We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous cafe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eat Me Cafe

Eat Me Cafe
2 Hanover Road | YO11 1LS, Scarborough YO11 1LS, England
01723 373256
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 303 Restaurants in Scarborough
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: American, Asian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Eat Me Cafe sits quietly in a backstreet of Scarborough behind the world-famous Stephen Joseph Theatre. We offer a diverse multicultural menu, serving hand-packed burgers, Japanese Ramen, Shetland Pie, Thai Curries.... And much much more. 95% Of our food is made in-house from scratch. Our wide range of cakes changes daily provided by the amazing Cake Lady Sue. We serve our own much loved blend of coffee, fair trade certified and expertly roasted by The Heavenly Coffee Company and this can't be found anywhere else. All our food is cooked to order, and at busy times there may be a delay. Our chips are skin on for goodness and seasoned with Eat Me's own blend seasoning. We only use Butter on our breads And Please be aware that Our kitchen contains nuts, both kinds. If you have special dietary requirements please let us know and we will try to accommodate. We always have dairy free butter alternatives and soya milk on request. Also, during the day when busy you may be asked to share a table, you never know who you might meet. We love Yorkshire and Scarborough and were so proud to receive The Good Food Guide Cafe of the Year 2014 award. We embrace our quirkiness, bringing a smile to our customers faces from the moment they walk in! Finally if you are in a rush for the theatre, the train or collecting the kids please let us know, we will do all we humanly can!
Melbourne
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

What a great little place this is. Scarborough has needed a cafe like this one for a long time.
I visited 3 times on my last trip and will certainly be popping in again. Its very popular at lunchtimes but service is still great and the food is delicious.
I also called in one afternoon for a nice pot of tea (with a handknit teacosy) and piece of cake. We had a baby in a pram with us and they were very welcoming and helpful (something that is not always the case in Scarborough cafes).
Friendly, helpful staff and delicious, fairly priced food. Do visit, businesses like this one deserve lots of support

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marste007, Owner at Eat Me Cafe, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Hi *Jools*Melbourne
Thank you so so much for your review, it is muchly appreciated your views, comments and liking. We do this job for all our customers, we wouldn't be here without you, and your ongoing support.
Hope to see you again.
Regards
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    44
    12
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

We love to come to eat me cafe on a regular basis when visiting Scarborough and in our opinion it's one of the nicest eateries out there ! Today had raba pie which was delicious(keema pie) and the huge mac &cheese which was a large burger with a slab of macaroni cheese on it !! A lovely place and a must visit in Scarborough. You may be waiting for a table but it's worth it !

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marste007, Owner at Eat Me Cafe, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Hi MarthaSheffield
Such a recommendation, thank you. We love serving and enjoy our banter when we get to see you. Especially like your photos too of the Mac'N'Cheese burger!
Hope to see you all again real soon.
Regards
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“delightful x”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

#22 - cannot be right!
This place is amazing, the food is unreal - different, tasty, filling, beautiful! friendly welcoming atmosphere, quirky decor, fabulous staff, on an evening you can take your own wine!
My most favourite place to eat in Scarborough

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marste007, Owner at Eat Me Cafe, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Hello em1108
Thank you for your glowing review, so glad you like us that much and have been coming to us from the beginning. Its customers like yourself that we do this for, without you we are nothing.
Keep on enjoying.
Regards
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Tasty food in a gastro-bistro cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Visited this cafe several times now !!

They do amazing food at a reasonable price.

Bistro style takes on cafe classics and their specials are always soo tempting

I can thoroughly recommend the tin plate Thai green curry it's lovely mmmmm !

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marste007, Owner at Eat Me Cafe, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Hi Charlotte C
So glad you like what we are doing, and for a lovely review, keep enjoying the Thai Green Curry Tin Plate its very popular and just like Thailand!
Regards
Stephen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackness, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Lovely lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I went with a friend to the Eat me Café for lunch and we loved it. The food was superb and the waitress who served us was very friendly and polite. We ate different things but we both thought that it was a big portion for the price we paid.
After we finished our meal we talked with the short waitress and she was very nice and lovely. The service was good and professional.
I seriously recommend this Café and I will be back soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marste007, Owner at Eat Me Cafe, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Hi Pips30Morais
Thank you so so much for your truly fabulous comments, we are here to serve our lovely food with a smile and try to make your day that little biut more special, you clearly got that from your visit and we love that you would recommend us and return.
Hope to see you soon.
Regards
Stephen
Co-Owner
Eat Me Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat Me Cafe also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Eat Me Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eat Me Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.