We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“39th wedding anniversary treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wrea Head Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Wrea Head Hall to your Saves list
Wrea Head Hall
Barmoor Lane, Scalby Village, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Warmer £54.95 DB&B
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
midlands UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“39th wedding anniversary treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed only one night but it was well worth it.The room we were given was newly refurbished ,to a very high standard,with a beautiful roll topped bath in the pristine bathroom.The bedroom was beautifully equipped also with wood paneling , two extremely comfortable arm chairs,and an enormous bed.The view over the garden was a joy to wake up to.
This was our second stay and it did not disappoint,The staff were all very polite and professional in their duties.
We ate in the restaurant in the evening and we both enjoyed our meals ,We will definitely be staying again and recommending the hotel to our friends two of which have already sampled Wrea Hall.

.

Room Tip: Recommend room no.14.excellent view over fields towards Scarborough castle in th distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    939
    245
    65
    22
    11
See reviews for
129
890
11
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights recently for our wedding anniversary. Some parts of the hotel are great and have been decorated to a high standard, unfortunately this wasn't true for the room we stayed in the first night which is why I have only given the hotel 3 stars. 2nd night was much better when another room became available to upgrade to, it was very nice and worth the extra.

We ate at the restaurant as well on the 2nd night and the service was very good but having read the reviews we were expecting a fantastic meal. As such we were a little disappointed as it was ok but not amazing and for the price I'm not sure I would say it was value for money.

The weather was horrible which isn't the hotels fault of course but contributed to a bad first day when we had no electric for a good while, again that's not the hotels fault just one of those things. I think the hotel suits a more mature clientele.

Room Tip: We were right in the eves first night room 21, it was not a good room and well below what I would sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

What a wonderful hotel set in the most beautiful and peaceful surroundings.
I had one of the refurbished bedrooms, this was done to the highest of standards and immaculately clean.
The food, what can I say only 10/10+.

Room Tip: One overlooking the lawns and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This hotel has been vastly improved over the last two years following the private purchase pf Gerry & Mark. They have spent a small fortune upgrading the hotel to a very high standard.
The hotel is very well run by their manager Anne, who has many years managerial experince in running hotels. This hotel is second to none and the food is something else served up by their executive chef to the highest standard, I was very impressed on my recent stay and cannot wait to return again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We have stayed at Wrea Head before and think it represents good value for money. Granted it's dearer than many other Scarborough hotels, but it's like comparing Apple and Oranges. It's so much better than the competition. We found the receptionist charming (although there was a moodier member of staff) and all the staff were efficient and friendly, particularly as one or two seemed to work 24-hour shifts. We booked the same room as our previous visit, which was room 15 – fantastic views and huge bathroom with stand alone bath. Personally, I don't like a tub in the room, but that's my choice. The décor is 'contemporary, country house' and the cleanliness was exemplary. We spent a happy afternoon in the conservatory in the sun and enjoyed a hearty evening meal in the restaurant. Huge portions, but this is Yorkshire. Atmosphere was a bit hushed, but the restaurant was full and has beautiful views over the surrounding countryside. We didn't have the full English breakfast, but Mrs LS's Haddock with poached egg was outstanding and freshly cooked to order. We have stayed at many hotels in and around Scarborough and this is, without doubt, one of the best hotels outside of York. Granted, it doesn't compare to a supermarket café, but you get what you pay for...

Room Tip: Refurbished rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I don't mind paying for expensive hotels but overall it wasn't worth it. We stayed for one night, the welcome was frankly cold and when we asked did they have any maps of Scarborough, they just said no rather abruptly and never enquired if they could help. I agree with other reviewers that it it slightly tired and quite obviously going through an upgrade. Lovely well maintained grounds though
Another niggle was that we were told that the kids weren't allowed in the bar, so I had to leave them alone in another room to order a drink, a bit Fawlty Towers!!
Hotel had wi-fi but not in our room

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald A, Owner at Wrea Head Hall, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. The grounds of the hotel and the building are very lovely and once we have completed refurbishing the final five bedrooms we can move onto the panelled hall and corridors.The aim is to finish the entire project next year.

In order to maintain the quiet and tranquil setting at Wrea Head Hall for our guests we do not take children under the age of 8 but it seems that whatever we do to try and make this clear at booking, we still end up with parents standing at reception with children that appear not to meet this age limit and this puts us in an awkward position of deciding whether we are going to allow them to check in or not. This may explain your perception of an apparent cold welcome. Having agreed to allow your party to check in we asked that the children should not to be taken into the bar as this is an adult only space but suggested that they could sit in the library which has an interconnecting door to the bar. Of course if the children were over the age of eight they would not need any supervision whilst you went to the bar! As you were no further than 20ft away from them I am surprised at your issue over this! Also if you had waited for a few moments a waiter would have been in to take your drinks order so there would have been no need to leave them alone at all.

The hotel pricing reflects our expectation that two grown up children are going to eat adult sized portions of food during their stay so again this may have felt expensive if your children were not yet at this age !

We try to offer our guests an exceptional experience at Wrea Head Hall and it is very frustrating for both sides when we find ourselves in such an awkward situation. To prevent this happening in the future we have decided to 'remove' our family room in Jan 2015 when we plan to undertake its refurbishment. It’s a shame that a few have to spoil it for others that do follow our age policy but it’s also the few that start complaining when we are not willing to compromise our other guests enjoyment of the hotel so unfortunately we are left with no other option.

As for the map you asked a simple question and were given a straight forward answer as we had run out of them. If you had asked for directions or advice then we would have been more than happy to provide them or print details off for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtead
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Great location and food let down by the basics. There was no useable Wifi signal in the room (Room 1 - despite being told in advance there was). TV signal was intermittent (which wasn't a major issue but, like the Wifi, you expect it to work properly for £190 per night). Toilet broke - reported it (along with the Wifi) and it was "looked at", apparently. All ok. Broke again next morning. Bedside lights not possible to switch off without getting out of bed (!). So, could be good, but at £380 for two nights, very poor value.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wrea Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Hall

Address: Barmoor Lane, Scalby Village, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#2 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Business Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering truly breathtaking, uninterrupted views across the Yorkshire countryside that must seen to be believed, Wrea Head offers arguably on of the most beautiful setting of all Scarborough hotels. Surrounded by the endless scenery of England’s most beautiful county – from the heather filled Moors and scenic Dales to the spectacular Yorkshire heritage coastline – you can choose make your break as active, or relaxing, as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wrea Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrea Head Country Hotel
Wrea Head Country Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wrea Head Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.