We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Save
You added Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Mill Lane | Cayton Bay, Scarborough YO11 3NJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We booked for a 3 day break with grandparants and two boys. We upgraded our caravan and expected cleanliness and comfort. What we got was shabby and unclean. The linen from the previous holiday makers was left outside for our 3 day stay. Bedlinen for 6 paid for but only given enough for 4. No hot water or gas. Sited close to the recycling unit - completely overflowing with rubbish which the seagulls enjoyed and spread over the parking areas. This did get cleaned up on day 2 of our stay. The general ground maintenance around the caravan was poor and a health & safety risk with small children, uneven and broken paving/kerb and full of weeds. We used the pool for the last hour of each day. The baby changing facilities were appalling. The nappy bin was overflowing with used nappies and female sanitary items for the whole time. It advertised that the pool shut at 5pm but it was actually 4.45 so that the staff could be in their cars driving home at 5pm. We have stayed at Caravan parks a number of times and know what to expect but this was something else. Overall would I recommend - absolutely not.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    273
    180
    103
    108
See reviews for
557
103
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We booked here on our Sun 9.50 holiday so we weren't expecting too much. We had aranged to upgrade prior to our arrival as we have stayed in caravans before and know the basic models aren't really up to much. Stayed in Silver Plus, got to say it was very, very clean and well looked after. Bedrooms were spacious and even had an en suite bathroom, for a this standard of caravan was very surprising!
Our caravan was very close to reception and the park for our 3 year old so suited us very well.
It is a very quiet site and close to the beach and this is what we wanted. The only thing I would say is that we have previously stayed in Haven parks and rated them, there just didn't seem to be the care and attention on this park that we have experienced at Haven's. Lots of litter all over the childrens park over the 3 days we were there and nobody seemed to be interested in clearing this away.
The pool is very shallow, built with children in mind of course but would have been nice to have deeper area for some actual swimming. No where near enough changing facilities for the size of the park so would defo recommend to get changed prior to going to pool.
Kids entertainment was good but bar prices (only used once) was very expensive - one beer and small coke costing up to £6.
All in all this is a nice site to visit but just a few little niggles! Don't think we would retur as stayed just down the road with Haven at Primrose Valley and was much nicer!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

We have just returned form the worst break ever. The caravan (Finch 57) was disgustingly dirty. Living Room carpet covered in dog hair and badly stained with a vile smell. Holes in the kitchen net and greasy kitchen units. Dirty utensils which had to be bleached before use. Lights not working in passage or shower room. No cover on steam outlet in shower cubicle so loads of bugs coming in. Stinking carpet in toilet which smelt of urnine and was unbearable to go in. Caravan felt damp so everything we wore felt damp aswell and the units in all the bedrooms smelt of foist.

The pool changing area was dirty with only 8 changing areas and 3 showers. The bottom of the pool looked really dirty and the staff were miserable.

The food in the pub were average but the staff were aslo miserable apart from one called Becki. The kids loved the soft play area in there though.

Overall I would never go back here even if it was free. We also left a day early as we couldnt bear another nite in the filthy caravan.

Room Tip: Dont go choose another site
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed at Cayton Bay holiday park in June 2011 and we had the following issues.

We had booked and paid for what was classed as a top of the range Platinum caravan, what we got on arrival was a different thing.

All of the carpets throughout the caravan were very heavily stained with what appeared to be oil or grease, it looks as if no effort has been made to clean or maintain the carpets in anyway.
Half of the window lock packs had been removed or were loose which meant during windy days and nights the caravan would be very drafty and noisy.
There was no light to the electric fan fire place, we believe that this is a straight forward exchange of the light bulbs and this should have been done in the pre hand over checks.
The lights to the top of the kitchen units were covered in paper and appliance instructions, surely this is a fire hazard and therefore putting paying customers as risk.
Upon trying to use the iron we noticed that the protective cable cover was damaged in several places meaning that cables were exposed, surely again this is a fire hazard and there is also a risk of electrocution and therefore putting paying customers as risk.
The main electrical meter box as positioned directly next to the main entrance to the caravan was left unscrewed and this was discovered by our 6 year old daughter, a child could of quite easily gained access to the cables inside.
The vertical blinds that are in place to cover the front door were very badly damaged and only half of the laths were in place, this gave no privacy at all and should be replaced or removed and exchanged for something more suitable.
The maintenance staff as operating the on site golf buggy ? seemed to feel the need to drive everywhere at well in excess of the 10mph as stated on your signs, this is probably ok when its on a main site through route but when its on the grass driving between caravan’s this is very dangerous as our 9 year old son almost found out.

We believe that the site maintenance is not as it should be and all of the above could of quite easily been rectified before we attended our holiday.

Ontop of all of the above upon exiting the caravan my wife stepped in a pot hole at the bottom of the main entrance and broke her ankle, 6 weeks on and she is still unable to walk.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

Cayton Bay is a well situated Caravan Park offering a variety of grades of caravans. Whilst we didn't really use the on site facilities as our children are very young there is a kids club and entertainment available. We used it as a base as it is so close to Scarborough, Flamingo Land, Bridlington, Whitby. There is a little town centre a few minutes down the road with a well stocked supermarket and pharmacy. One of the big benefits for us is the fact that there is a doctors surgery that has an open surgery which accepts people staying at Cayton Bay (great when you have young kids). The staff are very friendly and if there is any problems with your accomodation they come out very quickly. We stayed in platinum accommodation which was sheer luxury.
We have stayed there before and we will definately be back next year.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

On arriving i was not sure, but after the first evening of Madness & Mayhem my children (who dont do kids clubs normally) were desperate to head to Sparky's Krew Club the following morning, which they then done every morning of the holiday!! The Team at Cayton Bay - Mick, Gemma, Steph, Dan, Jordan (and little Carly who fills in for the odd routine) were fantastic with the kids, and extremely funny!! We all loved the humour and energy these guys give, which is impromptu as oppose to the normal 'scripted' entertainment. Our holiday next year was supposed to be abroad but the kids want to return to Cayton Bay, so that speaks volumes.

Also the swimming pool is very child friendly, where the deepest part is 1m. Our 7 year old was able to wander (under our supervision) around the pool and down the slides with his arm-bandds on, whch he loved! The staff at the pool - always 2 on at any time, 3 if they open the big slide - are very alert and also lovely with the kids.

Overall - 10/10 and 4 very smiley faces

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

My Husband, little boy, Mum, my Nephew and I all stayed at Cayton Bay Park resorts at Easter time and really could not fault it. We had the best caravan we've ever stayed in on this type of holiday, the park is beautifully kept and the children keep asking to go back soon. They really enjoyed the pool and the adventure play ground.
We only had one meal in the onsite restaurant but it was fine but there's a great chippy near by in Cayton village and some excellent pubs like the Plough inn, as well as a huge Morrisons supermarket for any one who wants to self cater.
Though the bar was really pricey, we're not big drinkers any how and we all enjoyed the entertainment finding it much better than at rival company parks. The entertainment team were brilliant and when they did their own show, they could even really sing!
I absolutely love the location of the park with the beach only being a short distance away!
We will definitely be going back to Cayton Bay in the future!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Address: Mill Lane | Cayton Bay, Scarborough YO11 3NJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Scarborough
Hotel Class:5 star — Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts 5*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's all action stations at this fabulous Park near the seaside resort of Scarborough. With a great choice of entertainmnet you'll be toe tapping and hand clapping all night! Facilities include a fun pool with flume, all weather multi sports court, adventure playground, crazy golf and soft play area, volleyball and basketball. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Hotel Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.