We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Michael's Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added St Michael's Guest House to your Saves list
St Michael's Guest House
149 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Sully, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“outstanding value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Visited St Michaels recently and had a fab time...can`t really add anything new as so many people have said it all really.Ed & Jan are born to do this and we all benefit...one thing to note is that parking is a bit limited.This is in no way a criticism,in fact Ed parks his car outside to occupy a parking spot,and then sacrifices it ,on request to his guests.Can`t recommend this place highly enough.Will be back for sure.

Room Tip: rooms at front are on a fairly busy main road so a little noisy in morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
135
238
34
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Where do I start. The location is perfect for peasholme park, the outdoor theate and the cricket ground. Everything is in walking distance though.

Beautiful hanging baskets and well loved and looked after building. From the moment you arrive, you welcomed and treated like a vip. The rooms are clean and tidy and the breakfast is amazing.

This is quite simply the best b&b i have been to.

You must stay if you visit Scarborough.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit to St michael's. Ed and Jan are genuinely kind and caring people. The room was so beautiful, the service and friendliness incredible and totally warm and genuine. The breakfast out of this world. Better than anywhere ever. Big hugs to you both just for being so special xxx Mel and anya

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We spent August Bank Holiday weekend in Scarborough and had a fantastic time in every way. We booked well in advance as this B&B is top-rated on Trip Advisor, and it didn't disappoint! Jan and Ed are super-welcoming, the ideal combination of professional and friendly. We travelled with our 2 children aged 7 and 5, and we all loved the guesthouse. The children were made very welcome, from the stickers, sweeties and Frootshoots on arrival, to colouring books at breakfast to keep them amused whilst the adults enjoyed the Full Monty fry-up! The house is really lovely, the rooms spotlessly clean and comfortable, and the breakfast superb, with plenty of choice for kids and adults. We had a family room and the girls loved their bunk beds, complete with TV and Scooby Doo DVDs for bedtime, and Freddo Frogs on the pillows!! The location is fab, just minutes walk from an Award-winning chippy (North Bay Fisheries), the incomparable Peasholm Park, and the North Bay shore with all its new amenities. We loved it and will definitely be back - the children are asking us to book straight away for next year!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

This B&B will take some beating.

Maximum points for cleanliness, friendliness, value for money and a A* breakfast that requires a mandatory lay down.
I shall be recommending 'St Michael's Guest House' to my friends and family for sure; thankyou Jan and Ed.

Just one negative: Ed's fondness for Peterborough United football club; "come on Ed, see the light son."

Kind Regards

Patrick A Armitage.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights over the bank holiday weekend.jan and ed made us feel very welcome,they were excellent towards the children (sweets was there for them).the room was fantastic location is virtually across peasholm park.only a 5 mins walk into the town centre.what more good you ask for.a cracking place to stay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed at St Michael's for two nights with my family, and found the place to be immaculately clean, bright and tidy. The full English breakfast is gargantuan - we didn't need to bother with lunch! Jan and Ed (the owners) are wonderfully welcoming and friendly, extremely personable and professional; it seemed that nothing was too much trouble for them! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend St Michael's to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Michael's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Guest House

Address: 149 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your St Michael's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Michael's Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.