We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very poor & would not recommend!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ramleh Hotel

Ramleh Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ramleh Hotel to your Saves list
Ramleh Hotel
135 Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HY , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
derbyshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very poor & would not recommend!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

every yr my family & i travel to Scarborough for a family get together. Altogether there are 20 of us. This hotel is very dated and needs bringing into the 21st century. Nothing looked liked it had any maintainance on it for a long time. On visiting this hotel a couple of the rooms had bugs in. We stayed bed and breakfast........the breakfast was shocking! Cheap food served if not old!
The main upset was when one family within our group came to leave the hotel on the sunday, His car was parked behind the owners car on their drive. He asked the owner politely to move his car so he could get his out and the owner replied 'i dont move it on a sunday!' 'You'll have to struggle!' Therefore our family member had to reverse and shunt forward for about half hour to get out of the parking space.
May need to learn some people skills if he wants customers to return as well as update his hotel.
Would not recommend and will not be returning.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramleh, Owner at Ramleh Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
This review is neither fair nor true. Whilst our guesthouse is not ultra-modern, it is comfortable, clean and homely as our many returning guests will testify.
This group booked eight of our nine rooms for a weekend and made themselves at home, moving furniture in the guest lounge, blocking a fire escape route at one point with a buggy and wheelchair and wanting us to open the bar in the middle of the afternoon.
We were told that one of the rooms had some flies on the ceiling. This was undoubtedly due to the weather and an open window and was easily rectified with an insect spray.
With regards to the breakfast, all our food is freshly prepared and cooked to the highest standards using good quality local produce. We are rightfully proud of our food and are frequently complimented on it. Some members of this party even requested extra portions at breakfast.
The complaint over parking is completely untrue. Our car park can only accommodate five cars so inevitably someone is blocked in. On request we always move to let them out immediately. With this group, all of the other cars in the car park belonged to them so they could all move to let each other out. We were not aware of anyone struggling. Some of them did not seem happy that they could not continue to use our car park after checking out, even though we gave them free parking discs for the road.
These guests did not make any complaints whilst they were here and were treated with courtesy. Whilst some of them thanked us on departure, it's a pity that some of them showed no mutual respect.
In our view,and from the comments made, this group would have been better staying at a larger chain hotel rather than a smaller family run guesthouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    10
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Market Weighton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

On arrival we were greeted with a smile and a lovely view of Scarborough's North Bay.....our room was on the first floor, which was spotlessly clean, and everything we needed was there.

The breakfast was a typical English breakfast.....the full works, which was lovely, and set you up for the day...

The location of the hotel was excellent for us, as we didn't mind walking, and the views were just stunning. the local amenities were excellent...5 minutes to the beach, bar and shops.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants, UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

We stayed at The Ramleh for two nights from 23rd to 25th April. Hotel was very nice, rooms clean and bright and very nicely decorated. However, the bathroom was small but we managed OK. Kay was a lovely hostess - never saw her husband at all. We were the only guests staying this weekend in the hotel which was a bit worrying.

Breakfast was very nice however I would have preferred to have had a bit more of choice i.e. mushrooms would have been nice.

There is plenty to see around Scarborough however there is a lot of walking up and down hills.

Nightlife in Scarborough is a lot to be desired reminded me of Blackpool or Skegness - not really many nice bars for a quiet drink and there are not many nice restaurants in walking distance.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

We went to The Ramleh for the New Year it was brilliant.
Kay Don and their boys are all very good hosts.
The hotel is clean welcoming and the food is excellent.
We would definitely recommend this hotel to any one!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincs.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

Short and sweet..............lovely welcome, great location, cosy bedrooms, excellent food, nothing too much trouble. No hesitation in returning anytime.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

The Ramleh is on Queen's Parade in Scarborough which is on the North Bay side, and this B&B has good views looking out over the sea and castle. The owners are friendly The rooms are clean and bright but very small . The breakfasts are good and well Cooked. Parking is limited, You will park in the drive but you will block or be blocked i by other cars or park on the road which can be hit or missing to find a space and using a time limited disk which to be fair the hotel supply's.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

The Ramleh is on Queen's Parade in Scarborough which is on the North Bay side. This B&B has wonderful views looking out over the sea and castle. The owners are very friendly and work hard to make sure your stay is a pleasant one. They are always on hand if you need anything and nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are clean and bright and although my parents room was quite small they did have a sea view which was lovely. Rooms are cleaned daily. The breakfast at The Ramleh are amazing. Cooked to perfection and every preference catered for. They do occassionally do an evening meal which, if breakfast is anything to go off, must be wonderful. Children are welcome and the owners are very friendly towards them. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramleh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramleh Hotel

Address: 135 Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HY , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Ramleh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramleh Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.