We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional country pub, traditional country fayre - wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bryherstones Inn

Bryherstones Inn
Newlands Rd Scarborough | YO13 0AR, Scarborough YO13 0AR, England
+44 1723 870744
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 268 Restaurants in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Traditional country pub, traditional country fayre - wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

This charming multi level, multi roomed pub is just on the edge of the North York Moors NP and is tastefully decorated with a pool room and separate dining areas. There's an area for children inside, but also outdoor seating and a play area. At the bar the choices were Timothy Taylor's Landlord and York Brewery Guzzler. Guzzler it was then. Nice lively pint, well kept and nicely cool. From the varied menu Sally's Famous Steak Pie was chosen (£11.50). Shortly after ordering the decent chunk of square pastry-lid pie was delivered on a plate with thick gravy creating an island in a brown sea. Then the hand cut chips, along with a full dish of new potatoes, carrots, red cabbage, broccoli and sugar snap peas were served up. It has to be said that whilst this was a generous portion, only two chips were left after consumption. It was really nice to have tasty food served without any stodge and the meat was delicious. Too much to have a sweet, unfortunately, but what we had was excellent. Many places serve meals; here you get food, good service and friendly banter. What a refreshing change!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    43
    13
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Traditional menu with accommodating staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

As it was my father-in-law's birthday, we had a family meal at the Bryherstones Inn, just outside Cloughton near Scarborough.
It was busy when we arrived, which is usually a good sign. There was a nice array of drinks available, and I had a glass or two of rose blush wine.
Being gluten intolerant always makes me wary of eating out. While I didn't let the restaurant know, there was a reasonable choice so for started I had melon and parma ham - nicely presented if not technically challenging. As a starter it was just right, light, tasty and a good beginning to the meal.
For main I had chicken in a peppercorn sauce with chips and veg. The sauce was gluten-free and very tasty, although the chicken portion was a bit on the small side - but then I am greedy.
For dessert, I had a brandy basket with ice-cream - it was very nice and as I am not a pudding fan, it was nice that the staff were so helpful in providing a pudding I could enjoy.
Our guests had creamed mushrooms and soup to start, followed by steak pie, gammon and haddock. Desserts all round - a raspberry meringue, an STP and a lime cheesecake.
Overall, the Bryherstones offers a good, traditional menu and all food is well presented and cooked well. It does what it says on the tin.
I did think some of the courses were overpriced. Having just been to the Lake District, where prices tend to be higher, we avoided the steak board as tariff was expensive (and beat Lake District prices by some margin). Therefore it is a place that should be for special occasion rather than an after-work meal.
Well done to all staff, we enjoyed our meal and will recommend to our friends.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Brilliant, holiday meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Tried this wee inn while on holiday with family, brilliant food, brilliant service and they had a little climbing frame out the front for my wee man! Absolutely would go again. I had the pork belly! Fantastic all edible and the crackling top it all off. Q

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Great food, even better service and Timothy Taylor's on draught, what more could you want. Both the owner and staff were most attentive, it was genuine and not McDonalds like. Try the lobster and or the catch of the day......beautiful.

Book before you go as it can get busy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Huge and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

What I call proper pub food, done really well and excellent service. Definitely worth a visit. We had salmon and slow cooked pork belly - both perfect. No room unfortunately for the desserts which looked equally yummy!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bryherstones Inn also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bryherstones Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bryherstones Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.