We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Waves

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Waves
Save
You added The Waves to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   39 Esplanade Road | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AT, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed at Waves for 3 nights in March for a break near the Yorkshire coast and plenty of sea air! Waves is well decorated and comfortable with a contemporay 60/70's theme. Lovely bedroom very comfortable and spotlessly clean. First class breakfast with great music.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevern_TheWaves, Owner at The Waves, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hello Jan, it's good to hear you had a relaxing break in Scarborough and thanks for taking the time to leave a review. It's great to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and the breakfast playlist too. Thanks for coming to stay at The Waves. Kevern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Booked the Waves for a quick break in Scarborough March 15th and 16th 2013 and can honestly say that this is the best guest house we have ever stayed in...the rooms are very clean and well furnished .....the bed.... well.....be careful dont sit on it or you will drop off to sleep they are sooo comfy...breakfast is excellent my favourite starter was the mixed figs.raisins prunes its great and apparently homemade (could do with the recipe), after the brilliant yorkshire breakfast youre set for the day, Kevern and Ruth are extremely friendly and Ruth is very funny to boot. We have no hesitation to recommend this guest house its great...thankyou both

Graham and Geri...youngish couple...well.. 51

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevern_TheWaves, Owner at The Waves, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hi, thanks for coming to stay with us and thank you for your comments which are much appreciated. The recipe for our fruit compote is usually a closely guarded secret, but I think I can make an exception and send it on to you. Hopefully we'll see you again soon (although maybe Ruth will need a little while to work on her material...). Kevern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at The Waves for 2 nights in February to attend the rock & roll weekend at The Spa. Decor is a modern take on 60s retro and decorated to a very high standard. The residents lounge and breakfast rooms are comfortable and welcoming. Our bedroom was also clean and comfortable (lovely bed) and nicely decorated with a large en suite bathroom with both bath and shower. Good choice at breakfast; as well as full Yorkshire breakfast there was a choice of dishes you would not get at a standard B&B or hotel. These included frittata, pancakes and home-made banana bread with cream cheese (my favourite). The owners, Kevern and Ruth, were both welcoming, friendly and helpful.

Location is also excellent being just 2 minutes walk from the Victorian/Edwardian lift (a must do experience !) that travels down The Spa and beach. Two minutes in the other direction are the local shops at Ramshill. The walk into the town centre takes 10-15 minutes depending on how long you spend gazing at the sea on the way.

I would highly recommend The Waves and will definitely stay there next time we visit Scarborough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevern_TheWaves, Manager at The Waves, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hello Jaycee, thank you for your review, it's good to hear you had a good weekend. We like to have a good range of breakfast options so your comments about the breakfast choices are much appreciated - the banana bread and cream cheese is a new addition to the menu so it's good to know that was your favourite. Thanks again for coming to stay and hopefully we will see you again next time you visit Scarborough. Keep on rockin' and rollin'. Kevern
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankfurt
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here for one night.. we booked it over the tourist information. Really nice place to stay. Very nice and clean room. excellent breakfast and close to the sea.we had no problem parking, and the owners are so nice people. I can only recommend this B&B it is very charming and very outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevern_TheWaves, Owner at The Waves, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review (sorry it's taken me so long to respond - I'm only just getting to grips with it), and thank you for finding The Waves. We're really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we'll see you in Scarborough again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Cosy, welcoming, friendly with fabulous breakfasts!!
I wanted to be close to the Spa Complex and this B&B was five min walk from the Cliff lift or the woodland walk down. The accommodation was clean contemporary with a 70's feel. (in a modern way) the couple were homely and welcoming. I was booked into a single room and on my arrival I was offered a double room as it was free at no extra cost...thank you :) xx

Room Tip: My room was a the back...it was quiet and cosy...I was cold in the night as the duvet was light weig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just returned from two nights stay at The Waves over the weekend 19th/21st Oct. We chose it for its proximity to the Uni as we were visiting our daughter there. Delighted with our choice, Kevern and his family were extremely welcoming, the house is spotlessly clean and our room was decorated to a high standard. There is an excellent choice on the breakfast menu and the food was well cooked and plentiful. Waves is within easy reach of the town centre and all local amenities and we were provided with a permit for parking on the road in front of the house.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would happily return. No hesitation in recommending Waves for anyone visiting Scarborough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Visited The Waves in oct 19th for two nights and what an amazing find.The breakfast was beautiful,cooked to perfection.We had room 1 a double room which was spotless, the attention to detail at The Waves is effident as soon as you walk through the door. A beautiful home and a wonderful welcoming family. many thanks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waves

Address: 39 Esplanade Road | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2AT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waves 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waves is four star silver award B&B in the beautiful South Cliff area of Scarborough. The cosy Victorian house has seven stylish rooms with modern decor, pure white Egyptian cotton linen, feature handmade wooden furniture, Freeview, fair-trade teas, real coffee and bottled water. The fantastic breakfast menu has received a breakfast award and includes free range full English breakfast and other options, including vegetarian choices and home baked bread, made with organic local ingredients. Free parking, free Wi-Fi. Enjoy home-made cookies and play the jukebox and vinyl in the cool retro lounge. Close to the Spa Complex and beach, near local restaurants and pubs and a short walk to the town centre, Stephen Joseph Theatre and Hull University Scarborough Campus. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waves, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.