We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bryherstones Inn

Bryherstones Inn
Newlands Rd, Cloughton, | YO13 0AR, Scarborough, England
01723-87-07-44
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 304 Restaurants in Scarborough
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great menu, delicious food, friendly staff, warm and cosy surroundings.Could not ask for more.I had a great evening with friends.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    37
    12
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Holiday visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were staying at a nearby B&B and Bryherstones Inn was recommended to us.
On saturday 6th October we thoroughly enjoyed an excellent meal, my husband had the steak pie and I had the special fish bake. The landlord and staff are friendly and welcoming and the pub has a lovely atmosphere. We returned the next evening to enjoy gammon steak and scampi, again both meals were excellent. It is not often that you are away on holiday and find a pub that you want to return to the next evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best in the area by miles,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Always great food and a warm welcome.Good value. Our favourite place to eat with friends and family..

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A fantastic find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were recommended this pub while we were staying in a nearby holiday cottage and were delighted.The food is top notch and very reasonable for such high quality.My daughters had crab salad and scampi whilst I tried the salmon steak served with a medley of seasonal vegetables.Everything was delicious.We wished we could have stayed longer as a lovely log fire was burning in the corner as we walked in which gave a very welcoming feel to the whole place.However we had a little one with us and as it was getting past his bedtime unfortunately we had to forego sampling the desserts. I am sure they would have been equally outstanding.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“lovely steak pie....and a great pint too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We decided to take the 10 minute drive out to the Inn after reading that it was child friendly and it was tipping it down with rain in Scarborough last monday evening and arrived at 6pm as thats the time they start to serve food. We entered by the lower bar and were greeted by a roaring log fire and the very friendly landlord.

He made us feel very welcome and showed us where a high chair was for our 2 year old, who we decided to let sit up to the table rather than use the chair and she promptly fell over with a couple of tears. The landlord immediately came over with crayons, a colouring book and a few kind words which was a really nice touch.

I tried a couple of pints of the locally brewed ale named after the inn, which was top notch, just as well that i was driving or the temptation to have more would have been hard to resist!

Both myself and my wife had the steak pie which whilst a bit pricey at £11 was absolutely delicious and accompanied by a dish of 5 fresh veg and another of huge crispy chips, which were divine. Being a greedy guts i had a desert which was supposed to be sticky toffee pudding but turned out to be syrup sponge, so i was a teeny bit dissapointed but it was nice non the less.

If we are back up that way, we would definately return, a proper traditional atmospheric inn with top food and ale, how another reviewer percieved it to be a 'chain' type of pub i will never know. Great place with a smashing landlord !

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bryherstones Inn also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scalby, Scarborough
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bryherstones Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bryherstones Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.