We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very comfortable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lysander

The Lysander
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Lysander to your Saves list
The Lysander
22 Weydale Avenue, Scarborough Y012 6AX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very comfortable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Having stayed at the Lysander recently I would recommend this hotel, very clean comfortable the breakfast was very tasty and the service was second to none, this hotel is friendly and near but not too near to the front, the sea front is within walking distance.

I will certainly be back to this hotel.

Room Tip: our room faced the front and it was in a nice quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    18
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
67
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Owners did not seem as friendly as rest of the staff but maybe due to other things. Wifi at top of hotel very poor and executive rooms nice but not worth the money. Bed very comfy and breakfast was veery good with plenty of choice but full breakfast was a little small. Breakfast staff very attentive and checking if more drinks or toast were required etc. Would stay agin as a nice part of the town also with a short walk to the centre or the sea front.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just enjoyed a two night stay at the Lysander with my wife. The room was extremely comfortable and the bed was just right. I slept very well and felt rested and ready for days of fun in Scarborough and Whitby. Andy the owner/manager recommended places to eat and the hotel has negotiated discounts at local restaurants.

The award winning breakfast was the perfect way to start the day. It only runs between 8:30 to 9:30 so make sure you do not oversleep. You will regret it if you miss out. An enormous selection of starters considering the size of the B&B is accompanied with a generous and high quality Full English. It is not swimming with grease and the bacon is cure from a local butcher.

Excellent value for money and I will stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room if it is available as the smaller rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

this is probably one of the most clean b&b's we have stopped in, a very good position on the north side, a bit of a walk into town but thats not the fault of the hotel. excellent breakfast a lovely friendly couple who own it and i'll say it again,VERY VERY CLEAN. 5 *****.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We booked for 3 nights on our way up to Northumbria from Essex. The reviews were the main influence on our choice and we were not disappointed. We got a very pleasant welcome, our room and the rest of the hotel were as clean as anyone could wish for and the breakfast had all the choices a good breakfast should have - and was perfectly cooked. Our car was playing up and we were guided to where we could get it sorted -and it was. All in all we couldn't fault the place and we'll certainly stay there again if heading for Scarborough. Thanks to Julie and Andy - & we hope the knee mends quickly.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We wanted a special holiday so after checking Tripadvisor, we thought this looked the perfect place for us. We booked a superior room and were not disappointed.The entire bed and breakfast was beautifully appointed, and so many little extras. The breakfasts were certainly award winning, and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The position was perfect, quiet, free parking, and everything was within walking distance.
This was a special holiday for us,made better by perfect weather in pretty part of Scarborough and perfect accommodation.
We would certainly recommend The Lysander,
P.s. Do not understand some previous comments ie. Book a small room and then complain it's small!!!

Room Tip: Pretty views of the castle and quite on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

We were part of a group booking for a birthday weekend suprise. the owners were VERY helpful, informative and friendly! The hotel was very clean with all maintanace up to date and in the 3 rooms we had booked none of us could find fault. the breakfast was superb with a wide range of choice i can see why they have won awards. i would definetly book here again! It is on the quieter north side of scarborough though.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lysander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lysander

Address: 22 Weydale Avenue, Scarborough Y012 6AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lysander is your ideal retreat from the stresses of everyday life and you are guaranteed a warm welcome by your hosts Andy and Julie. Now you’ve time by yourselves, do exactly as you please. Linger over a romantic meal at one of Scarborough’s quality restaurants, and return to the hotel for a restful nights sleep. Start the new day with a freshly cooked English or continental breakfast and take pleasure from the freedom you only find on holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Lysander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lysander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.