We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no problems at this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Scarborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
Save
You added Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   St Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2EU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
eaglescliffe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“no problems at this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Hi stayed at this hotel with my daughter given room 406 it was a large family room with lovely seaview room very clean and large bathroom we had no problems at all with this hotel.reception staff were friendly we didnt have breakfast so cant report about that.would stay here again only 5 mins walk from town centre and near tram lift to get down to seafront.we read previous reviews on this hotel and were dreading our stay but we had no problems at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    293
    228
    174
    234
See reviews for
341
484
29
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

we stayed in a family room which was big enough but lack of storage was a problem. we was on 1st floor but near staircase so all night you could hear doors banging. linen was fresh and clean. breakfast room was small and if you time it wrong can end up waiting so for price may be better getting breakfast at 1 of numerous cafes close by. didnt seem to have enough staff but ones they did were helpful and friendly

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract,
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

booked for three nights, we were very happy with are room, we were on the third floor.only thing i would say is a set of drawers in the room would be nice, there was lots of room, it was clean, plenty of clean towels,the breakfast was good, plenty of cereals , nice help yourself cooked breakfast,would recommend, we had a nice view of the sea from are room too, its so easy for going down to the beach, and also to the town, we were all comfy in the beds too,

Room Tip: we were on the 3rd floor, we were happy,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Booked in for one night. Had stayed here about four years ago, and it was not too bad, but this time it was horrible. Our room was so small and tatty, with a horrible smell in the room. The bathroom was so small I had to walk backwards to the toilet because there was no room to turn round to use it. Went to the bar at about nine to be told that the lager was having its pipes cleaned, and would take about half an hour before we could have a drink. Breakfast the following morning was diabolical. All the tables were piled with dirty pots and refuse. No milk for the tea/coffee. All the cooked food (powdered scrambled egg, sausage, bacon, beans and tomato) was stone cold and inedible. Where were the fried eggs hash browns and mushrooms? All in all a waste of money. We love Scarborough, but will definitely not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We booked this hotel at 58 pounds on a bank holiday weekend. The other hotels in the area were at least double this price. It was pretty apparent that the hotel wasnt going to be 5 star luxury but to be honest, you get what you pay for. Our room was on the third floor. It was clean, and basic...just what we expected. The tv worked, we had running water, clean sheets and a safe, comfortable place to sleep. If you're wanting 5 star luxury, you are going to have to dig deeper but if you just want a cheap place to rest your head in an excellent location, this could be the place for you. And yes the seagulls are noisy and messy but come on...this is Scarborough....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Not enough pillows to have one each. No shower curtain so a very wet bathroom floor and a trail of towels to enable you to carry on using the bathroom. A talking lift right outside the room so we knew which floor and direction it was going in until the early hours. Breakfast was poor the price was great but only if they actually had everything. A busy previous day seemed to have cleared them out of stock. Who eats that much in a day? Great location, lovely old building. No day time parking but free overnight.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Myself, partner and child stayed for one night( thankfully) on Monday 27th August. The first thing we noticed was that there were only two pillows between the three of us. We asked twice at reception for another, and were promised one would be sent. At 10pm on the third enquiry we were told they didn't have any. With this in mind I decided that to ask for a shower curtain would be just pointless. Our rail had been torn from the ceiling, possibly in a Norman Bates style stabbing frenzy, I don't know. The management were taking no chances though, and hadn't replaced it. Undeterred, I enjoyed a hot powerful shower, and the half inch of water covered the floor all night. luckily towels weren't as rare as pillows, so I made a path to the toilet with these. we then settled down in the noisiest room I have ever known. We were about six inches from the stairwell doors, and three feet from the talking lift, that cheerfully shouted its direction of travel through our door all night.
after the disastrous night I had set my expectations for breakfast fairly low, and sadly I was proved right. apparently there had been a bit of a run on breakfasts( who could have foreseen that?). this meant no hash browns, butter, mushrooms , orange juice, yoghurt or croissants.All you can eat?
My partner complained on departure, and we were promised £30 credit to try another lucky dip Travelodge, but so far this hasn't arrived.

Room Tip: NOT room 205.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel

Address: St Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.