We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coped really well with a big party” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scarborough Tandoori

Scarborough Tandoori
48-52 St Thomas Street, Scarborough YO11 1DR, England
01723 352393
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 304 Restaurants in Scarborough
Price range: $32 - $40
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Coped really well with a big party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

25 of us ate there - always a nightmare for staff, but they managed things brilliantly. Service was friendly and efficient. food was reasonably priced and everyone enjoyed their meals. Can recommend for a party booking

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    78
    31
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Food good but unconfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We went to Tandoori on Saturday the 10th May and were taken to our table straight away. We were offered drinks and the atmosphere was very good.

I was very comfy until one of the staff decided that it was too warm and opened the front doors!! After that I was uncomfy. Saturday evening was windy and cold so why the main doors were opened I will never know. We have been there before and that time the side door was opened and I had to ask for it closing.

The food was good but because I was cold I didn’t enjoy the experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Put off Indian Food for life now”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Possibly the worse dining experience of our life. Beautiful gentle Indian music was changed to very loud and aggressive music. The sort of music you hear when watching a thriller movie! I asked the waiter if they could perhaps play somethign more restful or at least turn it down and he just looked at me quite bemused.
the waiter kept coming over and rearranging the items on the very tiny table. We are both right handed but on 4 occassions, for no apparent reason, he came and lined everything up on the left of the table in admittedly a neat line.
I ordered the chicken balti with rice and naan bread. the chicken was extremely dry and chewy and the rice was even drier. the best [part of the meal was the Naan bread.
When a large party of extremely loud and drunk women arrived, the answer was to turn the music up louder. it was impossible for my husband and I, away for a quiet weekend togetehr, to have any semblance of conversation so we asked for the bill. We asked again 10 minutes later. 5 minutes later we stood up and put our coats on and they staff scurried over. We repeated that we wanted to pay and go. Yes yes yes, you have to wait we were told.
yes we did! But we don't have to go back and hope to warns others to give this place a wide berth, Could not have been a more different experience to the previous night when we dinesd at Saba which also offers Indian food.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The children loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We dropped in because we were in the area, it was very busy and we liked the look of the menu. The food was excellent as was the service and they were very good at explaining dishes to the children and very patient with lots of questions. The restaurant had a nice look and a clean modern feel. Very good and we would definitely recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I have been here a few times when I'm in scarborough visiting family, i wouldn't miss the chance to visit this restaurant while I'm in the area!!!!
Lovely lovely food here from everything to starters, mains and sides!
The special Handi dishes they do are lovely, lamb Handi amazing!!!
Always very very busy here!
Highly recommend, I wouldn't miss it!!
All very reasonably priced as well!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scarborough Tandoori also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Scarborough Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scarborough Tandoori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.