We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Columbus

Hotel Columbus
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Columbus
Save
You added Hotel Columbus to your Saves list
124 Columus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were very lucky to be given Anthony and Sue's number at the Hotel Columbus by Tourist Information. They are the friendliest people and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms were comfortable and the breakfast porridge is to die for.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We'd been before in the reign of "Bonnie"... Since her retirement nothing has changed... The place is spotless, the welcome excellent, local knowledge brilliant... The breakfast nice and hot and plenty of coffee... Thank you we will be back...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My mum recently spent a wonderful week at the Columbus Hotel. It was the first time she had travelled alone since the death of my father and both my brother and I were concerned how she would cope. However, from the moment I dropped her at the Columbus my mum was made to feel at ease by the owners who couldn't do enough to ensure she was looked after and made to feel at home. They are wonderful people and I can't recommend them and their establishment highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We spent the most wonderful 4 nights at the Hotel Columbus. The hosts Anthony and Susie were warm and welcoming. The room was spotless and the breakfast was to die for, as described everything was perfect. Will definitely be back for another break soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelColumbus124, Manager at Hotel Columbus, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to commend us on Tripadvisor. It was our pleasure to serve you - hope to see you again on your next trip to Scarborough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed for one Saturday night, and managed to book the last available room on the day for a very cheap £70 for 2 people for the twin room with en-suite bathroom. We were met by Susie and Anthony, the hotel owners, who couldn't have been more polite and welcoming into their home. We saw somebody's fondness of penguins in the living area, which was quaint and sweet, and the dining was set out beautifully for breakfast the next morning, which came free with the night's stay! The room was lovely, and the beds are so comfortable, you don't want to get up in the morning, but the smell of breakfast soon makes you move. For what we ate, it was beautiful, however we are not really morning eaters, so it was a bit wasted on us. After some information from Susie about the area, we said our thanks and departed. This was our first time going on a weekend away, and couldn't be happier with the way Susie and Anthony made us feel right at home. Will definitely stay again as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Go for the en-suite bathroom, the baths are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelleftea, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Together with my son ,daughter-in.law ,and my 1 and 2 year old granddaughters we spent a night at Columbus. We enquired late in the afternoon if there were any vacancies, we were welcomed in and very quickly made to feel at ease and at home.The owners are a delightful couple who by my observation are brilliant and versatile hosts whether dealing with toddlers or with more mature guests. I would defintely stay there again and highly recommend the Columbus

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

The food is excellent, including very good cooked breakfasts and optional home cooked evening meals which are very reasonably priced. It is a small family run hotel and the owners are very friendly. A lovely clean place. Very near to Peasholme Park and the North bay. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbus

Address: 124 Columus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm, friendly and relaxed atmosphere with all the comforts of home, are just some of the special ingredients which make your stay at Hotel Columbus a holiday to remember.The hotel is open all year and offers bed & breakfast accommodation with an optional evening meal on request. Hotel Columbus is a detached purpose built hotel with private car park. Conveniently situated close to all the North Bay attractions; just a short stroll from Peasholm Park, the Open-Air Theatre and pristine sandy beaches of the North Bay. You can take a ride on the miniature railway to the Sea Life and Marine Sanctuary at Scalby Mills, then stroll back along the promenade; or catch the open-top bus along Marine Drive for all the many activities to be found on the South Bay.Anthony, Sue and Hannah look forward to greeting you very soon! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Columbus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.