We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blacksmiths Arms Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Blacksmiths Arms Inn to your Saves list
Blacksmiths Arms Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Cloughton, Scarborough YO13 0AE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We booked the Blacksmith's Arms - 6 rooms - for a group of friends for the weekend, and we were extremely pleased with the accomodation and the friendliness of the staff. Very convenient location for the east coast and the NY moors. The winter deal is an excellent rate (hence the excellent rating here as for what we paid we were extremely satisfied), and the food was very good indeed, we felt there was loads of choice at breakfast, incidentally. There was a sudden cold snap and the pub provided electric heaters to supplement the heating - nice to take the chill off when we arrived but not needed for long. Would happily stay again, and recommend it.

Room Tip: Note that the modern annex rooms out the back are quieter (there was a very little road noise at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    21
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
10
52
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mallorca
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

I'm afraid that I didn't sleep here, I ate here in the pub!. I went for a relaxed family meal and that's exactly what we got. The bar area is nicely furnished, in what I feel is traditional English pub-style, it's got an open fire and lots of brass dotted on the walls. It's a comfortable room, and the walls are now adorned with a big (and very nice) photograph of Her Majesty The Queen, she actually ate there!. The homemade fishcakes with parsley sauce and the treacle pudding with custard (served with a cute strawberry on the top!) are to be highly recommended. The staff are friendly and efficient, and lovely to chat to. The pub was full of locals, which is always a good sign. And don't forget to pay the little pony a visit, in the field just next to the pub's car park... but beware of your rings, I have a feeling that he may have pulled a few off ladies' fingers!. A good traditional English pub, serving lovely pub food with a smile. Fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011 via mobile

A very pleasant stay. Ideal centre for walking moors and cleveland wayGood local golf courses. Good food and drink. Excellent service with friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

A traditional pub where we eat twice. It was well presented traditional British food, freshly prepared and excellent value for money. The staff were positive and attentive to our requests. Nothing too much trouble. Would recommend it as a place to eat.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We heard the queen ate hear, so we thought we would give it a try, we asked what time they seved food from and the lady on the phone said 5:30 so ordered a table for 6pm.
We arrived at 5:55 and informed the staff that we had arrived, ordered drinks, ordered food (their chicken was off the menu) and waited in the rarther sad bar area.
We waited and we waited, at 6:40 we were shown to our table and waited, at 6:50 we got our meal. We had ordered steak, it arrived and was very dissapointing (garnished with two chilled cherry tomatoes on top of the steak ?) the cook had made no effort with our meal at all, the portion size was just adequate, chips were ok. We will not be going back, the prices they charge for food was the price you would expect to pay at a decent restaurant, their prices should be halved.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

We were looking to stay at an inn for the weekend (two nights) and wanted to stay somewhere near the coast so we could walk on the coastal pathways we had heard so much about. We didn't particularly want to be in Scarborough itself and the Blacksmith's Arms is about seven miles out on the Whitby road and about a mile from the coast so it seemed the ideal location. We were originally allocated a room at the front of the hotel but the window wouldn't close properly and although there is secondary glazing, we were worried about traffic noise at night so we moved to a nice room at the back. The rooms are decorated as you would expect of a 250 year old inn - dark furniture etc but it was comfortable with more than enough drawer and wardrobe space. There was a flat screen TV with a good picture although the sound was a bit tinny but you don't go away to watch TV unless like my husband you need your daily fix of sports news! The shower was over the bath (the original room had a shower cubicle) and the shower itself had a very fine spray and wasn't very powerful so it took ages to rinse my hair. It wasn't a massive issue though and when I mentioned it to the landlady she intimated that the shower in the original room would have been better. She also recommended the refurbished cottages at the back of the inn but we didn't have a look at them.
We took advantage of their Winter deal which is if you stay for a minimum of two nights room & breakfast October to May you get your evening meal (four courses including coffee & mint) for £12 per person. Other reviews said the food was fantastic and we definitely agree with that. You could have anything on the menu for £12 (there was a £5 surcharge for fillet steak) and everything we chose was perfect and delicious and amazing value for the price. After dinner we retired to the lounge bar totally stuffed and sat in front of a roaring log fire with a drink. The atmosphere was lovely, the staff so friendly and helpful and although someone said the breakfasts weren't up to much we found them to be more than adequate with juice, fruit, choice of cereal, cooked breakfast and toast and jam etc. It certainly set us up for the day.
We did a coastal walk in both directions - towards Scarborough one day and towards Whitby the next. We drove down a narrow lane and parked up at the end, at the top of the cliff. The walks were a bit more difficult than I had first imagined as there were lots of stone or impacted earth steps up and down between the cliffs. The second day was worse as it had been raining and the steps were quite slippery with rain and fallen leaves but the scenery was breathtaking with the waves crashing onto the rocks below. You really get a feeling of the power of nature!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Blacksmiths Arms and we will return.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, England
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

Accommodation in the cottage rooms is very overpriced for what is little better than a motel room. Breakfast also disappointing. Service is good though and dinners are well cooked and presented.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blacksmiths Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blacksmiths Arms Inn

Address: Cloughton, Scarborough YO13 0AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blacksmiths Arms Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blacksmiths Arms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blacksmiths Arms Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.