We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“get yourself a deal !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hotel Scarborough

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Hotel Scarborough to your Saves list
Royal Hotel Scarborough
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“get yourself a deal !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

If, like me , you booked through a booking agent and paid less than £30 for a night bed and breakfast whilst away on business you did OK -- even though in my room (232) the ceiling was dropping in and the toilet seemed to slowly flush all night !
Any more than that, or more than one night, then it would have been "goodnight Vienna".
I came down to the bar at 6.25pm to find about 40 people waiting for the dining room to open. Looking at the age i took advantage of one of the two Italian restaurants 150 yards either side of the hotel.
The staff try hard but this place needs a fortune spending to bring it into the 20th century, let alone the 21st !
Perhaps i am too young to stay there, but if you are 75 or over you will probably be happy enough

Room Tip: screw them down for a good deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    390
    306
    242
    277
See reviews for
269
674
31
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The location was great, staff are excellent - however both the decor and menu seem to be out of the 1970's, if you like sucking your "grey" veg through a straw you will get on great here, this could be due to the average age of 70+ and the need for dentures. Spa walls are a must see. Have been put off Frank Sinatra for life - its all thats piped ALL day aaaaghhh.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were due to visit this hotel with 3 other couples in August to celebrate a 60th birthday. The booking was cancelled the day before we were going to go and transferred to the Grand hotel. A plumbing problem!! This seems to be a regular excuse to overbook the Royal and transfer guests at short notice to the Grand. Beware!! We said we did not wish to transfer and wanted our money back. Despite an email and a formal letter to the manager at the hotel we got nothing back and did not even get the courtesy of a reply to the email or letter. Eventually I spoke to Groupon who were excellent and gave us a refund immediately and a full apology.
I was so disgusted with the lack of response from the Royal that I wrote to Britannia hotels head office and was amazed I did not even get a response from them. I have never known a major company behave in this way and would advise extreme care when dealing with them. Their customer service is beyond belief.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive feedback. I would like to sincerely apologise for the service you received in the hotel and will address this with our team. I was sorry too, that not everything went according to plan during your experience at the hotel and will certainly investigate the issues raised with our team.

Please be assured that this is not our usual standard of customer service and look forward to having the opportunity of restoring your faith in our hotel once again.

Please contact me personally when booking your next stay and I will certainly do what I can to enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe,
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had booked 2 rooms back in March 2013 to spend a weekend with old friends at the Royal. When we arrived (in October) we were told only 1 room was available (with no reason), and our friends would be located in the Grand. This was totally unacceptable as we wanted to spend the time together. we were eventually offered 2 rooms in the Grand (supposedly an upgrade) but after viewing these grotty little rooms we asked for, and got our money back. Then went to the Palm Court, more expensive but excellent. Give Britannia Hotels (who own the Royal and the Grand) a very WIDE BERTH!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive feedback. I would like to sincerely apologise for the service you received in the hotel and will address this with our team. I was sorry too, that not everything went according to plan during your experience at the hotel and will certainly investigate the issues raised with our team.

Please be assured that this is not our usual standard of customer service and look forward to having the opportunity of restoring your faith in our hotel once again.

Please contact me personally when booking your next stay and I will certainly do what I can to enhance your stay.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the Royal and must admit before we arrived we had reservations after reading some reviews on here. However we left wondering if some people stayed at the same hotel. We arrived 45 minutes early but room was ready and check in was very smooth. We had a room on the 3 rd floor with a sea view on the right and a lovely view of the castle over the building opposite. Room was well equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, iron & board, 40" LCD TV. bed very comfortable and everything seemed very clean. Large tiled bathroom with a very good powerful shower(Mira) with plenty of hot water. Wardrobe with loads of hangers, dressing table, coffee table and comfy chair. Only stayed B&B so did not sample the evening meal but the breakfast was nice with plenty of choice, fruit juice, cereals, usual fry up, all buffet style. You were shown to your table by a member of staff who also took our order for tea/coffee. You could have as much as you wanted so good to start the day. Decor of the hotel is a little dated in parts, very grand in reception area, but you can see where the redecoration has started. Bar service of an evening was very good and there was a cabaret act on the night but that only lasted around 30 minutes. That may have been because of the lack of an audience really, apart from us there were 6 others. Bar prices weren't too bad really for a hotel. They have piped music and I must admit I was a little fed up of hearing Frank Sinatra morning. noon and night, but that's down to personal taste I suppose. Good location, just around the corner from shops and a pleasant walk to the promenade. Not much happening in town this time of year but that was expected. Definitely recommend a cafe around the corner from the hotel in Bar Street for lunch. It's called Boddys and the food was really good, home made quiches sandwhiches, and cakes to die for and put on those extra ounces. We had the biggest cream scone we have ever seen, truly delicious. So all in all a very pleasant couple of days and we would definitely stay at the Royal in future. Must comment on the parking which is not good. Scarborough Council appear to have made things as difficult as possible for visitors, one way systems seemingly everywhere. The hotel do offer a discount in designated areas but they were all either full or difficult to find, though that may have been due to our poor sense of direction. As we did not plan to use the car whilst there we parked on the Esplanade which is free, though it is a good 20 minutes walk to hotel. Keeps you fit though.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nts. Hotel dated but centrally located, clean. Great value for money. Had this as a base to visit Whitby and surrounding area. Food good standard.
Parking can be a problem, you will need to walk to hotel a couple of hundred yards from local car parks.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your time in posting your comments,
Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Room was tiny. It was advertised as a standard double but it was bog standard. It was obviously a single, as the head board was too small for the bed and the bed was a queen size because the two pillows either side of each were too wide and kept falling off. Part of the room had been taken over by an ensuite bathroom and as the bed was right up against the wall, if we pulled it out to both be able to get into bed, we couldn't shut the bathroom door.
Staff were unhelpful and unsympathetic.
Only good thing is the central location meant there was loads to do so we didn't have to spend a lot of time actually in the hotel. A truly awful experience.

Room Tip: Superior does not mean luxury at this hotel. It means the average expectations experienced in other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Britannia, General Manager at Royal Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you for your observations, these can only be used to improve the service we offer.

Kind regards,

Simon Powell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Hotel Scarborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.