We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1881 at Wrea Head Hall

1881 at Wrea Head Hall
Barmoor Lane Scalby, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England
01723 371190
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 304 Restaurants in Scarborough
Price range: $72 - $72
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Wrawby
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Efficient service, nice view of the garden. It is possible to switch between standard and indulgence menus. Steak was cooked to perfection. If staying at the hotel, the additional cost for DBB is worth it rather than paying on the evening. The bar area is light and welcoming.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    8
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

The menu was very interesting. I started with the soup, butternut squash and sweet potato tasty but maybe a little too sweet. I followed this be posh gammon and eggs. This was amazing, the egg was out if this world.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Sheer perfection, from start to finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

From the very arrival in the lovely grounds, this was a treat from start to finish. Immaculately dressed staff give the warmest of welcomes and are most attentive throughout. Per-dinner drinks are served in the bar, with a wonderful view from the window. We treated ourselves to the 'Indulgence Menu' and every course we had was delicious! A good selection of wines just adds to the fantastic experience. Sheer perfection!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingston upon hull
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“keep it going chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

food and combination of flavours bordering on star quality. a good menu, varied to suite everyones pallet,

what was also good was the availability of good wines and unusual ones.
service was of a very good standard, we where there on the evening of mothers day, and both jack and the lovely lady behind the bar, were both excellent at their jobs ,

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Top Quality Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

My husband and I visited yesterday evening. The building and grounds are beautiful.
We were seated in the lounge initially which is lovely and cosy with its open fire. A very relaxed atmosphere to choose your meal with a drink.
All the staff were very friendly and attentive.
The stand out point I want to make is on the food. It was outstanding. My husband and I chose different things for all three courses and thoroughly enjoyed them all. I don't know if the chef has any awards but he certainly deserves some! I felt like I was dining on Masterchef The Professionals! Not only did it taste amazing, the presentation was perfect.
I cannot recommend this place highly enough. We will definitly be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1881 at Wrea Head Hall also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scalby, Scarborough
 

Been to 1881 at Wrea Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1881 at Wrea Head Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.