcoming. We chose the Hotel primarily because of its location. Everything about this hotel is excellent, the car parking is right next door and free also!.
All staff that we saw were professional, friendly and could not do enough for you, the rooms are modern, clean, comfortable and excellent value for money, the location is perfect, the hotel has its own lounge and restauarant but sadly we didnt get to eat as we were attending a family meal.
Breakfast was well presented, plenty of choice with a huge selection from the continental buffet with homemade jam on display!. The cooked plated breakfast was plentiful served quickly but not rushed. I highly recommend this hotel to anybody who wants to be central and next to the beach and shops, stylish and thoroughly relaxing stay in Scarborough.

Will be back very soon

Room Tip: front facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PCH-Scarborough, General Manager at Palm Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Madeline,

Thank you for your review of us here at the Palm Court Hotel in Scarborough. Your kind words will be passed onto all staff. We look forward to welcoming you back here again in the not too distant future.

kind regards,

Mr Jay Clements
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Hands down the nicest hotel room I've ever stayed in for a number of years. Luxurious, spacious and comfortable. We stayed in one of the executive rooms. The feel and atmosphere was quite formal, but the staff were very very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend the all at the hotel.

The sun was shining and we couldnt have asked for better service, food or accommodation.
Not the cheapest, but worth it completely !!

Look forward to our next visit

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Court Hotel

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#5 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#12 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 30 years our family owned, highly rated, AA 3 star hotel is the perfect place to explore, relax and enjoy all that Scarborough and the North York Moors National Park has to offer. Currently rated the highest 3 star hotel. Commanding a wonderful central position, the elegant Palm Court Hotel boasts one of the most prestigious locations in Scarborough. Set against a backdrop of beautiful heritage coastline, the hotel venue offers an invigorating experience, whether your stay involves pure pleasure or business. Experience a high standard of service from our friendly, professional and welcoming team. Upon arrival, there is guaranteed FREE parking available to all hotel residents, which is unique for Scarborough town centre. FREE use of Internet throughout the Hotel. Also during your stay, relax in our indoor swimming pool, for the use of hotel residents only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Palm Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Court Scarborough
Hotel Palm Court

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.