We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The children loved it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scarborough Tandoori

Scarborough Tandoori
48-52 St Thomas Street, Scarborough YO11 1DR, England
01723 352393
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 303 Restaurants in Scarborough
Price range: $32 - $40
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The children loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We dropped in because we were in the area, it was very busy and we liked the look of the menu. The food was excellent as was the service and they were very good at explaining dishes to the children and very patient with lots of questions. The restaurant had a nice look and a clean modern feel. Very good and we would definitely recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    75
    31
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I have been here a few times when I'm in scarborough visiting family, i wouldn't miss the chance to visit this restaurant while I'm in the area!!!!
Lovely lovely food here from everything to starters, mains and sides!
The special Handi dishes they do are lovely, lamb Handi amazing!!!
Always very very busy here!
Highly recommend, I wouldn't miss it!!
All very reasonably priced as well!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant and lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Called in out of the blue after a day of sightseeing and shopping in Scarborough town centre. We arrived at 6.15 on a Saturday evening and we were the first customers through the door. I had rang ahead to check that there was a table available after seeing it recommended on Trip Advisor on the way back to out hotel.
The welcome was warm and friendly and we relaxed for 10 minutes having a drink whilst we decided what to order. My girlfriend was especially pleased as they served her favourite lager Carslberg on draft which is rare in Indian restaurants.
In summary the food was lovely, well cooked and piping hot. We are not experts on Indan food so chose our usual Korma which was delicious. I had a different kind of Korma but can't remember its name from the menu however it was also delicious and worth trying.
Price was competitive at £32.00 including drinks and the usual extras (naan bread etc). Well worth a visit if you are staying in Scarborough for the weekend. I don;t think you will be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gateshead
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This tandoori is a must visit. The food is very nice indeed and cooked to perfection.
Our last visit was on 3/4/14 and it was as nice as ever.
Recommend eating here.
Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
“Bit cold”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Went here on a Sunday night, we had previously came here a few years ago and the food was lovely, place seemed to have had a refit since then. We got there about 8pm, there were a few people in, but the place seemed cold, and I was sitting next to a radiator. We had the poppodoms and pickle tray which was nice, I had the chicken tikka rogan and my husband was cagoaled into trying the Handi chicken (which was £1 more). Mains didn't take too long, the naan bread was nice but suprisingly small. I found my main to be very salty, but my husbands dish was nice, and not quite as salty. Bill came to just under £38 and that was just with 1 beer and a diet coke. Baileys on ice and after eight mint were a nice touch.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scarborough Tandoori also viewed

Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
Scarborough, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Scarborough Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scarborough Tandoori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.