We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, quiet and convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Headlands Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Headlands Hotel to your Saves list
The Headlands Hotel
16 Weydale Avenue, Scarborough YO126AX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, quiet and convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

My husband and I had a lovely stay at The Headlands at very short notice. David and Gillian are very welcoming and friendly, and the staff are consistently polite and smiley. The room we stayed in was comfortable and spotlessly clean. Our breakfast was delicious and excellent value; we have stayed in much more expensive hotels and not had such a good breakfast! The location is convenient - really quiet at night yet only ten minutes walk from the seafront. We'll certainly be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilly999, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Everything you so kindly mentioned is exactly what we are striving to achieve in terms of comfort and cleanliness with a good breakfast chucked in and it's fantastic when people like your goodselves appreciate it and then take the time to comment on it. We pride ourselves on our warm and friendly atmosphere and to be honest if Guest House and Hotel owners can't be friendly and polite to their guests they have no right to be in this business.Anyway don't be strangers we would love to see you again.
Regards,
Dave Gardiner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    21
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
54
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, Hampshire
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We wanted a stop-over in Scarborough that would be convenient and yet not in the main 'rush' - the Headlands fulfills those criteria. The hotel is really a large guest house / B&B - but it is well kept and well run. We were greeted by name, and the owner was very friendly, helpful and knowledgable. The room (no.6) was clean, well decorated, well equipped and everything worked.
Heating was from an electric radiator which was convenient as it allows the guest to easily vary the temperature of the room to suit. Bathroom was small, with an electric shower, Shower not very good - poor flow - as is typical with showers like that. Room was rather cramped. OK for a stop-over though.
Great breakfast - good choice of fruit, cereals,traditional english and vegetarian options.
Hotel is clos to Peasholme Park and North Bay.
Cost was £71 - which seemd to be typical pricing in line with others similar in Scarborough.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilly999, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thanks ever so much for your many positive comments about your stay with us here at The Headlands. I would just like to address a couple of points you made. People seem to be confused about the fact that we are called The Headlands Hotel but appear to be a large Guest House/B&B, that is exactly what we are and are listed as such on Trip Advisor and accredited as such under the Visit England rating system and like many other Guest Houses around the country are "hotels" in name only. It's a throwback really to the years long ago when everyone called themselves a Hotel even if they only had 2 bedrooms. I noted your comments about the water flow of the shower not being very good and immediately went up to check it and found that the showerhead setting had been changed which produced a slower flow, they just need a twist to get the desired effect. Anyway I'm pleased that these thing aside you enjoyed your stay with us and we would be delighted to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of friends (very sedate hen party!) Hotel is conveniently placed for the sea (about 3 mins walk) on Scarboro's North Bay. Hotel owners and staff all very friendly and helpful (without being "in your face"!) Rooms nicely decorated and very clean. Lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilly999, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you for your smashing review and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us . I hope that that the wedding goes well and everyone is as well behaved as they were when you stayed here. We would love to see you again either separately or in a group again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Me and my partner stayed here for 2 nights, we were welcomed by Gill and Dave on arrival. The hotel is in a great position near Scarborough indoor pool, Peasholme Park and the North beach. Tesco express is just up the road and Nisa local is on the beach front so very handy for shopping.

Gill and Dave keep the place spotless and i am very fussy about hygiene. The bed and bedding was very clean and the bathroom was immaculate.

The full breakfast was amazing and we had it both mornings.

I recommend this hotel and we will definitely stay here again next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilly999, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review we really appreciate it. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We booked into The Headlands as they were doing a 3 for 2 offer and it was situated in the part of Scarborough where we prefer, close to Peasholme and the North Bay.Luckily for us the bad tripadvisor review had gone after we had booked so we were not aware of it as it may of changed our minds about booking in at The Headlands but fortunately we were unaware of it! The car park is a little small but you can certainly get more than 1 car in it unless you drive a Hummer or a Chieftan tank.Our room was situated at the front of the hotel so we actually prefered to park the car on the quiet street where we could see it (not that the hotel is in a bad area).
the room that we were given was actually a family room and if we were staying with children we would of been more than pleased with the way that it was laid out with the bunk beds situated round the corner from the double bed but we didn't have any kids with us so it was more room for the 2 of us to relax in.
We were checked in by Dave who is very friendly & welcoming and showed us round the Hotel and too our room.the hotel is well decorated and the gloss is actually white and not yellow to us it didn't look tired or dated and we are no where near the purple rinse brigade age.
As for the greasy smell on arrival we never smelt it and even when breakfast was being cooked on a morning you couldn't smell grease only fresh bacon being cooked.
The bar is relaxing and it saves you having to look for a pub if you fancy a pint on an evening.
We leftthe car during the day outside the hotel and wondered down towards the North Bay and a walk round Marine drive, I would consider the hotel to be quite close to the front but just far enough away to make it relaxing and quiet on a night.
We thouroughly enjoyed our stay at The Headlands and are so glad that we didnt need "The barge pole"

