We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CoGoni's Ristorante Italiano

CoGoni's Ristorante Italiano
36 North Marine Road, Scarborough YO12 7PE, England
+44 1723 506979
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 304 Restaurants in Scarborough
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
paradox5
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My partner and I visited the CoGonis on Saturday evening. It couldn't be faulted.

I'd been rather cheeky and asked a couple just coming out if they'd enjoyed their own meal. Their glowing report said it all. It was well worth the effort of finding this cosy, out of the way restaurant.

It was, without doubt, the nicest meal we had in Scarborough, and they had all been good. The atmosphere, service and food were superb, with the Sea Bass the best I'd tasted, including that from a popular Brighouse, Savoy trained chef, restaurant.

We will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    81
    23
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food , great staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We love this place, we were in Scarborough for five days and ate here twice as the first time was that good . From the duck confit to the homemade ravioli, the food is exceptional ! The staff can't do enough for you and were attentive without being intrusive. We want to go back to Scarborough soon, this restaurant is definitely one of the reasons.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fab fab fab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Would deffinately reccomend this superb restaurant.Very accommodating friendly staff & excellent service which was only bettered by th food itself.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wow! what a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

There is a complete lack of any decent restaurants in Scarborough, but thanks to Trip Advisor we visited this little gem of a restaurant. The service was good and friendly and the food was lovely. We shared the squid which was served with samphire and capers all deep fried in batter but done with restraint unlike everywhere else in Scarborough. We then had the seafood linguine which was so delicious, we could have eaten it twice. All the food was freshly cooked and it tasted so good.

I was intending to take photo's but to be honest I got completely distracted by good food after days of rubbish!

Go, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is probably the best restaurant I've been to in terms of quality, service and price and it's therefore easy to understand why this small town centre has been voted No 1 by so many people.
This is not the easiest restaurant to find, it looks more like a terraced cottage with a solid wood door with no marking to indicate if it is open or closed, but go in anyway. The bar area is dominated by a huge copper and brass coffee machine that although nearly 40yrs old produces truly magnificent coffee.
Throughout your meal you have the option of various home made bread which is delicious, the service is extremely efficient, friendly and discreet. You are advised when you place your order that there will be a wait as everything is cooked to order.
The extremely high quality of the food and service is not however reflected in the prices, these are very competitive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CoGoni's Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scalby, Scarborough
 

Been to CoGoni's Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CoGoni's Ristorante Italiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.