We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Location; but the hotel is a little tired.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hotel Scarborough

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Hotel Scarborough to your Saves list
Royal Hotel Scarborough
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Superb Location; but the hotel is a little tired.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I stayed here for a romantic weekend. The location is suburb overlooking Scarborough Bay and within easy walk of all the shops on the main shopping precinct. When I stayed it seemed to be full of senior citizens and was more catered toward this especially with the Saturday night entertainment. The singer on the Saturday was however very good and friendly.

The hotel staff were polite and courteous. I found the layout of the reception area strange as it seemed to make it congested during check in and check out. The hotel foyer is very grand and quite opulent which gives a great first impression, unfortunately this does not continue as I found my room to be quite tired and in need of modernisation/decoration. The same can be said of the Spa area which felt quite dim and certainly wasn't something I would like to use.

Overall I think this is a friendly hotel but certainly in need of some investment by its owners to bring it up to the level that would be expected from many hotels in its class.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    440
    353
    255
    308
See reviews for
297
770
33
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

My wife and I went here for Christmas lunch, which was incredibly good value at just £9.95 each.
For our money we got a three course meal, including turkey with all the trimmings, and a pot of tea and a mince pie.
There were crackers on the table too, and a jug of water, so all in all, a very good festive lunch, for very little money.
I would go back next year, and can recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I was very sorry to learn that not everything went according to plan and at this stage can only apologise for any frustrations or upset caused. I will certainly address the issues raised as you should expect a certain standard and this was not delivered. I would like to assure you that this is certainly by no means our usual standard of quality or service, and I would hope this one off experience has not tainted your view of our hotel.

Please contact me personally when next staying at The Royal and I will do what I can to further enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed at the Royal from the 11th Dec 2013until 13th Dec just for a short break. It really was a very cheap weekend and was excellent value for what we paid. Yes the hotel does want upgrading but compared to it's sister hotel the Grand it was 100 times better. A few points I think should be looked at is, more staff on at breakfast time as it was frantic waiting for trays to be filled up mainly due to a coach trip that had filled the dining room, but the food was pretty good when it did arrive. We also had an evening meal there ad well which was ok but not really worth the £17 price tag.my biggest criticism is once again disabled access. We were given what they class as a disabled room but access was particularly awkward for someone in a wheelchair and the bathroom was also badly set out for a disabled person but I coped. What really lets the place down is the steepness of the ramps into reception and into the dining area. These were really way to steep and it was not possible to get up one of them without assistance. It is about time all hotels were made to adhere to set standards and requirements for disabled before they advertise rooms for disabled customers. Apart from these couple of criticisms we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms 315-320 sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive feedback. I would like to sincerely apologise for the service you received in the hotel and will address this with our team. I was sorry too, that not everything went according to plan during your experience at the hotel and will certainly investigate the issues raised with our team.

Please be assured that this is not our usual standard of customer service and look forward to having the opportunity of restoring your faith in our hotel once again.

Please contact me personally when booking your next stay and I will certainly do what I can to enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stay'd here one night as we were on our Xmas party & it was cheaper than a taxi home
Room was ok & the hotel was very nicely decorated for Xmas. Breakfast was very nice.

Our Xmas dinner was superb (especially the Xmas Pud - yummy).

The Xmas disco was awful through with a DJ who had no personality & a really awful selection of music - i think he forgot his festive ones as we only heard one all night - pretty poor for a Xmas do !!!. I was quite relived to see a Band was coming on 'Grand urge / durge' or simlar. surely they'd play a Xmas tarck or 2 ????......yes they did play one extremly badly. They were terrible & tried to cover up there lack of talent by increasing the volume to a ear piercing level.

If anyone from the Royal reads this.....get a new DJ & Band or just put a XMAS CD ON !!!as the entertainment was awful & all our party agreed !!!!!. Even wine didn't help & we all went through to the quiet bar which was nice but lacked atmosphere !!!!

All in all a decent hotel where you get what you pay for .......sack the band / DJ though !!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Lovely hotel with grand staircase and reception rooms. The room 318 was quiet, comfortable, spacious and very clean. The hotel is in a great location with views of the sea. Breakfast was fine, with a good selection of foods.The hotel does need some renovation work but this can be overlooked because of its grandeur and old beauty.

Room Tip: Suites are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your time in posting your comments,
Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

nothing cleaned. draught from our window so the used gaffer tape!!!! high chairs were filthy. bedroom stinks. whole place needs some bleach and new upholstery. on a plus breckfast was lovely and plenty of hot water. save your money dont come here...

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York,England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

A great hotel in a great location. Our room was clean , warm and had a great view. The hotel staff were welcoming and very helpful nothing was too much trouble- even a look round the suits. Not our first stay and it won't be our last.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your time in posting your comments,

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Hotel Scarborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.