We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CoGoni's Ristorante Italiano

CoGoni's Ristorante Italiano
36 North Marine Road, Scarborough YO12 7PE, England
+44 1723 506979
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 268 Restaurants in Scarborough
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Mothers day Sunday 15 of march we will be open from 12:00pm to 3:00pm reservations recommended many thanks
scarborough
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best place in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

The food here is top notch. I lived in Scarborough most my life and there is no better place to eat in town. The fantastic food is complimented by great service. I highly recommend the meatballs for starter and fillet steak for main course with mushroom sauce.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    596
    83
    27
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This wonderful little place well deserves its top spot on TripAdvisor if the meal I and my family had last evening is typical fare.the staff are very friendly and the decor and layout of the restaurant are lovely
But the food ! Fantastic ! The belly pork starter is stunningly tasty followed by a beautifully cooked 10oz sirloin steak !
The veg were cooked to perfection. The wine was perfect temperature and served thru an aerator into a carafe
Given the quality of the fare the prices here are very reasonable in my view
If you want just a pizza then this is not the place for you but if it is high class Italian cuisine you are after then this lovely little place is a 'must'

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely inside, not so welcomming outside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Don't be put off on arrival by the outside of the restaurant and the other businesses nearby, this is a gem. It is an immaculate restaurant with attentive staff and superb high quality food which we found to be great value. A small but well selected menu of dishes which should please everyone - pasta, fish, meat, etc. The seafood looked amazing. We had drinks, starters, mains and liquors and coffee for £49 for 2, worth every penny. We will definitely be back.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Disappointed in supposed No 1 in Scarborough”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We chose this restaurant because it is supposed to be No 1 in Scarborough.

We were really disappointed - the food was only average. I had the pork as a starter and it was quite tough. My partner had the sea food platter - the razor clam was tough and inedible and he did have a dodgy stomach later on in the evening!

We chose the crab ravioli for main but it could have done with a bit of sauce on it as it was quite dry and took a bit of digesting.

Service was good but not very friendly - a bit distant.

Overall we didn't find it very welcoming.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We went for a family special occasion on recommendation of work colleagues and having looked it up on trip advisor decided it was the place to go. We were shown straight to our table at the far end of the restaurant which was very busy well lit (a bit too well lit) and airy. Drinks were ordered and came quickly. We felt the menu to be somewhat limited but the starters when they came were very good, quickly followed by the main course. I had rack of lamb which was actually four lamb cutlets not a rack, the roast potatoes were soggy and should have been light & crisp. We ordered desert from a very limited choice which was lovely. We had to ask for water three times and.forks were missing from two place settings.The bill took ages to arrive. Overall the meal was good but not top notch.On the whole we all said we would return but there is no way this restaurant can be classed as romantic - due to a lack of ambiance and the harsh lighting.Shame really when we had been so looking forward to it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CoGoni's Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to CoGoni's Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CoGoni's Ristorante Italiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.