We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Seaview Hotel

Victoria Seaview Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Victoria Seaview Hotel
Save
You added Victoria Seaview Hotel to your Saves list
125 Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HY , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“lovely stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

there seems to be mixed reviews about victoria hotel in scarborough, thats because there aere two victoria seaview hotels.
the first is outside the train station, this is a very "lively" place, that allows stag and hen nights.
the second is the victoria seaview hotel on queens parade, near the north marine park.

we stopped in queens parade.........and it is an excellent hotel.
we had bed, breakfast and evening meal for £75.
the 3 course evening meal was delicious, breakfast was also very good, and service was excellent at both.
our massive room overlooked the bay and was spotlessly clean. the "double" bed was huge and gave a great nights sleep.
there is free parking, but we travelled by train.
the bar was very cosy and friendly on saturday night, after we had been into scarboro' for a drink.....they even made "the missus" coffee for free........now that is good service.
the hotel is 10-15 walk into the town centre, and just 2 minutes from the cricket ground (btw...durham lost to yorkshire), the only downer on the weekend.

the only downside to this hotel is, the stairs might be a problem for some. our room was on the top floor, but we loved the view.

Room Tip: ask for top floor if you are ok with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    19
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Accrington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Visited for the 3rd time for a short break and everthing is still excellent.The food is definately a step up from the run of the mill hotel of this type..We only booked a few days before we stayed so obviously we had to have any rooms available and we were on the 4th floor with a seaview,with 4 flights of stairs so beware if you arn't fit !!.Most people there were return visitors which says a lot and we will be back in September again for a few days.highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Booked this without having a clue where it was in Scarborough as passing through for one night and had never been to Scarborough before. Spoke to the owner on the phone who seemed really pleasant so that swayed it. On driving into Scarborough, South bay was so grotty that I was beginning to get worried I had made a mistake. However when we pulled up outside the Hotel which is on the North bay we realised that the resort has two sides and the location of this hotel is in the nicer part of town with a great elevated view over the bay. Its also right by Peasholm park.

The owners Sally and Gavin are very friendly and the evening meal is excellent value for money with 4 courses plus coffee. The rooms are quite large and although the bathroom is small its is adequate. The bar is very reasonable with fantastic seaviews. From talking with other guests it is apparent the reason the hotel is so busy is that people go back regularly when in that part of the UK. Parking spaces are few but the owners organise it so that everyone can get on if double parked so if you want to leave the car and get out on foot its great. All in all a very good family run hotel with excellent .

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

We returned to the Victoria Seaview again in July 2010. This was for our fourth stay, indeed we came twice in one year, just a few weeks apart. You receive a warm welcome when you arrive. Rooms are very good, always clean & linen & towels changed regularly. Food is excellent. Do not each much at lunchtime as you will have a very generous dinner in the evening. Position of the hotel is second to none with front rooms overlooking a wide expance of bay. We are returning in May 2011 for another stay and we can't wait.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Arrived to a friendly reception

The hotel position on the North Bay of Scarborough provides uninterrupted views of Scarborough Castle & the North Bay

The food is excellent choice for the majority of tastes with honest good Yorkshire based no frills menus-4 courses working out at less than £10.00 (£28.00 B & B -£37.50 B ,B & Evening meal)

This is the only B B & E.M. in this price band & area which serves this style -the rest are B & B
It obviously caters for the family & more mature guests who do not wish to wander around at night to find a restaurant ( indeed the area is short on restaurants anyway)

Room Tip: reserve a sea view-the rear overlooks a mai road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel many times as we have found everything to be as we have wanted excellent. Everyone is treated very well if you do happen to have any problems with anything Sally, Gavin or any of their staff will do their very best to help you. We do not feel like customers but as friends as all staff are very friendly. The quality of food is excellent and if you have any issues with food intolerances etc Gavin will then provide you with an alternative meal to everyone else, nothing seems too much trouble for any of them which is probably why people like ourselves return time after time. We have just returned from a stay in Scarborough but couldnt stop at the hotel as they are closed for decorating but we are looking forward to a stay in February, really missed our hotel stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

My husband & I plus our two friends booked for 2 nights last minute taking the last two rooms. One was at the back of the hotel on the first floor the room it self was of a good standard however the shower rooms was rather small but perfectly clean and was adequate for two nights. Small flat screen TV in the rooms with Freeview. Our friends had a double room at the front of the hotel with brilliant views over Scarborough as the were on the 4th floor and had to get there without the aid of a lift.

The breakfast was great as was the evening meal, excellent value for money. My friends husband is gluten intolerant and they catered for him even though we had only booked on the day which I think was 1st class.

The hotel owner made us feel very welcome and I must mention Oliver who was an absolute darling.

Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Seaview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Seaview Hotel

Address: 125 Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HY , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Seaview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.