We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old fashioned hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hotel Scarborough

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Hotel Scarborough to your Saves list
Royal Hotel Scarborough
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Hull, England
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed at this hotel weekend before Christmas due to going on the Santa Train in Pickering. Staff were very helpful on arrival, our room was a bit quirky but it was clean and one of the biggest bathrooms ive ever seen. The staircase was magnificent helped by the Christmas decorations, evening entertainment exceptional. Breakfast was plentiful waiters very helpful, food was hot and very good, plenty of variety. Very old fashioned with creeky floorboards and great staff would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    440
    353
    255
    308
See reviews for
297
770
33
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We spent 3 days at the Royal over new year ( last year ) and it was fab ! The room wasnt very big and no sea view but didnt mind as the food and entertainment made up for that. It is a beautifull old Hotel and the lovely staircase is very impressive when you walk in. Parking was ok,if you couldnt get in outside there was a car park 2mins away. The staff are very freindly and the food was amazing. We met some lovely people and had a great new year and a brisk walk on the sea front new years day to freshen you up and watch the locals getting in the freezing sea for charity.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

It's an old imposing building from the outside. Inside to start with it looked really good with original old features decorated for effect.
I was on a cheap 5 day vacation so expectations weren't high, but our room was small and "tired", overlooking a roof on the 'inner' side of the hotel, and the carpet was fraying and badly stained. An old TV with poor reception didn't help. There was only one bedside lamp which had a 35W bulb and a dark blue shade! It had a tiny bathroom but it did have a jacuzzi!
The first two meals were a nightmare! We queued for ages to get in to the dining area which was self service so we had to queue again for every course. There were a lot of complaints. For the rest of the meals there was far less queuing as they had opened another dining area.
The food was OK, apart from a ChilliConCarne which had avoided any contact with even a very, very mild chilli or 'heat' of any kind!
What was very bad was the cleanliness of some of the staff in the dining rooms, of which there were very few I might add. One male member of staff clearing plates away had a large greasy stain on his frayed waistcoat for the entirety of our break. They would clear tables with a cursory wipe with a cloth, napkin or even a hand, then they would reset it. I monitored a cheese cracker under a table for three days which didn't surprise me as the carpet still had Christmas tinsel scattered on it.
The dining room ceiling had a large area of mould which continued down the window pillars and also under the windows.
It IS in a good position and if you had a room on the outside of the building, dined in the 'Premier' dining room, it would probably live up to expectations.
'They must try harder', as my teacher used to say.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We booked this for just one night at yhe end of November 2012. We got the room for £49 so wasn't expecting much. The hotel looks pretty run down from the outside but the location is great as it stands on a hill overlooking the bay.
I was quite shocked when we walked in, in a good way I might add, as the style of decor was so 1920's/30's it was like stepping back in time. There were Christmas trees displayed and tasteful decorations hanging from the balconies above.
The staff were friendly as we checked in and we were surprised that the key said that it was a suite, in fact 2 suites as there were 2 couples - the other couple had the Edith Sitwell Suite and we had 'The Churchill'. We all piled into the Sitwell to have a look and couldn't believe our eyes that it was in fact a suite in that there was a lounge, bedroom and bathroom but it was ultra modern. There was a roll top bath with mood lighting which was partitioned by a wall of glass in the bedroom.
We then went to the Churchill which was huge but fitted out in a very different style. The lounge room was wood panelled with a fireplace and bay window with the most stunning view. The bathroom wasn't as impressive as the Sitwell but clean and functional. The bedroom was big, also with a fireplace and decorated nicely.
We took a trip to the pool in the basement. All I can say is don't. It was really dreadful and was really in need of an upgrade.
As we went at the weekend and before Christmas the noise was terrible. There was a party on in the bar which was expected but there were drunks shouting in the street until 3.30am and as we were above the main door could hear it all.
The breakfast was ok. There was quite a lot to choose from although there were things missing from the hot buffet which caused queues and by the time you got to the front it was empty again. Some of the plates were dirty too.
All in all I did enjoy my stay although I would not go there at the weekend again. If you aren't looking for luxury then the Royal is completely fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband booked this 2 night Twixt Christmas break to Scarborough. We know Scarborough well and have visited many times,however this was our first visit to The Royal. We were not disappointed and enjoyed our stay immensely.First impressions are jaw dropping, the foyer with the magnificent staircase all decorated up for the festive celebrations was stunning to see.
Our room was a good size family room which looked as though it had recently been refurbished with modern furniture.Bedding was spotlessly clean with a comfortable beds.The bathroom was
huge with shower over bath,vanity unit - most impressive.The evening meal was again very impressive served in a beautiful dining room.A good choice of meat, fish and vegetarian were on offer all of them looked delicious our certainly was..Furthermore there was a variety of desserts to choose from too.Breakfast was just as impressive with a hot buffet breakfast,cereals,porridge,fruit,toast,juice to serve yourself.The staff at the hotel were all very helpful especially the bar staff, waiters and waitresses. All in all a very enjoyable holiday.
Just to add the hotel is a little tired in places but it still retains immense charm that in no way spoiled our holiday .We would definitely visit again. Congratulations Britannia on your purchase
of this grand hotel I know you will continue to provide the excellent service your customers expect .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Chose this hotel out of many hotels in Scarborough for its 'leisure facilities' on mine and my fiance's recent last minute weekend away in Scarborough.

