We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hotel Scarborough

Save Saved
You added Royal Hotel Scarborough to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Hotel Scarborough
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 28 hotels in Scarborough
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“terrible staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

wanted to take my 82 year old mum on ashort break , booked in july . 4 days before due to go hotel tryed to change us to the grand hotel afer reading reviews refused , they managed to find us 3 rooms . on arrival my daughters had wet patches on the wall and black mould . they did move her , but why would you think anyone would pay to stay in aroom in that state . staff mostly very rude everyting was too much trouble , on first night waited over 40 minutes between finishing starter and getting main course ( the resturant was only about one third full . the only really polite member of staff was the chef at breakfast who kept popping out with fresh eggs etc and he said good morning and was so pleasent to everyone . on the saturday night there was awedding and our room was above the disco which went on till gone midnight making it impossible for my 82 year old mum to go to sleep . the hotel is very old and in its hey day am sure was lovley but now is just dropping to bits . its the staff who really spoilt the break would it have been that hard to say good morning to my mother when she came in the resturant .

Room Tip: dont book aroom on the first floor on a saturday night and hope to sleep before 1am
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    350
    273
    213
    237
See reviews for
241
604
28
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (379)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Hotel quite grand looking as you enter, restaurant and bar area quite nice maybe could do with a bit of paint on the window frames. After reading other peoples reviews I was worried but it was ok you get what you pay for. Food lovely

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I had read the reviews on here after booking and I was beginning to dread going but it was a very pleasant surprise. The rooms are not exactly luxurious but everything was clean and in good working order. The hotel has obviously seen better days but was an excellent base for us. The staff were very friendly and helpful so I am not sure why there are so many negative reviews. I must admit if I had paid full price then I probably would have expected a bit more but very reasonable if hou use a voucher. Ours only cost £25 per night per person.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Just returned from another stay at the Royal and left quite satisfied as all the other guests seem to be.
The dining room was lovely with good service, starched white linen tablecloth & serviettes and lovely cutlery and crockery, which makes such a difference.

We had a second floor room with a sea-view - room 211 - never heard the pigeons as some reviewers pointed out the pigeons were noisy.

Staff ere extremely smart and helpful and overall a good and enjoyable 4 day break.

See you again soon - I Hope!!

Room Tip: Worth paying the extra for an executive suite with sea-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

On arrival to the hotel you do get the impression of it being a bit old & tatty but once inside the old charm of the place comes alive!
We parked outside The Grand Hotel without a problem, checked in & headed to our room on the 3rd floor. It was a largish room with a double bed for us & a single bed for our 6 year old. The room was fine, the tv was old but worked & there was a slight musty smell in the bathroom but it was spotless.
The staff are all friendly & nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Breakfast was well organised & everything was fresh, piping hot & the view was lovely!
Only thing to point out is that it states on the Internet that there is free wifi through out the hotel, you can only get it in the bar & reception areas but if you're to the right of the hotel you can sometimes pick up the free wifi from M&S!
Will be booking again soon!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Arrived after a long journey with a 2 year old child to be told that the room I booked months ago wasn't available! We were told we were being moved to The Grand, which I deliberately avoided booking due to the awful reviews and frequent norovirus outbreaks reported there.
I asked to upgrade if possible to be told no and as I'd booked with the Tesco voucher scheme that I couldn't have a refund.
The staff were extremely ignorant and ignored us for 5 minutes, then were very abrasive with no apology about not having the room we had booked, Dan on reception just walked off and sent someone else out, like he couldn't even be bothered to talk to me about it.
We then had to walk about in the rain with a tired, hungry toddler to find a b&b and pay another £80.
Do not book this hotel- it is a scam to fill up the rooms in the failing Grand hotel!
Whilst sitting in a nice b&b we checked these recent reviews and noticed we weren't the only ones this had happened to. We then checked availability online and 3 rooms were available to book!
Complete con!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanarkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Was booked to go to royal on 13th September. Got a fone call on the 10th to say there was extensive flooding and would we move to the grand hotel. On checking the reviews which were not good we said no and could we have another date. Were told no but we would get our money back. This was a wowcher deal. Didn't believe a word of it so I foned to book a room. Exact same as I already had and low and behold they could give me one. Is this a scam to fill the grand hotel with as they called us 'the wowcher people' beware of this hotel if u book a wowcher deal. They want u out.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Hotel Scarborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.