We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown Spa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Crown Spa Hotel to your Saves list
The Crown Spa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We need accommodation that is wheelchair accessible and has wheel-in/flat access shower. The Crown Spa was perfect for our needs. The staff were very helpful and provided all the bathroom aids we needed for a successful stay. Pity we couldn't use the bath - it looked amazing with the mood lighting. The hotel was lovely and clean and again the staff helped with our luggage. Lifts good enough size for the wheelchair, The room was comfortable and food delicious and again staff attentive to our needs.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
May I first of all say thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. I am delighted that the room and facilities were to a standard that enabled you to have an enjoyable stay.

I do hope that when you visit Scarborough you continue returning to the Crown as nothing pleases us more than a returning guest.

I will pass on your positive comments to both staff and management that we once again have another satisfied customer.

Kind Regards

David Chambers – Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    425
    192
    55
    40
See reviews for
199
826
37
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our long weekend at the Crown Spa. All the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The room was spacious, well appointed, quiet, with excellent views and comfy beds. The food and service were excellent. Scarborough is a lovely city, we will be going back to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
May I first of all say thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. I am delighted that the room and facilities were to a standard that enabled you to have an enjoyable stay.

I do hope that when you visit Scarborough you continue returning to the Crown as nothing pleases us more than a returning guest.

I will pass on your positive comments to both staff and management that we once again have another satisfied customer.

Kind Regards

David Chambers – Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Check in was quick and easy with helpful polite staff, even though it was quite busy when we arrived (Friday evening). The room was spotless and a great size (we stayed in an executive room on top floor) which was complete with tv in the bathroom waterfall style tap in bath and a double ended bath, big enough for two, lounge area, telescope and coffee making facilities oh ... And a room mascot a crown spa teddy taking centre place on are bed upon arrival! The bed was comfy and a good size however the layout could be improved for example due to the size of the room the bed was on the other end of the room from the tv and the tv was too small for the distance. I have better than 20:20 vision and even I struggled to read the txt on the screen from that distance when laying in bed. This meant you couldn't really watch tv in bed however this is a very minor negative barley worth mentioning but I'm struggling to find negatives with this hotel!

Unfortunately me and my fiancé didn't get chance to use the spa facilities as we ran out of time, the rooms are so nice you really don't want to leave them! However we will be booking again and using all the facilities and treat our selfs to a nice pampering session. Like wise we didn't use the hotels restaurant but this was due to us being at the sea side and wanting good old fish and chips from the sea front! The restaurant looked nice and it's prices were very reasonable. I've stayed In a few similar stared hotels and there really isn't any difference in price in fact the Crown Spa is probably slightly cheaper than most.

The hotel is in a great location with fantastic views of the coast, however access into Scarborough is not the easiest as it involves steep hills and many stairs. It takes around 15-20 mins to walk to the main front of Scarborough and around 10 mins to get to the town centre. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a little luxury for an affordable price and would say a sea view would of completed the hotel for us but even so we still had nice views of the country side and the town so I can't complain. Great hotel I will be going back so I recon if your reading this you should give it a go!

Room Tip: A sea view room is a must, if you book a executive room be aware you are on the top floor and the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
May I first of all say thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. I am in full agreement that the sea views are amazing and really are worth booking.

I do hope that when you visit Scarborough you continue returning to the Crown as nothing pleases us more than a returning guest.

I will pass on your positive comments to both staff and management that we once again have another satisfied customer.

Kind Regards

David Chambers – Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We have been staying at the Crown Spa hotel since its refurbishment but following our latest visit I am worried standards are slipping.
Our room was starting to look slightly shabby and tired - main light not working and stains in toilet bowl.
At breakfast on Monday morning we were told that they had run out of fresh fruit salad - this was only at 9.00am and more people came down to breakfast after us. Also the hot option for the continental breakfast had run out.
Not what we have come to expect from this 4 star hotel at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
May I first of all say thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am always disappointed when any issues occur during a customer’s stay we do ask in our welcome letter that any issues are brought to our attention so that we have the opportunity to amend them. We have worked extremely hard for a lot of years to reach the standard that we are at and at no time would we intentionally let the standards drop.

With regards to the hot dish of the day when the hotel is quieter we cook it to order so that there is a reduction in waste.

I do hope that when you visit Scarborough you will return to the Crown so that you can see that the standards are as always expected, if this is not your finding please bring this to our attention.

