We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location with excellent accommodation and breakfast topped with a big welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of No. 17 West Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added No. 17 West Street to your Saves list
No. 17 West Street
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   17 West Street | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2QN, England (Formerly Parmelia Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location with excellent accommodation and breakfast topped with a big welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Very clean and tidy modern room, no problem parking with permit provided. Breakfast was wonderful and nothing was too much trouble for Andy our host. Cliff lift at the end of the road beach. A place to revisit again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    14
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
40
95
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The owner Andy is a nice friendly man and made us feel very welcome during our stay. Our room was large enough with eclectic furnishings although I think that some of the housekeeping was a bit rough around the edges.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxburn, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Everything was very good. Our room was large, clean and had everything we needed. The food was lovely and the coffee is the best I've had since our trip to the states. Andy and his family were very friendly and recommended a fabulous Italian Restaurant. If we visit Scarborough again we know where we will be staying.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in room 6 on the top floor. We were made to feel very welcome by andy and his family and they were more than happy to cat with us or an hour or so (and brought us a beer!). The room was great and bed comfy. Very clean and breakfast was brilliant. We had our 11 wk old baby with us and they were great with him. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

From the minute we walked through the door we felt welcome. It was like we had known the owners for years they were so accommodating. We'd had a bad experience prior to us arriving so this was very welcome. The hotel is very nice indeed in style and decor. We slept very well and the breakfast was awesome. Whenever we come to Scarborough in the future we'll be staying at 17. We will also be recommending it to our friends and family. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Went to Scarborough for my hubbys birthday and stayed here over night. It was our first stay at No 17 and we weren't disappointed. From the moment we arrived Andy was a fantastic host he recommended somewhere to eat that night and again we weren't disappointed.
The room was amazing we stayed in number 4 it was on the front with a big bay window that let in all the lovely sunlight. The on-suite shower room was bigger than my bathroom at home, the shower was just the ticket to wake me up after a very sound sleep in a very comfy bed.
Breakfast was great really set us up for the day.
The house is fantastic we can't wait to go back .

Room Tip: Room number 4 King size bed and big bay window makes it a very sunny room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Booked at the last minute and got a little gem of a guest house. Location is very good. The staff could not have been more helpful. Room was exceptionally clean and comfortable. The breakfast was outstanding, more than you could want to eat. Made to feel extremely welcome and would definitely go for a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to No. 17 West Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 17 West Street

Address: 17 West Street | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2QN, England (Formerly Parmelia Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — No. 17 West Street 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished to a very high standard, facilities include mains fed power showers, Egyptian cotton towels, toilet and wash basin, large flatscreen TVs with freeview, free high speed wi-fi, alarm clock radios with built in ipod docks. Built as the holiday home for the Cadbury and Rowntree families in the late 1800's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your No. 17 West Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage No. 17 West Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.