We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never had a bad meal there yet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Gringo's

El Gringo's
South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AQ, England
01723 501764
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 279 restaurants in Scarborough
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never had a bad meal there yet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We eat here regularly and find the food to be amazing quality, good sizes and there's a huge choice on the menu. Last night I had the salmon and prawn combo and it was superb. The wine is ok quality and the cocktails are great. Happy hour is a bargain too. The service is a bit hit and miss but the food easily makes up for that.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    77
    39
    21
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Lovely meal with ample portions, staff helpful and polite, we went for happy hour 25% off excellent value for money.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filey, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Caribbean night 15th Nov”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

As always first class food, (the chef is to be commended) great entertainment and wonderful staff. Went as a group of 12 but have been many times before. Love the cocktail bar!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scarborough
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food shame about the building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Went on sat night, we had booked which was good because it was very busy. Seated and order taken quickly. Took a while to get the food because there was a large party in, but kept informed as to how long before food would arrive. Food tasty, and plenty of it. Down side it was very noisy could't have a conversation with people on the opposite side of the table!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“MIXED FEELINGS ON OUR VISIT”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Rang the restaurant to ask when they opened and arranged to call at 6pm. Not informed that there is a 25% discount from 5pm - 6pm and there was no info on their website about this. We only found out from a big notice in the entrance as we arrived. If we had know we would have arrived earlier. For six people we were seated at a table for 4 next to a table for 2. The tables being of different heights and looked odd. I noticed after sitting down and getting drinks that there were two six seater tables available and they were available for the two hours we were eating. We had two bowls of Nachos to share for a starter and I must have admit they were some of the best nachos I have ever had. All four adults had main courses that were quite large, so much so that we all did not finish them. The two children ate all their meals and loved them. There were no complaints about the main courses. Only one dessert was order as we were all quite stuffed! The service we had was quite good and certainly better than what some customers have had according to recent reviews. The décor of the restaurant is not to my liking but I go to restaurants for good service and good food and this restaurant had both. The down side of having a kitchen opening into a restaurant was some noise, smells and smoke/steam. All tolerable but when another party of six all seemed to have sizzling dishes it resulted in the whole restaurant being full of steam coming from those meals and the kitchen. Two tables close to the windows were talking about it and one of them opened a window to try to clear the air. For around 15 minutes the quality of air was poor but it eventually started to clear. If this is a normal occurrence the owners should look at the ventilation in the restaurant. Overall though a good visit and I would recommend it for a family meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gringo's also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
Malton, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to El Gringo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Gringo's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.