We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wrea Head Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Wrea Head Hall to your Saves list
Wrea Head Hall
Barmoor Lane, Scalby Village, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
DB&B + Cream Tea £64.95
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pontefract, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here mid-week as a birthday trip with my boyfriend, we were very pleased with our stay, the room was beautiful and we had a room with a view of the country side, the bed was very big and comfortable.
All the staff are very helpful and friendly.
There was a renovation of the room opposite ours happening while we stayed, we did not mind at all, we got a sneak peek of what it would look like, what a room!
The bar area is charming and cozy, modernly decorated while in-keeping with the buildings history.
We had a meal at the restaurant and the food was like that of a Michelin star restaurant.
Breakfast in the morning was of a high standard.
Will definitely return here :)
Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4, has a lovely view over the country side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    257
    66
    23
    11
See reviews for
140
953
11
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We live 10mins from the Wrea Head but we had never thought of going there for a meal That as now changed after our experience last night ,the meal was fantastic great value and the staff could not do enough for you. After we sat at the log fire drinking coffee and relaxing. I don't think I can think of any negatives

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristolian
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed here Fri & Sat five couples on a family reunion and we all had a very enjoyable stay. Good location, lots of country house charm, nice rooms, spacious communal areas even though the library was unavailable due to the refurbishments and absolutely lovely food in terms of choice, quality and presentation, a bit like fine dining but with proper portions. Cooked breakfast options were excellent, limited range on continental style buffet and, ok no croissants, but you really need to be a glass half empty type of person to let something as insignificant as this become the focus of a review. The place can only get better as the refurbishment is completed and I would certainly not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We arrived at the Wrea Head Hotel Saturday 17th November 2012 and what a fabulous place. Gerry greeted us and showed us to our room 17with a beautiful view over the grounds. The hotel was warm and friendly and the food superb. All of the staff were so helpful nothing was too much trouble. We had such a wonderful relaxing weekend we shall be back in the New Year. to see how the refurbishments have progressed sonething that is currently beingt developed but with no affect to the service or guests. We hope to be able to take advantage of thre terrace in warmer weather. Des & Elaine Jowitt

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Lovely saturday night stay, incl dinner and breakfast for £150. Good value. The hotel is under new ownership this year and the owners are executing an extensive programme of renovations both internally and externally. These works did not adversely affect our stay at all. It shows that the new owners recognise the need to invest in this beautiful building and that's a great thing in itself. They see it's potential and are doing their best to maximise it. What it did mean was that our room (room 16) did not quite live up to our expectations in terms of decor ,fixtures and fittings. The soft furnishings and wooden furniture are overdue to be replaced. That said, it was very comfortable, with fabulous views from 2 windows, spacious and exceptionally clean. Most of the rooms in the north wing (incl our room 16) will be renovated in Jan-Mar 2013. I would love to return when they have done that. Dinner and breakfast were both good. I Wouldn't say excellent or outstanding but definitely satisfying. Very generous portions!
Staff were attentive, polite and pleasant. They are trying very hard to make it a success. We loved the inglenook fireplace with open fire in the main hall. Fabulous feature. If only the fireplace in the bar had a real fire!! It's gas, very stylish but would gave been nicer with a roaring real fire or wood burning stove. If the renovation of the bedrooms in 2013 is as successful as the renovations already done to Bar, Dining room and main hall then I look forward to returning one day soon to see what they are like and would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Marske
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were taken by friends for an overnight stay and had no idea where we were going. A pleasant surprise.

The room had a lovely view over the gardens. It was clean and decorated beautifully. Some of the rooms were being refurbished, however, if I hadn't been told I would not have been aware.

The food an wine were superb. The staff were friendly and helpful and could not be faulted.

Will definately go and stay again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I nearly bought the place before it be came an Hotel and restaurant. Since then we have watched and sampled its offerings and fortunes. They have varied but perhaps a year ago 2 able and knowledgable men bought and are investing quietly and effectively.
The news is spreading and with its superb location, views and grounds allied to hands on, able management it is becoming the local venue of choice for meals and Events while every person who stays on the premises is warmingly complimentary about the bedrooms and the breakfasts.
For we locals it is great to have somewhere we can recommend without worry but also to use for light meals or full meals, and, of course to entertain visiting friends and colleagues

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wrea Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Hall

Address: Barmoor Lane, Scalby Village, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#2 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#5 Business Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering truly breathtaking, uninterrupted views across the Yorkshire countryside that must seen to be believed, Wrea Head offers arguably on of the most beautiful setting of all Scarborough hotels. Surrounded by the endless scenery of England’s most beautiful county – from the heather filled Moors and scenic Dales to the spectacular Yorkshire heritage coastline – you can choose make your break as active, or relaxing, as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Wrea Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrea Head Country Hotel
Wrea Head Country Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wrea Head Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.