We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aartswood Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Aartswood Guest House to your Saves list
Aartswood Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   27/29 Trafalgar Square, Scarborough, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay, friendly people, food was excellent, will definitely stay again. Views to the cricket ground were awesome. Full english breakfast, cereal, fruit juice brilliant. Room was clean and comfortable, easy access to the sea front and to shops. Lovely home made pie shop near by.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    7
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
16
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Welcoming, happy, relaxing, quiet, clean, place to stay. Room, food, staff are all fantastic. 5 minute walk to the beach, shops and a ten minute walk to town. We do hope to visit again in the very near future. THANKYOU :-D

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My friend and I stayed here from 14th-18th September. We had no sooner stepped into the hall when a lady asked us to pay our bill in cash. The first impression of the house was that it was very old, outdated and with a grubby look. We were told our room was on the very top floor and there was no one to help with our bags. The room did at least have a good view over the cricket field and over to the moors. The room was very old, and the double bed was 2 single hand painted beds pushed together. The bathroom needed a lot of attention with black mould between the lower tiles in the shower and the skirtings were grubby. We daren't mention the loo brush!!!! The towels were excellent if you wanted to exfoliate as they were very hard. We had a basket with tea/coffee in but the basket itself was very dirty, as was the teaspoon & we had to ask for clean ones. We were cold in the night, and as instructions said, we looked under the spare bed for extra duvets, only to be greeted by 3 dirty tissues, and one of the duvets was badly stained. Going down to breakfast, we entered by a door under the stairs & sitting on a very old cabinet was a choice of 3 types of cereal including "cardboard" cornflakes. My friend had the fruit salad "never again". You then walked across what had originally been the outside of the house, which had been covered in with broken corrugated plastic, through the old dirty back door (including cat flap) into the dining room extension. This room looked nice and clean but was cold with no sign of heating and we were greeted by a "crust" on the sugar and the holes in the salt/pepper were always clogged up. Breakfast was o.k. with a choice of lighter options. On leaving, we rang the door bell so we could leave the key, and were greeted by a lady who thought only to open the door by 6" and take the key from us. We told her about the dirty tissues and duvet, to be told she would pass it on, and then she proceeded to shut the door in our faces. We would not recommend this guest house

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Me my daughter and my daughters dog stayed there from the 19th to the 24th Aug 2013 we had the twin en-suite on the top floor which had plenty on room to put up the dogs cage for when we went down for breakfast which we thought was excellent anything from fruit juice to a full english or what ever u wanted and the dog always had a sausage as well. We were met by Will who was most welcoming and met Maureen a bit later we really enjoyed our stay
We stayed here again as a birthday treat for me from the 28th to the 30th of Sept. We again took my daughters dog and my sister also came we were made to feel really welcome and the breakfast was lovely as it was before we would stay there again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed here last Saturday night, we saw the weather forecast and thought we'd have a day at the coast, phoned and spoke to the owner on Friday and he fit us in. The house itself is jaded but at the end of the season it's to be expected, we met the owner on arrival who took our payment and offered to help carry our bags, he also asked if we needed any directions, we didn't but there were loads of tourist info leaflets in the foyer.

The room was relatively clean and we had a brilliant view of the cricket ground. Breakfast the next morning was well cooked and plentiful and the owners were fantastic with all the kids, my little boy loved the attention.

Overall good value and lovely hosts. Thank you

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Me my daughter and my daughters dog stayed there from the 19th to the 24th Aug 2013 we had the twin en-suite on the top floor which had plenty on room to put up the dogs cage for when we went down for breakfast which we thought was excellent anything from fruit juice to a full english or what ever u wanted and the dog always had a sausage as well. We were met by Will who was most welcoming and met Maureen a bit later we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aartswood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aartswood Guest House

Address: 27/29 Trafalgar Square, Scarborough, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aartswood Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Aartswood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aartswood Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.