We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and Quirky” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Francis Tea Rooms

Francis Tea Rooms
7 South Street, Scarborough, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 302 Restaurants in Scarborough
Price range: $5 - $11
Cuisines: British, Tea Room, Soups, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Delivery
Description: Take a step back in time. . . Francis Tea Rooms is set in an original 1930's hairdressing salon, complete with wood-pannelled booths. It has an unique atmosphere with hand embroidered tablecloths and Art Deco vases. We serve Taylors coffee and a variety of their loose teas in vintage china. A varied menu of brunch, light lunches and afternoon teas is available as well as a large selection of homemade cakes, tray bakes and scones. Our specialities are Homemade Soups, Welsh Rarebits, Quiches and Traditional Afternoon Teas. Our own recipe scones, lemon meringue pie and fresh fruit almond cakes earned us a place in The Guardians Top Ten Budget Eats - Yorkshire Coast 2010.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Fantastic and Quirky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We were looking for somewhere for lunch and came across this little place in the back streets of Scarborough - a hidden gem.

It used to be a hairdressers and the original cubicles are now used as individual private dining areas. On each table there is a dish full of complementary "midget gems" (my wife's favourite) with an "Alice in Wonderland" label saying "EAT ME" - of course we did (not all of them because that would have spoilt our lunch)

The food (home-made) was perfect and extremely good value for money.

We will definitely be going back next time that we are in Scarborough

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    23
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lunch at Francis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Lovely menu, with all requests catered to. Fab service and we loved the whole experience. The owner even gave my son a doggy bag as his afternoon tea defeated him.....

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Went for afternoon tea after reading reviews on trip advisor.
Excellent service, great surroundings. Liked the idea of the booths. Maybe a few historical pictures of when it was a hairdressers in the booths would be good.
The food was excellent, great selection of sandwiches and cakes, fantastic value.
Will definitely go again when in Scarborough next.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Phone To Check Opening Hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Opening hours which you might find online May not be accurate.
It's an unusual place with booths. The service is good, and the food well up to scratch. Not too expensive, and a fairly convenient place away from the centre of Scarborough.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing savoury tarts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Wow what a find, stunning setting and run by people who have a real desire to make your visit
enjoyable. The savoury tarts are fantastic, so good we waited outside for the café to open on our return home day to take some back with us . Staff made a lovely take home pack for us.

My husband said the savoury tarts were the best he had every had.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francis Tea Rooms also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scalby, Scarborough
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Francis Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francis Tea Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.