We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll want to return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mount House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mount House Hotel
Save
You added The Mount House Hotel to your Saves list
33 Trinity Road | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2TD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Sheffield
1 review
“You'll want to return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

Robin and Liz are wonderful hosts. This was our second visit and we were welcomed back as old friends, having enjoyed friendly e-mail correspondence in the meantime. It's lovely to feel this personal touch when they must treat all of their guests as special.

The Mount House Hotel is bright and roomy, tastefully decorated and with a 'warm' feel. We wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Scarborough.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
28
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corby
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

We stayed for 1 week with Robin and Liz at the mount house, we also stayed the same time last year but as there is so much to see and do we came back and will return again. You are made very welcome at the hotel, plenty tea/coffee and biccies in the room, excellent breakfast, large selection of fruits, yoghurts, cereals, etc, we had family room No. 7, at the top of the house, very big en-suite bathroom, very, very clean establishment, large lounge to relax in of an evening, ideally situated 5 or so mins walk to the front or the town centre and plenty of eating places not just fish and chips.
Ideally located in a quiet residential street with enough off road parking and parking on the road is not a problem either away from the hustle and bustle of the seafront.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

We have recently had the pleasure of staying at The Mount House Hotel.

From the warm welcome and tea and biscuits provided upon our arrival until the end of our holiday, Robin and Liz ensured that our stay was a happy and comfortable one.

The rooms and facilities (including car parking) are excellent - and the breakfast provided certainly is the best we have had on our travels.

Being situated within a short walking distance of Scarborough harbour, amusements and the shops, The Mount House Hotel is an ideal base to explore the local area and also to travel to the nearby towns of Filey, Bridlington, Whitby and Goathland (Heartbeat Country).

We will certainly be returning to The Mount Houe Hotel on our next trip to Scarborough.

Steve and Yvonne, Tamworth, Staffordshire

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

What a wonderful advert for Scarborough hospitality. Last week we spent 5 days at The Mount House Hotel - and wished we could have extended our stay for another week.

There is no doubt that Robin and Liz (our hosts) were intent on making all guests as comfortable as possible. From their welcome greeting with tea and biscuits on our arrival, to their farewell when we left, nothing was too much trouble for them.

The accommodation is first class. The full English breakfast is superb (this will keep you going until tea time).

The Mount House Hotel is an excellent base - Whitby, York, Harrogate, Goathland and many more are but a short drive away. A fifteen minute walk will have you in the centre of Scarborough with it's beautiful views, as well as good shopping, excellent theatres and a myriad of amusement facilities.

We can't wait to return later in the year. Superb value all round.

Mavis & Alan Avery

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ST.IVES CAMBS
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

Recently spent four nights in Scarborough. The fourth night we stayed in the Mount House Hotel. B&B. Why choose the Mount House out of the many? a chance meeting with strangers in a car carpark near Huntingdon and a chat about Scarborough Robin gave us a card and invited us to stay in their B&B next time we visited there. The hotel was excellent. Bright ,clean and comfortable and the breakfast was superb. We had a family room with en-suite which we couldn't fault. Liz and Robin were more than helpful and friendly and we will certainly stay there again. Even though Robin is a "Posh" football supporter it wont put us off.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mount House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mount House Hotel

Address: 33 Trinity Road | South Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mount House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.