We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax & Rewind” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown Spa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Crown Spa Hotel to your Saves list
The Crown Spa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relax & Rewind”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Had a lovely 1 night break from work & home to celebrate best friends 40th, card & chocs to welcome us. A fab room with great view, everything in room we could possibly need, The staff were friendly & breakfast was lovely, parking was easy. We spent time in the sauna & swimming pool, & enjoyed a smoothie before having a walk into town, Only 1 night but felt like we had been there longer, refreshed & ready for home but we didn"t want to leave, I would recommend to anyone wanting a special hotel for a special event.. I will be booking to go back very soon, my only complaint was the noisy inconsiderate people staying above us.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 116 with a seaview, it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for writing a positive review.


We are pleased you and your friend enjoyed your recent stay with us and we wish your friend a Happy 40th Birthday! We look forward to welcoming you back, may I advise booking through our direct website or over the telephone as you will benefit from our advantage offer. I would also recommend viewing our spa packages which included many special touches.


I do apologise that you experienced a disturbance, please do ensure that you make reception aware, even if it is late night or early hours of the morning. We shall take immediate action into investigating and resolving the disturbance as we have staff on hand 24 hours a day who will be more than happy to help.


Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, it is important to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests.


With Kind Regards,

Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    428
    192
    56
    40
See reviews for
202
830
37
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stayed here with my family including 2 teenagers and wider family last weekend to celebrate my Dad's 70th Birthday.

We used the gym, pool and other Spa facilities. Saunas are good sized and have been recently renovated. Gym has a good selection of free weights and machines. You need to sign in at a Spa reception to use these facilities.

We had a private dining room for dinner which was very good. I had the monkfish main course which was well cooked and tasty.

It is an easy walk down to Scarborough's South Bay beach but hard going back up steep stairs or winding pathways.

One thing I believe the hotel should consider changing as a 4* is that you have to pay an additional charge for a full cooked breakfast. Continental option is free and bizarrely includes cooked sausages!

All in all a pleasant hotel where I would stay again.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for writing a positive review.


We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us. I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel. We do hope you return and would look forward to welcoming you. We are blessed with beautiful surroundings, however if you do not fancy walking up the hill from the foreshore there is a cliff lift which will bring you to the esplanade for a small fee, only a few minutes walk down the road from us. The cliff lift is helpful to many and is proven quite exciting for the children.


I would recommend booking through our direct website or over the telephone as you will benefit from the advantages offer which included further discounts. May I advise our continental breakfast is priced at £9.95 per person, per morning, including a hot dish of the day. The Full English breakfast is £14.95 per person, per morning. A good day deserves a good breakfast and we are proud to use only the best local produce. Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is important to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests.


With Kind Regards,

Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a lovely weekend at crown spa. Booked a deluxe room with a balcony for my partners 50th. Room was gorgeous. Lovely balcony and great sea views. Staff very friendly. Great service. Wish could have stayed for the week. Our second stay here and cant wait to go back. Made his birthday very special.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for writing a positive review.


We are pleased you and your partner enjoyed your recent stay with us, we wish your partner a Happy 50th Birthday! We also wish you could have stayed for the full week as the weather has been fantastic, we very much look forward to your return. I would recommend booking on our direct website or over the telephone as you will benefit from the advantages offer here, which includes unlimited wifi, a later check out time, discounts from your food and more.


Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is important to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests. I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel.


With Kind Regards,

Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We have just returned from two nights at the Crown Spa Hotel and would recommend it.
Check in was quick and friendly with the parking pass being very welcome.
Our room was big enough for the two of us, the bed was very comfortable. I loved the pink lights in the bath room, a lovely touch and the shower was great. The cafetierre in the room was another lovely little touch, this along with the magazines made an impression.
We had several drinks in the bar which was warm, friendly and comfortable. We also ordered room service which was okay, not badly priced and did the job. It came at lightening speed.
My only slight down point would be the size of the towels, they didn't quite meet my expectation of a bath towel (I'm an average sized person) but I rang for extras and they were brought up very quickly.
The hotel was in a great location, if we returned again I would book a sea view room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for writing a positive review.


We are pleased that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are extremely lucky to be in such a brilliant location and I would highly recommend booking a sea view room, possibly a feature deluxe room with sea view and balcony. Here you are able to enjoy your breakfast out on the balcony whilst taking in the beautiful surroundings. If you prefer a more modern twist I would recommend the executive rooms which have the latest technology including a television over your bath. The executive rooms are also available in sea view.


I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel, we look forward to your return. May I advise booking on our direct website or over the telephone as you will benefit from the advantages offer. Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is of great importance to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests.


With Kind Regards,

Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had a weekend at the crown spa bought for our 25 th wedding anniversary. We never realised such a nice hotel existed in Scarborough, it was a beautiful hotel with real traditional architecture surrounded by modern appliances and decor. We went into the spa and had a very enjoyable afternoon just chilling out. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. We ate in the restaurant which was quite but very good and the relaxed in front of the huge log burner in the lounge area in the evening. We will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view and watch the sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for writing a positive review.


Congratulations! We do hope you have enjoyed your 25th wedding anniversary and we are pleased you have enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are extremely lucky to be in such a wonderful location, minutes from the foreshore, town centre and surrounded by lovely walking routes which is perfect for the summer months ahead.


I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel. We do hope you return and would look forward to welcoming you back. I would recommend a feature deluxe room, with sea view and balcony. Here you have the option of enjoying breakfast on your balcony whilst watching the sun rise ahead of you. Also feel free to browse our direct website for more information on our romance and spa packages which are very popular. When booking through our direct website or over the telephone you will benefit from the advantages offer.

Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is important to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests.


With Kind Regards,

Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Can,t fault this hotel. Very professional, and friendly service. Stayed the weekend for a birthday treat, we had a room at the front, with the most wonderful views. The food was great and the spa treatment was second to none. The free parking permit given to us was a great idea, with no hassles. Would recommend this hotel. Definitely will be back.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front, you won't be disappointed!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for writing a positive review.


We are pleased you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and we do hope you had a lovely birthday! I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel, we do hope you return and would look forward to welcoming you back.


May I recommend booking through our direct website or over the telephone as here you can benefit from our advantages offer. Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, it is important to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests.


With Kind Regards,

Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Lovely hotel, great location on the sea front with lovely views. Room was very comfortable and nicely decorated, modern feel. Friendly staff and excellent service. Breakfast very good, one waiter noticed that my little girls boiled egg wasn't runny enough to dip her soldiers and without being asked offered to bring her a runny boiled egg much to her delight! Will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Customer Services. at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for writing a positive review.


We are pleased you and your family have enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are also pleased that your little girl had been able to dip her soldiers into a runny egg! It is the finest of details that matter to us, as a valued customer you are our number one priority and we would like to make your hotel experience as enjoyable as possible.


I shall pass your kind comments on to the rest of the staff and management at The Crown Spa Hotel and we look forward to your return. May I recommend booking through our direct website or over the telephone as you will benefit from the advantages offer here. Thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback, it is important to us and shall be used to improve the hotel for future guests.


With Kind Regards,

Cherry Knaggs-Shaw / Customer Services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#3 Spa Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#5 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.