Kind Regards

David Chambers – Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely weekend at the Crown with good food and excellent service from the reception and restaurant staff. Free tea and coffee on arrival was a nice touch before going to our room. The room was fairly small for the amount of furniture but very nicely decorated with an amazing bathroom with TV and a very comfortable bed. I was disappointed that there was no bottled water in the room. Unfortunately on our return to our room after a day out on Saturday our keys would not work. The lady on reception was very apologetic but this happened again on Sunday morning after breakfast. Very annoying after waiting for a lift to the fifth floor and walking along a long corridor with a bad leg. We were told it was interference from mobile phones but we didn't have our phones with us!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
May I first of all say thank you for taking the time to write a mostly positive review. I am sorry that you were inconvenienced with regards to the key cards and the door locks, the chip in the keys can become corrupt from magnets and mobile phones and unfortunately it appears that this happened on two occasions during your stay.

I do hope that when you visit Scarborough you will return to the Crown as nothing pleases us more than a returning guest.

I will pass on your positive comments to both staff and management that we once again have another satisfied customer.

Kind Regards

David Chambers – Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Our deluxe double room with sea view was very spacious and well appointed. Although it says king size bed it is twins pushed together - which we found had a deep ridge in between but we had a good nights sleep on the comfortable mattresses. Spa with a leisure club is open to outside members and has the swimming pool is narrow it is easily over crowded and with more than three people it is difficult to get a good swim in. We only tried room service once and we found the food mediocre and not good value. Continental breakfast had a good choice of cereals with a hot dish. Reception staff were helpful when they were there but often we had to wait for someone to be at the desk. My husband found a man crumpled outside on the corridor worse for drink, when he went for an early morning swim and later I heard another couple complaining to reception that someone had been knocking on their door at 4am and along all the doors on his floor so perhaps it was the same person.

Room Tip: The highlight for us was the spaciousness of the deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. The beds in some rooms are what are known as zip and links and are an industry standard I am glad that they still provided a good nights sleep.

I am extremely disappointed that on occasion some customers get themselves into a state of inebriation that leaves them in an embarrassing state.


I will pass on your positive comments to both the staff and management who I know will be delighted we have another guest that want to return to the Crown.


Kind Regards



David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We have just returned from our second stay at the Crown Spa hotel in Scarborough. Having had such a great time and been so impressed with all the hotel had to offer in January it was not difficult to decide to return.
On arrival we were greeted with a lovely warm smile and given all our room and hotel information. This time we were given a 5th floor room with a seaview and it is well worthwhile paying a bit extra to get one of these rooms. Warm,comfortable,spacious and with everything you need to make your stay very comfortable. Plus the delights of the view and listening to the waves breaking on the beach.
As ever the Crown Spa staff are fantastic. Always obliging and never in your face they make the hotel what it is. It is so easy to relax in the bar before enjoying an excellent dinner in the restaurant.
The menu offers a great range of dishes. Indeed it is hard to dislike any of the delicious items
available and if you do have a special requirement then it is never a problem. A good wine list and draught Theakstons and you're set fair.
We had the Continental breakfast which is far and away is the best continental I have ever had. Plenty of choice and with a very tasty hot option every morning.
Plus there is a well equipped spa availavle to guests and definately worth a visit.
So when it comes to picking the best hotel in Scarborough look no further than the Crown Spa.
You will arrive tired and leave refreshed and chilled.

Room Tip: 5th Floor with a sea view. Unbeatale
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crownspahotel, Manager at The Crown Spa Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. I am delighted that you have once again had an enjoyable stay and do hope that a future visit to Scarborough will bring you back to the Crown.

I will pass on your positive comments to both the staff and management who I know will be delighted we have another guest that want to return to the Crown.


Kind Regards



David Chambers / Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crown Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Spa Hotel

Address: Esplanade | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scarborough
#3 Spa Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#5 Family Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Spa Hotel, Scarborough's first hotel built in 1845. The interior of the Crown still contains many of the original architectural features which is why it is often featured in many film and television productions. Along with an excellent restaurant the hotel includes the Crown Spa catering for spa treatments and health club facilities including 40ft pool, large Jacuzzi, 5 heat experience rooms and well appointed gym and studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Crown Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel Scarborough
Crown Spa Scarborough
Scarborough Hotel Crown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.