We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bucket list” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Watermark Cafe

The Watermark Cafe
Royal Albert Drive, Scarborough YO12 7TY, England
1723506506
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 304 Restaurants in Scarborough
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Bucket list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I read yesterday that eating fish and chips on a pier is now on the UK's bucket list top 50. Forget the pier or jetty! Also, ignore tea at Betty's in Harrogate on the list. Watermark is where it's at.

Have visited here for years and it still fills me with awe and wonder. It's mainly the view granted, but the food has also been consistently very good in the way of a breakfast. I am extremely choosy when it comes to coffee and rarely drink instant or cheap ground coffee. Whatever, Watermark serves, it's good. I always have toasted tea cake and the boys either a bacon roll or full English.

The staff work like the clappers to make sure that service is great.

Bring me my bucket!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    63
    12
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Just great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Having read that this is a great place to go after walking the dog on the beach, this is exactly what we did! And we were not disappointed! Friendly staff, great service, organic/eco-friendly policies & tasty food - what's not to like? As the weather was so good, we sat outside; but we would have been welcome inside with our dogs. Just great!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed having breakfast here. The staff were particularly cheery and the food was fantastic. The location is stunning, definitely worth a visit!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Friday - best breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Brilliant breakfast this morning - really friendly staff who were working flat out. A short wait as one of their grills wasn't working but well worth waiting for. Excellent quality and beautifully cooked - thanks - will definitely be returning - maybe for cake as they looked lovely :))

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Callington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great place for a cup of tea !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Although small, this is a great cafe. A lovely place to stop for a cup of tea and a bit of (excellent) cake. Nice views of the North Bay beach. Pleasant staff. Pretty good value for money. The only real downside is the fact that the local council charge £2 / hour to park outside - not really the cafe's fault.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Watermark Cafe also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Watermark Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Watermark Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.