We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4 Star in our opinion” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown Spa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Crown Spa Hotel to your Saves list
The Crown Spa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wales
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not 4 Star in our opinion”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

Small rooms - no free upgrades available.

All water in the hotel was turned off one afternoon - not told when booking in - we only found out when we returned to our room to find a letter - would have been more useful if we had known before we went out - kettle was empty - could not flush toilet?.

Hotel was covered in scaffolding - which we were told about - but were shocked to find that maid had left our window wide open - obvious security issues with easy access from window to window via scaffolding.

This is the only 4 star hotel that we have stayed in where it was buffet style catering for cooked breakfast. This meant overcooked eggs sitting under hot lights and plastic tupperware type utensils. Very bland tasting breakfast indeed - waiter served - freshly cooked from the kitchen was expected at these prices.

Hotel prices are not cheap and with car windows broken in street outside the hotel not likely to return or recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Operations Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2009
May i first of all apologise for the inconveniences you experienced during your recent stay at the Crown.

Due to unforeseen circumstances we did have a water outage for a few hours during your stay this was for general repairs that were unexpected and could not be avoided.

During the recent refurbishments where scaffolding has been erected we have placed 5 new cctv cameras and have had no issues with security which has enabled us to open guests bedroom windows to allow fresh air in.

Free upgrades are as stated on the web site but are obviously limited when the hotel is busy.

As stated in the AA guide lines we serve a buffet breakfast which is to a four star standard but do offer on the waiter service which is explained on the menu,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    519
    219
    61
    50
See reviews for
240
1,022
49
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
southport uk
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

Spent a very good night at the Crown Spa. Ideally placed in Scarborough and great facilities. The Pool and Spa rooms are very good indeed; well kept clean and pleasant. Didnt use the gym but its well equipped and clearly a proper gym, not just an 'extra'.
Full marks to the staff for their friendliness and helpfulness and those we spoke to took pride in the place so well done to the management for that.
We had a beautiful room on the front and the complimentary wine and chocs to compensate for building work was a nice touch. The Front rooms are dearer but worth it, esp on a sunny day!!
Restaurant was good and to top it all, a 'real pub' next door, The Highlander, selling real ale.
Not the cheapest hotel around but well worth the money. I understand its privately owned (not a 'chain' ) and it shows!They are doing a good job.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

My husband and I have just come back from a beautiful weekend at the Crown Spa in Scarborough, The staff could not do enough for you and made you feel incredibly welcome. I had a treatment in the spa and the girls were all so very very friendly. We dined at Taste, lovely menu, great flavours very pleasurable experience. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, P.S Try out the afternoon tea!

.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

My husband and I have recently held our Silver Wedding Anniversary celebration in the Imperial 1 Suite at the hotel. We had a marvellous evening, the food and wine was excellent and the organisation could not be faulted. We hired a DJ to run the disco for us and asked for 60s, 70s and 80's music which was exactly what we had. We spent the night at the hotel, as did a number of our guests, the room was spacious, comfortable and had a sea view.

After booking our party the hotel suffered roof damage and we were disappointed that scaffolding was erected which rather spoilt the appearance of the hotel, particularly as many of our guests came from different parts of the country and this was their first visit. However, on the day, this did not really detract from our evening and would recommend that anyone planning to stay should not be put off by this.

All in all a very satisfactory event.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

I'm sure if I had stayed here on a leisure trip I would have been very happy with the hotel. Unfortunately there were too many things which were unsuitable for my business trip.

The wardrobe (cupboard) in my room was miniscule and most of the space was taken up with the ironing board (and an iron which was attached adding even more bulk). I had two suits and four shirts and there was nothing like enough room for them.

The free wireless internet would not connect to my laptop in the room - I'm sure it would be OK in the public areas, but this was of little use.

The burger and chips from room service was very poor. At about £8.00 it wasn't excessive but wasn't brilliant either.

The bathroom was nicely done, but the shower had a bit of a mind of its own - trying to get the temperature right was not easy due to a long time delay between turning the dial and the shower reacting. And the controls are outside the bath so the floor ends up getting soaked. Furthermore the shower head is overhead, rather than on the wall which is a pain if you don't want to get your hair wet. And as is common in so many hotel rooms, you end if trying to shave in half-light which takes some time!

Whilst the room was generally clean there were a couple of things which seemed to have been consistenly missed. A spot of bleach in the toilet would not have gone amiss!

On the plus side the iron and ironing board were both good, the trouser press was a good-to-have (even though I never use them personally), the desk and chair were fine and the bed comfortable. The Flat screen TV had Freeview giving a full selection of TV and radio channels and there were more than enough electrical sockets.

I did find the room to be very warm and there was no air conditioning. I don't think I was have been comfortable in the heat of summer.

The room was on the small side. Good enough for one person but it would have been very tight for a couple.

Of course I wasn't using a lot of what this hotel had to offer (pool, sauna, gym, restaurants and bar) and these would have made for a very nice break

For a weekend break where you don't plan to spend much time in the room this would have been fine, for business you may want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorks
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

Our second visit to the Crown Spa (this time our wedding anniversary) and once again we weren't disappointed. Easy booking and check in service and good facilities. Very friendly and helpful staff. nothing too much trouble. Spacious clean room with a sea-view. Breakfast okay - for a buffet service, big choice of food. Didn't eat in the hotel restaurant for evening meal, but would do when we visit again. Easy walking distance to the town centre and sea front. Shame about the scaffolding that is currently in place to repair the storm damaged roof it only spolis the appearance of the building and didn't affect our comfort.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

Stayed at the Crown Spa at the end of March. Lovely hotel (shame about the current scaffold situation), quick check in, although we were 10 mins before the 3 o'clock check in & would not be let into our room until 3! Had a meal in the resturant friday night, good service & great food but I do feel it is a little expensive for what you get.
Used for spa twice, great cannot fault this. Rooms very nice, large flat screen tv & sofa to relax on, nice powerful shower & big bath.
Breakfast nice, but kept running out of food (didnt think there were enough staff off) but the staff that were on were running about trying to cope.
Would not normally be able to afford such a hotel but we paid part of it with Tesco vouchers.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#2 Spa Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#6 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.