We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown Spa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Crown Spa Hotel to your Saves list
The Crown Spa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Worcs. England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

We had a 3 night break, having booked through the hotels own web site, which gave better rates than any last minute websites or the reception of the hotel. Booked a sea view room but decided a balcony in Oct was not needed. On arrival lucky enough to find a car parking space right outside the hotel, so with the complimentary ticket provided by reception that is where the car stayed. Room was on 3rd floor (311) in between the two lifts but no noise from the corridor at all. (the only noise was from next door with their use of the huge flat screen tv fixed to the wall, we did not turn ours on but did have one) Room very comfortable, appeared to be recently refurbished, large comfy bed and lots of drawer space. The telescope was an unusual and much appreciated extra. The bathroom well equipped with relaxing lighting, only caution would be for getting in to the bath for the over the bath shower, there are no rails at all. The key thing about the room was it was spotless and daily attention meant it stayed that way despite our best efforts! The hotel is in good location, though as with us if you have walking difficulties you do need to make sure the cliff lifts are working. The leisure facilities were the main reason for my choosing it and I had not been wrong. Ok the pool is not large but hotels do not have olympic size pools and if you want a decent swim you can time it right, the Jacuzzi is the largest I have seen and very relaxing. Steam rooms, saunas are in a separate area with no children allowed. If I was being picky the one thing that did not make sense was that the cool off shower for use after sauna/steam was not with them but in the pool area. That aside it was a great facility which I made use of before breakfast and with hubbie before dinner.
So turning to food, we were on a continental breakfast basis which is all we need and the hotel includes a hot item of eggs. The breakfast service was where it was not so good, our last morning particularly was pretty poor. You are served tea/coffee but once we were seated each morning we had to ask for it as opposed to being offered, buffet items were not refilled as promptly as they should have been. The last morning, there were not many of us in the dining area but we all had to ask for drinks and for juice to be replenished. The staff that were there wandered round a lot with no guidance. That said poor breakfast service (food was fine) is not going to spoil our break. We ate in the hotel restaurant the first night, food was perfectly acceptable but not outstanding and of course it was fairly pricey.
For a drink out not very far, try the Highlander a couple of doors away. It is part locals/part tourist but friendly with very reasonably priced drinks.
The thing that could have marred our stay was our check out; our bill included a cooked breakfast we had not had, although the waitress had tried to deliver one to our table in error and incorrect nightly rates. It took 35 minutes to correct this with no apology or enquiry as to whether we had enjoyed our stay – which we had.
Apart from a couple of niggles I would have no hesitation in saying this was a good choice of hotel, just check your bill carefully.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    426
    192
    55
    40
See reviews for
200
826
37
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

We stumbled upon this fabulous hotel as we went for a stroll on the South Cliff, loved the decor, imaginative use of colours and friendly staff and immediately booked. The reception staff couldn't have been kinder or more helpful, our room was stunning and I fell in love with the bathroom and use of coloured lights. It was deliciously comfortable and pretty with every facility available including a good pool and leisure complex, with exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. We dined in the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast and nothing was too much trouble for anyone, hot milk, poached eggs, you name it. Best of all it was scrupulously clean, modern and we felt, after one night as if we'd been on holiday for days as it was so relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

Booked a last minute couple of rainy grey days in Scarborough just to get away from it all. Was concerned about choosing where to stay, as my experience to date of sea side town hotels had not been good. This place was better than i expected lovely decor in main areas, bedroom curtains were a bit chintzy and room was smallish but the bathroom was lovely clean warm and nicely lit. and after all i only paid a special offer rate due to their being no view due to the scaffolding which we had been made aware of when booking online. Used the pool and jacuzzi downsatairs which was all art deco/nouvaeu tiled, while everyone else was getting ready for dinner and we had it to ourselves it was like being in a relaxing hideaway. Yeah a bit pricey but everything else including the staff and the view were spot on.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

The company I am employed by made a reservation for me. On my arrival I realised the hotel is situated in one of the most beautiful locations in the UK with phenomenal views.
What is more, most of the hotel staff, in general, were extremely friendly, polite and professional, where the customer comes first. However, there were a few staff that did come across unprofessional, unfriendly and looking to be tipped.
I stayed in room 153, where the size of the bed was inbetween a single and a double bed. The room is spacious, contemporary with a fantastic bathroom. The room comes with fast speed wifi, which is easy to access. The room cleaners always make sure you have cookies, biscuits and various hot drink sachets.
For anybody staying in the hotel I recommend ordering a meal as bar food, this will ensure your meal is under £10, where the quality is the same as eating in the restaurant.
The hotel does not imply a curfew, in fact it is the opposite.

I would recommend this hotel to anybody staying in Scarborough, you will be treated well and you are within a 10 minute walk to the seafront

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

We asked for sea view and were told on arrival internet requests were not honoured. Our room faced scaffolding at the back with workmen walking past the window. Swimming pool is small and dark. Spa rooms were nice. Evening meal included for £25 each was awful, mine was cold and had to be sent back, my husband's gave him food poisoning. We did not use our allowance, so assumed that wine would be included- it was not. No response has been received to my complaint. Also there is no parking.
Do not stay at the Crown Spa unless everywhere else is full!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds, england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

My mother and I stayed at the crown spa 3rd Sept to 10th Sept 2009. We booked a feature room (114) my goodness we were very impressed. The room was massive with twin beds, a chesterfield sofa, two leather chairs, coffee table, dining table and chairs. plasma tv, tea and coffee. iron and board, mini fridge, superb bathroom and the best a balcony overlooking the sea, south bay and the faraway cliffs (a telescope is also provided to make the most of the views). The breakfast is excellent with plenty of choice (fruit juice, fruit, cereals, bacon, eggs, sausages, tomatoes, mushrooms, beans, pastries, bread, toast, tea and coffee). The bar menu is very good, with a vast choice of food including sandwichs, paninis, burgers, soup etc). Taste restaurant is an excellent choice for dinner with a good choice of starters and mains (beware the portions are very big), a large selection of wines to tempt. The spa is very relaxing, please make time to have a massage ladies I prebooked a back massage and enjoyed it so much that I booked another one before I came home. The staff here are very friendly and helpful and make your stay as relaxing and enjoyable as they possibly can. If you are looking a an upmarket hotel with superb views and relaxing calming atmosphere, with friendly staff and excellent food and amenities then you will not go wrong with the Crown Spa. I enjoyed the week so much I will be going back next year with my husband and will definately book the same room.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

My husband and I decided on a quick 2 night break and thankfully as it turned out chose the Crown Spa in Scarborough. The staff seemed always eager to please (but not obsequious) and the service both in the bar and restaurant was very efficient - the reception staff were also very helpful. Our room was very spacious and comfortable. The food was excellent, both dinner and the continental breakfast, much more than we expected - we don't eat the fry-up English type but this is available.The Hotel is situated at the top of the cliffs with lovely views out to sea within easy access of both walks and the town centre. The worst aspect would have to be the parking which is on the road but we managed to get within 50 yards of the Hotel despite the car park being out of action due to roof repairs (due to finish shortly). Parking is, thankfully, free with a voucher from the Hotel. We shall definitely be staying again - very restful and we were also lucky with the weather.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#3 Spa Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#5 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.