We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palace Hill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Palace Hill Hotel to your Saves list
Palace Hill Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1 Palace Hill | Eastborough, Scarborough YO11 1NL, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
one night free
Ranked #22 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Hull
2 reviews
“Good Value B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I spent one night in the Palace Hill Hotel Scarborough. The owners were very friendly and made us feel extremely welcome. The hotel was spotlessly clean, nicely decorated and the bedroom was very comfortable. The breakfast was very nice and the location was good. All in all we would have no hesitation in recommending it to our friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trev_Allison, Owner at Palace Hill Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thanks very much for this brilliant review , Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    33
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
49
130
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Just spent 4 nights at this excellent B&B, fantastic location, great value for money, great breakfast and 2 of the nicest people you could wish to meet in Trevor & Alison. We travelled by train and from the station, this is a nice walk through the town centre. We were greeted like old friends on our arrival and we were given some great local information and places to visit. The rooms were spotlessly clean and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend this fine establishment. We look forward to our next visit already

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trev_Allison, Owner at Palace Hill Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thanks very much for the brilliant review.
Don't forget everyone. BUY 2 NIGHTS GET 1 FREE STARTS 1ST OCTOBER. Telephone bookings only.
Trev & Allison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Have just spent two nights at this very good B&B. Spotlessly clean. Excellent breakfast. Comfortable beds with en suit bathrooms. Nice friendly couple running it.. Parking is a bit of an issue, but FREE parking permits are provided by the owners, which is a nice touch. All in all, a good value B&B ....Recommended!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UNited kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just got back from staying at the palace hill . I don't suppose that my wife and I are any different from anyone else in what we were looking for from a B&B, clean and tidy, a nice breakfast and a good nights sleep, if we get that then were very happy. We were in an attic room, number 6, yes it was small, but very clean with a good shower. The breakfast was very good and sets you up for the day. The owners were friendly and helpful and the only thing that stops me from giving the Palace Hill a better rating was the bed, which we found to be uncomfortable. I understand that this is a subjective issue but the restless nights we had did impact on our enjoyment. Perhaps its our own fault as we didn't mention this to Trevor or Allison, who knows they may have had a topper. Sorry guys for being a bit negative, wish you both well for a prosperous future.

Room Tip: Attic rooms are up 3 flights of stairs, if a thin mattress bothers you ask about a topper for added...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trev_Allison, Owner at Palace Hill Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us. You marked us down for value but we only charge £55/60 per night for bed & breakfast for a couple,[ we have;nt had a price increase for 5 years ], & parking whereas some of the hotels in the town you have to pay around £8 per day just to park You also marked us down for location but we are located just 1 minute from the beach and 5 minutes from the town center . All our mattresses were changed for good quality ones earlier this year. People have different preferences for mattresses that is why shops let you test them before you buy them, some like them soft and some people like them firm all we can do is find one that suits the majority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleckney, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

found this B&B spotless rooms may be small but on suite so thats gr8 as its B&B its what it says a bed and your breakfast found them lovely and so help full could not do enough for you if you need more orange /toast ect they was only too willing to deliver will be coming back next year yes its on the steep road up to the town but scarbrough is a hilly place found it idle for front and the town had great weekend would tell friends to stay there thank you for lovely stay jean sue

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Just had a 7 night stay at this B and B , the road and area is not the best, think the area could do with a revamp , and the road is very steep , no problem if you are fit !!! Nice rooms and great breakfast , very nice couple that run it

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trev_Allison, Owner at Palace Hill Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us. You say that the area could do with a revamp but the whole of Palace Hill is ' Listed' and very well maintained in fact our hotel was repainted in June of this year. Regarding the road being steep, your mum is 86 and found it hard to get around, Scarborough has quite a few inclines. You mentioned that the rooms were nice yet you marked us down by 2 points.On checkout you said that it would be a nice place to bring your husband so I hope to see you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

had a lovely time, owners very friendly. didn't require any dinner breakfast filled you up for the day. location was wonderful for front and shops. previous comments mentioned noisy seagulls, but didn't hear anything after dark. only noise was the the hot water taps and showers being used.

Room Tip: try for rooms 2, 3, 4, or 5, as 6, 7, 8, and 9 are in the attic and they have sloping ceilings which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palace Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Hill Hotel

Address: 1 Palace Hill | Eastborough, Scarborough YO11 1NL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palace Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 2 minutes from the beach and 5 minutes from the town centre. All en-suite, tea tray ,freeview TV. Close to all amenities i.e., shops, fishing cafes, bars, futurist theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Palace Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palace Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.