We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly Spoilt!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wrea Head Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Wrea Head Hall to your Saves list
Wrea Head Hall
Barmoor Lane, Scalby Village, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
DB&B + Cream Tea £64.95
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Utterly Spoilt!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Wrea Head Hall is a beautiful old house with a long sweeping drive. We stayed here as a romantic anniversary treat and used it as a base to do a little walking (there's some excellent walking in the area). We had room 1 at the front of the house which is furnished with the largest 4 poster you have ever seen, and a free standing bath perfect for enjoying a glass of bubbly. Dinner was excellent, but most of all we were made to feel so very welcome. We we utterly spoilt! I will definately be coming back, thank you.

Room Tip: Room 1 with the large four poster
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    257
    66
    23
    11
See reviews for
140
953
11
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Went on a one night break midweek with a friend had been there before under different ownership
The hotel is under renovation but will look very nice when finished.our room was clean but even though refurbished still lacked the finer points even so much better than before...staff were excellent and very nice to us...food at the evening meal was very nice and variety good there should have been louder music as you could hear all the guests conversations after our meal we sat by a proper log fire it was cosy then breakfast was also good plenty of choice a really good nights stay we shall return when the work in progress is completed

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have stayed here several times and in a different room each time. Each room is large,well equipped,and beautifully furnished. The reason we stay here is the outstanding food. From monkfish to venison in chocolate sauce,to the most amazing raspberry crime brûlée. The only criticism was a slight shortage of staff,the lady on reception did the bar,took the meal order,answered the phone. And the two very polite young men at breakfast were a little disorganised,but this did not change my opinion. It's formal which is welcome in this day and age,and we will definitely be returning once again.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Splendid hotel, great value and a fantastic bar area with a great view of the grounds and surrounding area.
Quite a formal reception but also relaxed once settled.
Rooms are very nice and well equiped.
Breakfast was perfect.

Definately recommended - well done.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goose Bay
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Whilst travelling from Canada to UK my wife developed an extremely bad flu, so bad that we could not visit my almost 90 year old father for fear of passing the flu on to him. We stayed at your hotel an initial 2 days which was extended a further 2 days to allow my wife to recuperate. The understanding, service, support and assistance provided was of the highest order, your staff are to be highly commended. My Father's 90th birthday was able to go ahead and was a flu less huge success. Thank you for your excellent help in our hour of need.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My brother-in-law and I had an excellent three day break here this last week following the recommendations of two lots of friends and we were so glad that we did.The building felt like a lived in stately home. Our rooms were well-equipped, spacious, peaceful and comfortable with far reaching beautiful views. Without exception, the staff were helpful, friendly and efficient creating a good atmosphere. Breakfasts were served freshly cooked and the variety on offer on the dinner menus, which changed each night, was a delight. For myself as a vegetarian, I was thrilled to find interesting, original veggie dishes which is quite rare. The food was excellent, well-presented and the service was very good. It was a lovely treat to relax after dinner by an open fire. We will certainly be returning, preferably sooner rather than later, and will recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front and sides have the most appeal to me but I only saw four of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boldon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure of spending last weekend at the Wrea Head Hotel with a party of friends. We had a superb time in the beautiful Victorian House, where the food was excellent and expertly presented by Ann and her staff. The room and its facilities were excellent and the bed very comfortable.
The lounge and other public areas have the warm and comfortable ambiance of a large country house. The house stands in many acres of grounds and affords more than ample free parking for all the guests.
We will certainly go back again and have no hesitation in recommending the Wrea Head to others.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wrea Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Hall

Address: Barmoor Lane, Scalby Village, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#2 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#5 Business Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering truly breathtaking, uninterrupted views across the Yorkshire countryside that must seen to be believed, Wrea Head offers arguably on of the most beautiful setting of all Scarborough hotels. Surrounded by the endless scenery of England’s most beautiful county – from the heather filled Moors and scenic Dales to the spectacular Yorkshire heritage coastline – you can choose make your break as active, or relaxing, as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Wrea Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrea Head Country Hotel
Wrea Head Country Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wrea Head Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.