We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not just a chippy.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Famous Fishpan

The Famous Fishpan
28A Foreshore Road, Scarborough YO11 1PB, England
01723371299
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 268 Restaurants in Scarborough
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“not just a chippy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

decided we would have our lunch here one Sunday and returned twice a day for five days because my nine year old loved it so much. the menu has the usual fish and chips but also jacket potato's with a choice of fillings, burgers, chicken nuggets and salads. the portions are enormous and fantastic value for money. The staff are extremely helpful and very child friendly, even when busy they always had a smile on their faces and found time to check we were happy with our choices. in the words of my son "its so much better than MacDonalds coz the people are happy not grumpy."
we will be visiting again on our next trip. if you have room after your main meal the deserts are on the large side but delicious or you could just skip the meal and try the deserts on their own.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    56
    20
    13
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“gone down the pan!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We always use fish pan,but recently have noticed a decline in quality.Visited yesterday for take away meals for 7.The fish was stale,chips undercooked,and extremely rude staff,who overcharged my daughter,and then argued with her.The staff look unhappy and as though everything is just too much trouble.They seem to forget that LOCALS are their bread and butter during winter.We will not be using fish pan again after yesterday.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Having tried a few chippies in the area this one came out well on top
Great portions of well cooked fish chips and mushy peas everything tasted as it should chips were spot on and the haddock had plenty of flavour just as haddock should even the mushy peas were bursting with flavour
All in all great value for money will definitely be back
A well earned top marks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic, Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

You'll be spoilt for choice fish and chip wise in Scarborough but this place is superb. I visited twice with my son and on both occasions the food was fresh, great tasting and excellent value for money. The staff were so friendly too, very child-friendly and open late for later diners. The Fish Pan is a must.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We decided to try the fishpan on our first night in Scarborough. We weren't disappointed. My husband had the haddock and chips and I had the battered sausage and chips. Both were lovely. Chips crispy and golden on the outside and really fluffy on the inside. Definitely worth a try if you are in the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Famous Fishpan also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Famous Fishpan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Famous Fishpan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.