Hotel from the outside quite tired looking and deffinetley did not look like the pictures but was in a great location overlooking the sea.

Room itself was ok, looked like it had recently been renovated with a lovely bathroom. Cleaning overall in the room was reasonable,however windows were covered in brown marks which could of easily been cleaned.

Now to the apparent leisure facilities, which doesnt look anything like the pictures advertised. I myself have worked in many leisure facilities an how this hotel can operate the swimming pool to the public is beyond me this place is a health hazard. The so called pool is located in the basement which was very dark maybe they were trying to hide the fact the place was filthy. The pool water was that cloudy you couldn't see the bottom of the pool as a lifeguard I would not want to lifeguard this pool. The scum line was that caked in filth that you could scrape the grime of with your finger nail. The plant room lock had broken off not very safe in the wrong hands. The Fire alarm was hanging of the ceiling by its wires. The smell in the changing rooms were appalling evidently from the changing room floors being mouldy as it was carpeted and no heating. The spa pool was drained down reading back through the reviews it looks like its been the case for a couple of years.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Our 3rd visit to this hotel. A 3 day Twixt Christmas dance holiday. We were greeted pleasantly at reception and given our key for room 230.this a basic double. The room situated to the side of the hotel overlooking a high and narrow passage was dark uncared for and in urgent need of refurbishment. Chairs and furniture were worn and the room would scrape a 2 star only because of a large clean bathroom. Despite asking at reception for a room away from the hotels ventilation system room 230 is immediately above with a constant noise and vibration which we could not accept. Several other rooms in this part of the hotel suffer the same noise which can be heard in the corridors Offered a smoking room as a replacement and told this was the only room available we would not accept and it was only after threatening to leave we were offered room 302 with much better furnishings and decor and which we took to be a superior room. This room would merit the hotels 3 star rating

This room towards the front was much larger though did suffer from a little noise from a nightclub opposite though in fairness to the revellers noise on entering and leaving was minimal and did not cause us too much concern

Some inexperience was shown in the housekeeping with no toiletries until day 3, no hand towels and biscuits on day 2, but the room was clean and bright

The Royal has recently been taken over by Britannia Hotels and retains its imposing grand interior so far maintained and the general public areas are clean and spacious. Free WiFi is available in the public rooms but the signal is not strong There is an indoor pool available at an extra cost.

As we were with a group we were served as a group in the restaurant which worked well. The food was of a good standard and well presented for dinner whilst breakfast all self service gave a good selection of the usual with very hot plates and hot food. There was a problem in obtaining decaffeinated coffee with long delays and one occasion we were told that the hotel had non in stock but some would be available tomorrow.

Top marks however to all the staff we encountered who had a very pleasant manner and a smile.

The hotel built in the coach and horses era does not have parking but this is available nearby at a cost of £5 maximum of six hours and if the payment runs over 6.0pm credit is given for the following day but it does mean feeding the meter for longer stays. The hotel does have a discount token scheme.

A lovely hotel and we hope that Britannia Group can find the money to upgrade the rooms and maintain the hotel to a standard it deserves.

Room Tip: avoid rooms above the air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Hotel Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Street, Scarborough YO11 2HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Royal Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Scarborough
Royal Scarborough
Scarborough Hampton Inn
Hotel Royal Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Hotel Scarborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.