We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely steak pie....and a great pint too” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bryherstones Inn

Bryherstones Inn
Newlands Rd, Cloughton, | YO13 0AR, Scarborough, England
01723-87-07-44
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 279 restaurants in Scarborough
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
chesterfield
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“lovely steak pie....and a great pint too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We decided to take the 10 minute drive out to the Inn after reading that it was child friendly and it was tipping it down with rain in Scarborough last monday evening and arrived at 6pm as thats the time they start to serve food. We entered by the lower bar and were greeted by a roaring log fire and the very friendly landlord.

He made us feel very welcome and showed us where a high chair was for our 2 year old, who we decided to let sit up to the table rather than use the chair and she promptly fell over with a couple of tears. The landlord immediately came over with crayons, a colouring book and a few kind words which was a really nice touch.

I tried a couple of pints of the locally brewed ale named after the inn, which was top notch, just as well that i was driving or the temptation to have more would have been hard to resist!

Both myself and my wife had the steak pie which whilst a bit pricey at £11 was absolutely delicious and accompanied by a dish of 5 fresh veg and another of huge crispy chips, which were divine. Being a greedy guts i had a desert which was supposed to be sticky toffee pudding but turned out to be syrup sponge, so i was a teeny bit dissapointed but it was nice non the less.

If we are back up that way, we would definately return, a proper traditional atmospheric inn with top food and ale, how another reviewer percieved it to be a 'chain' type of pub i will never know. Great place with a smashing landlord !

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    205
    28
    11
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Essex, U.K.
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The staff were very friendly, from start to finish. The food was very good quality and cooked to perfection. The ambience was lovely. We discovered this inn on the Thursday of our week's holiday in Staintondale (north of Scarborough, North York Moors) - otherwise we would have visited again ... such was the positive experience! We shall definitely visit again when we return to the area - hopefully next year.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“lovely country pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

had a lovely evening meal here. Great food, great service and beautiful old traditional country pub!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Victory Steak!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My father and I decided, upon learning that I'd passed my exams and could proceed to the second year of university, to celebrate - and what better place to do just that than the Bryherstones? Fantastic food, attentive and excellent service, and a warm welcome easily make this my favourite place to go and celebrate. Thanks, Bryherstones!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We visited this place after seeing good reviews on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. Our lunchtime choices were gammon and steak pie. Both the steak pie (lots of tender meat in a tasty gravy with a lovely home made pie crust) and gammon (thick and juicy) filled the plate, accompanied by crispy home cooked chips the size of door stops! Fresh veg too - not anything frozen in sight! We were tempted by a selected of great sounding homemade puds, but were too full after the ample and very tasty meal. A good selection of cask ales are served which washed our lunch down splendidly. Overall cost with 2 drinks each £35, which I rate as good value. The place is about a 10 minute drive outside the town, so car / taxi would be required, but well worth it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bryherstones Inn also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bryherstones Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bryherstones Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.