We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 3* hotel with a 4* feel excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mount Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Mount Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Mount Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cliff Bridge Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2HA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 28 hotels in Scarborough
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great 3* hotel with a 4* feel excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed for just one night as we were seeing Gary Barlow who was playing in Scarborough. They even allowed us to take our small dog for no extra charge and made us and him very welcome. Real personal touch by even remembering the dogs name. Breakfast was included in the price and was truly excellent. We had a really good waitress all food was served to you from the breakfast menu, no horrible self service buffet and the table was set out beautifully. A little gem shame we only had one night.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig B, Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
I am pleased that you and your dog enjoyed your stay with us, from your comments I am not sure if you preferred Gary Barlow or our breakfasts!! .
All our breakfasts are freshly cooked using products from our local suppliers including prime pork sausages, award winning black pudding, free range farm eggs, locally smoked kippers and haddock (and no extra supplement charges)!!
Look out for some more big names in the music world appearing at Scarborough's Open Air Theatre this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    29
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
25
57
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mirfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have been coming to Scarborough twice a year, out of season, for over 15 years. Our more recent stays have been at the Crown Spa but as the weather forecast was not good we looked for a more central location. We have just returned home after a two night stay at the Mount and our only regret is that we did not know about this hotel years ago.The Mount overlooks the South Bay in a quiet location whilst being near to the town centre. We had a beautiful seaview room which was spotlessly clean with a seperate lounge area. The breakfasts by Shaun, were to die for. The food in the restaurant was top quality produce cooked to perfection and beautifully served. All of the staff were welcoming,friendly and nothing was too much trouble. It was a pleasure to meet people who took such pride in their work. Despite the snow, we had an 'EXCELLENT' stay and it certainly wont be our last . We will be back!

Room Tip: Book a room with a seaview .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
craig B, Manager at The Mount Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
I will ensure that all the staff involved in making your stay so enjoyable get to read the kind words you have written.
Though we are a 50 bedroomed hotel commanding a fantastic location overlooking the Spa Bridge , Rotunda Museum and Scarborough's South Bay there are a lot of people out there who are still to discover us!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Just spent 3 days at the Mount Hotel.. Just one word sums up my stay, EXCELLENT !!!!.
A lovely seaview room (could see down the coast for 20 miles) which was spacious and very comfortable and had a modern spotlessly clean bathroom. On top of this I had dinner 2 nights in the restaurant which was also top quality at a sensible price. This hotel is a credit to the friendly management team and its staff. I will look forward to returning.

Room Tip: 3rd floor double seaview is a delight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Fabulous location and ideally situated for shops and the beautiful shore. We had our dog with us and there are great walks close by. The hotel is very welcoming and the staff were excellent. From the excellent service and beautiful food we received in the dining room to the friendly and helpful housekeeping staff we could not fault anything and would recommend this hotel to anyone. We have visited Scarborough many times before and we are so pleased that we have found this gem. We will be back . Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley in Arden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was our first time at the Mount but it won't be our last. The Hotel is well placed, convenient for all that Scarborough has to offer. The sea view is a real sea (not a glimpse on the horizon) and we even had a superb view from the bathroom. The best thing about this hotel is the way it is run - there is a real team spirit and the staff clearly are very proud of the hotel and work together to maintain a high standard. There is an old fashioned, or should I say traditional, approach that you quickly realise is a rarity these days - a gentility that is fast disapearing from everyday life. This is what makes the Mount unusual. Everywhere is spotlessly clean, warm and comfortable. Yes, the decor is old fashioned but it is preferable to the "city boutique" style that makes most hotels all look and feel impersonal. The breakfasts are fantastic and are all waitress service - and with snowy white tablecloths and silver service too! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Make sure that you ask for a sea view otherwise you will lose some of the full charm of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I have stayed in this Hotel once a week on average for over three months. I really like it - it has great character, good rate, good rooms, good views if you get a room at the front, efficient and friendly staff, great location, good breakfast cooked to your order (none of your buffet-style breakfasts here, and they'll even make you a "bacon butty to go" instead of a cooked breakfast!) The on-suites can be a little quaint, but all the rooms I've had have had a bath with overhead shower and gushings of lovely hot water :) Wi-Fi is free and good in most rooms.

Sadly, the proprietress passed away in September '12. She was a real lady, very friendly and helpful. She'll be missed, but it's "business as usual".

Room Tip: Go for a sea-view room. It's a little extra but you can sit in your room and enjoy a clear view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend for the Oliver's mount bike racing.
The staff were friendly, room was superb with fantastic views of the bay, breakfast was good, the waiter was very efficient, we nick named him Rossi!!
Stacey was lovely and made you feel very welcome
Overall an excellent stay and will visit again, thank you

Room Tip: Recommend an upgrade to a sea view room, well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount Hotel

Address: Cliff Bridge Terrace, Scarborough YO11 2HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Mount Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a commanding position overlooking the magnificent sweep of Scarborough's beautiful South Bay. The Mount Hotel which has been run by the Macarthur family for over 50 years has gained an outstanding reputation for providing high quality accommodation and superior service.The hotel has 50rooms including sea views and some executive rooms which have a lounge area, all rooms have flat screen televisions and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Mount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mount Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.