We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every bit as good as the reviews say - top notch.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Michael's Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added St Michael's Guest House to your Saves list
St Michael's Guest House
149 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
RING DIRECT
Ranked #1 of 183 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
504 reviews 504 reviews
151 hotel reviews
Reviews in 193 cities Reviews in 193 cities
591 helpful votes 591 helpful votes
“Every bit as good as the reviews say - top notch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here mid June '13 (Bit of a Birthday treat for me) for one night. I had left the choice of B&B to my fiance and so had no idea what to expect.

My main concern had been car parking - although I need not have worried as, although there is no dedicate car park, there is plentiful on street car parking and for visitors staying in the B&Bs there is a chitty one places in the windscreen to permit one to stay parked permanently (like a residents permit).

The welcome from the owners of the B&B was warm and genuine - absolutley lovely folks who obviously put their heart and soul into making their B&B as good as it can possibly be. Really nice people.

The rooms are nice - extreemly well decorated and comfortable. The free wifi works wonderfully.

Breakfast was possibly the best cooked breakfast i have ever had in a B&B - best quality sausages and the like and vast amounts all freshly cooked.

I could whitter on endlessly about how welcoming, comforting, friendly, nice etc etc the B&B is but I think thats all well reflected in all the other reviews. I have stayed in a lot of B&Bs and this one is certainly top notch and one I can wholeheartedly reccomend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
135
237
34
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Just returned from two nights at St Michael's. Can't speak highly enough of what Jan, Ed and family are doing there. From the moment we walked through the door, to leaving two days later, everything was exceptional. Friendly service, beautifully clean rooms, comfortable bed, hot shower, what more do you want from a guest house? The breakfast was unbelievable and hate to admit it, but the first morning I was beaten! After speaking to Jan the second morning, had (only a slightly) smaller breakfast and was able to do it full justice! Jan, Ed - please keep it up, can't wait to find another excuse for a long weekend to be able to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire. uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Yet again a excellent Stay at St Michael's. We stayed there the first weekend in June and had a lovely little break. Upon arrival we were greeted as usual with big smiles and a hug from Edd & Jan followed by a welcomed cuppa.
They are always pleased to see you and very helpful with everything. If you go there you are in for a treat. The Day is started by a hearty Edd's breakfast which sets you up for the day a treat. And at the end of the day you can retire to your exceedingly clean, spacious and well equipped room for a wonderful nights sleep. We have the family room as we have 2 girls and they love the bunk beds and being able to watch the dvd's that Jan has left in there for guests to watch.
A added bonus, if you are going to see anything at The Open Air Theatre in Scarborough it is a fab 5 min walk from their front door so no need to worry about parking. Perfect :)
Thanks guys for a wonderful relaxing break, see you again soon xx

Room Tip: Jan always accommodate you to the best room for your needs wether you are single or a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed for a course with the person who wrote the review below :) First impressions were great, no fusty/old smell which unfortunately some guest houses have! Pleasant welcome by Jan and Ed. nice cup of tea on arrival. We were given a quick guide around the room before we settled in an unpacked. Beds are comfy and room spacious enough for my colleague and myself. Everything
Clean, tidy and was very happy with the modern decor. Breakfast orders were taken the night before. Dietary requirements/requests are no problem either. Tea, hot chocolate and coffee making facilities in the room also. Breakfast is between 8-9am I think..... But if you need it before or after then just ask on checking in. Plenty of breakfast choice and done to your liking. I'll happily recommend St Michaels and will be returning on our next stay up at Scarborough.
Jan & Ed- I'll let yo know how I get on with the double arrival :) Thanks for a pleasant stay x

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Myself and a colleague stayed here whilst on a course and I can't praise it enough. A warm and friendly welcome, spotlessly clean rooms and the biggest cooked breakfast I've ever seen. Food was fresh and abundant and nothing is too much trouble. If Jan and Ed are the new breed of guest house owners then I will be staying much more as they are FAR from the old stereotypes. Good luck to them and I will see you again in August.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Jan and Ed are a special couple. They have worked so hard to create this gem of B&Bs. Their welcome was warm and their time generous - genuine people. Although our stay was only 2 nights we felt at home straight away. Ed's breakfast was fantastic - enough food to last until the evening! They deserve all the awards they have received. We can't recommend this B&B enough and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyne & Wear
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here with our 3 year old son in June and had a wonderful time. The room was spotlessly clean, nicely decorated, a generous hospitality tray with thoughtful and unexpected additions, chocolates for us and chocolate frogs and juice for our son every day. The bathroom was large and modern with a good shower. The breakfast was huge and we down scaled! But more importantly it was cooked to order, every item cooked perfectly and served piping hot on warm plates, all the ingredients were high quality and there was no sacrificing standards for quantity. In addition there was plenty of choice in terms of cereals, delicious fresh fruit, cereal bars and yogurts etc. The best breakfast we have had on our travels. Jan and Ed took great care of us all and made a big fuss of our son who adored them, Winnie the Poo breakfast cutlery, his own juice, packets of sweets, colouring books, stickers and lots of smiles and chats. He told us on the way home that he and Ed were going on holiday next! This is a wonderful B&B offering exceptional value for money and it deserves every one of its 5 star reviews but what really makes it extra special are Jan and Ed. You can go bigger, you can go fancier you can stay in top end hotels but you cannot buy the warm, genuine and heartfelt attention and care of such lovely hosts who make you feel part of the family. Nothing is too much trouble and this dedication shows throughout your stay in ways too numerous to mention. We cannot wait to go back. Thank you for a very special stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Michael's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Guest House

Address: 149 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 183 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your St Michael's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Michael's Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.