Room Tip: Read between the lines of the bad review! How can they rate the rooms if they chose not to stay ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilly999, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments and helping to dispel some of the myths made by a previous reviewer. As you said to me during your stay with us that had you seen that review before you stayed it could well have put you off coming and to be fair if I had been a potential visitor it might well have done with me as well. Any reasonable person and I do consider myself to be such doesn't mind fair and constructive criticisms and I have acted on suggestions made to me by guests,but what I do mind is when comments are made that are unfair or as in this case completely untrue and to my mind almost slanderous. ( Anyway that's my rant over !)
Anyhow it was absolutely lovely to meet you both and enjoyed your company tremendously and hopefully we will see you again when you next get the chance to get over here.
Kindest regards,
Dave & Gill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Just returned from a lovely stay here. The owners were very friendly, the room was clean and the bed was so comfortable... always a concern when staying away as to whether the bed will be hard and lumpy!! Would definately recommend ****

Room Tip: Would suggest asking for a sea view as this is always a plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilly999, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
Thank you very much for your smashing comments it is very much appreciated when guests come in with an open mind and give us a chance to show what we have to offer and then take the time to comment fairly on us , so thank you again and we very much hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

My husband and I, both "young senior citizens" have just returned from a two day stay at the Headlands Hotel in Scarborough. The experience has restored our faith in the great British boarding house/small hotel. From the first friendly greeting onwards it was pleasure all the way.The whole hotel is spotless,beautifully decorated,as was our room.Very comfy bed,great shower and excellent,well-cooked breakfast with a great and plentiful choice. There is also a well stocked bar in a lovely comfortable lounge. The Hotel is in the north bay,5 minutes stroll from the beach with regular buses to the south bay along the seafront, although a lovely pleasant stroll along the flat front was a pleasant alternative. Definitely the nicest part of Scarborough we thought, away from the crowds.
Cannot praise this small hotel enough,a very pleasant experience and would definitely not hesitate to stay there again, as the prices are very reasonable and even a 10% ,discount for we "pensioners", which is a bonus. Also one of the few hotels we found where you could stay just 1 night, or 2 or however many you wanted, not committed to staying a whole week. All in all great, go and stay there - you won't be disappointed I promise.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilly999, Owner at The Headlands Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you very much for your smashing comments, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate it when guests take the time to write reviews of our Guest House and like what we are trying to provide. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we hope it won't be too long before you come to see us again.
Kind regards,
Dave & Gill Gardiner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Headlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headlands Hotel

Address: 16 Weydale Avenue, Scarborough YO126AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at The Headlands Hotel in Scarborough, we are a 4star accredited detached family run Guest House ideally located on Scarborough's favoured North bay. Situated in a quiet area yet just a five minute stroll from the beach and all other attractions and amenities like Peasholm Park, North Cliff Golf Club, Indoor Bowls Centre, Scarborough cricket ground and The New Open Air Theatre. All our bedrooms, some of which come with stunning sea and castle views,are en-suite, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. All are equipped with Flatscreen TVs with Freeview, Tea & coffee making facilities, Radio/Alarm clocks, Hairdryer and a range of courtesy toiletries. We also have a spacious yet cosy Lounge with a well stocked Bar ideal for unwinding with a drink after a hectic and fun packed day. There is free WiFi internet access. We have a small private car park but there is also plentiful free parking right outside the Guest House. We are an ideal base for exploring all that Scarborough and the surrounding area has to offer like Whitby to the north, Filey & Bridlington to the south and of course York to the west. We pride ourselves on our warm, friendly and informal atmosphere which is why so many people choose to come and see us year after year. So if you are heading for Scarborough head for The Headlands !! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Headlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Headlands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.