We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must try!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eat Me Cafe

Eat Me Cafe
2 Hanover Road | YO11 1LS, Scarborough YO11 1LS, England
01723 373256
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 304 Restaurants in Scarborough
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: American, Asian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Eat Me Cafe sits quietly in a backstreet of Scarborough behind the world-famous Stephen Joseph Theatre. We offer a diverse multicultural menu, serving hand-packed burgers, Japanese Ramen, Shetland Pie, Thai Curries.... And much much more. 95% Of our food is made in-house from scratch. Our wide range of cakes changes daily provided by the amazing Cake Lady Sue. We serve our own much loved blend of coffee, fair trade certified and expertly roasted by The Heavenly Coffee Company and this can't be found anywhere else. All our food is cooked to order, and at busy times there may be a delay. Our chips are skin on for goodness and seasoned with Eat Me's own blend seasoning. We only use Butter on our breads And Please be aware that Our kitchen contains nuts, both kinds. If you have special dietary requirements please let us know and we will try to accommodate. We always have dairy free butter alternatives and soya milk on request. Also, during the day when busy you may be asked to share a table, you never know who you might meet. We love Yorkshire and Scarborough and were so proud to receive The Good Food Guide Cafe of the Year 2014 award. We embrace our quirkiness, bringing a smile to our customers faces from the moment they walk in! Finally if you are in a rush for the theatre, the train or collecting the kids please let us know, we will do all we humanly can!
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A must try!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Being here a few times for lunch with a friend, amazing good! Cannot fault anything!! Only things are the service is not always at its best! Sometimes it is very busy and you get turned away, go early or late to avoid disappointment!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    44
    12
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A nice reminder of how amazing the food is here!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

i admit i am a regular customer at Eat Me but in recent weeks this has mostly been on an evening for the Social sessions.

Today i visited for lunch, which was long overdue. WOW WOW WOW the food was amazing, loving the new salads and my meal was as lovely as ever.

The waitress was friendly and we were seated and served within 15 minutes! i cannot recommend this place highly enough. It is a must for anyone!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lerwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wish I lived Closer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We were visiting Scarborough & popped in for a snack.. well, the menu was so enticing that more than a snack was ordered. My husband had the Thai Green curry it was "the best I've ever had" and he's not easy to please! I had the sloppy Joe... oh my.. wish I could have that everyday! the chips were divine, the coleslaw refreshingly not dripping in mayo! My fussy 5 year old had a dish that was made up of items on the menu & thoroughly enjoyed her fish fingers with chips. The coffee was lovely too & to get a Bunderberg Root Beer was just the icing on the cake (which we also had and was yum!)
The staff were friendly & helpful. The café was clean & well maintained, with water freely available to customer when they need.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely immense! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Visited with grandma and we were absolutely stunned at the quality of the food, the service and the price. Less than £20 for two massive lunch portions and drinks for each of us. The homeslaw is divine and the choice on the menu is astounding. Absolutely worth a visit and deserves more awards! Cannot wait to visit again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bit let Down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We have eaten here a few times and raved about it to everyone, but this time were a little disappointed. They no longer do the seasoned chips that they did in the past. These were the best chips any of my family have every eaten and although the 'new' version are lovely the old ones were far better. I had a sloppy dog which was nice but cold and the burger was just not as good as it once was. This was a place we made sure we visited on every trip....now there will be no disappointment if we miss it next time. Sad :-(

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marste007, Owner at Eat Me Cafe, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Hi Alison T
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to review us.
Secondly, its such a pity that having enjoyed eating with us a few times previously and raving about us to others, that you hadnt reviewed us positively on those occassions, only using Tripadvisor to make complaint.
Thirdly, we can only but apologise that you have been "Bit let Down" this visit. If during your time with us it had been mentioned that you found the Sloppy Dog cold, we would have rectified this immediately. The burgers are exactly the same recipe, only now for ensuring they cook the way we like, we have started serving them as a double patty, this ensures they not only cook quicker but more evenly and has the bonus that it means customers are getting their orders out quicker too! Lastly, the seasoning has never changed, our secret seasoning is something that will always be on our chips, again if you had mentioned this during your time with us, I'm sure that a little extra seasoning could have been given, making your visit all the more enjoyable.
All told, if you had mentioned your concerns during your latest visit, we would have made all the issues disappear and you would not have left feeling no need to not return again.
Give us another try, and heaven forbid you are a bit let down again, please make sure you tell the waiting staff your concerns, or better still ask for me (Stephen) and I will come see you personally.
We dont do disappointment, our customers are everything to us and we will always do all we can to make your breakfast, lunch or snack the best possible.
Regards
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat Me Cafe also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Eat Me Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eat Me Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.