We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic friendly family run B &B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Michael's Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added St Michael's Guest House to your Saves list
St Michael's Guest House
149 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
RING DIRECT
Ranked #1 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A fantastic friendly family run B &B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

After a 2 day stay at this B&B we can't wait to visit again. Ed and Jan welcome you into their home as if you are one of the family. The rooms are spotlessly clean and have a lovely fresh feel to them . Our room was newly decorated with some lovely touches added that made you see how passionate the hosts are to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. Ipod docks and LCD tvs with DVD player were among the mod cons included, which kept the children more than satisfied. The breakfast for champions! Nobody should be hungry after the superb selection on offer and the wonderful full English served here. ( thank you Ed, Top chef). If you are looking for an excellent value for money, warm and friendly home from home experience this is most definitely the place to be. Thank you Ed and Jan you made our short family break very memorable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
148
267
37
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

THE BEST BAR NONE !!!!!!!!!!!!
ive stayed in this B+B for 3 weeks now as a contractor working away on a regular basis i have stayed in some B+B's and i must say this one TOWERS head and shoulders above the rest. on arrival (at a last minute 6pm) we just turned up on the doorstep and was greeted by ed and jan the most hospitable hosts ive ever met, we were shown to our room and was really impressed straight away spotless clean, lcd tv, freeview, dvd, coffee and tea making facilities (refreshed every day) en suite all imaculate. the breakfast next morning there was an amazing selection (brilliant brekkie) more than enough to fill even the largest of guys, and if u have any requests jan and ed will bend over backwards to help u, if we didnt fancy breakfast jan was only to pleased to offer us a packed lunch for work which i thought personally was a brilliant touch. when staying at St Micheals you will be treated like one of the family and i MUST say that ed and jan are fairly new having been there less than a year, but have made a BRILLIANT job, i personally would NEVER stay anywhere else in scarborough because you simply cant beat this place for value for money and its hospitality, it really does make working away from home so much easier so a BIG BIG thanks to jan and ed and look forward to returning to our home from home in scarborough. ( Dave Spurr sheffield)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I have been to this B&B three times to date and will continue to stay there on my regular visits to Scarborough. It is located a 5 minute walk from the North Bay in Scarborough, 15 walk from train staion and 5-10 min walk to the town centre. The North Bay area is great with the long unspoilt beach and painted huts. There is a cinema close to the B&B several great cafes and reataurants and Peasholm Park. St Michael's is run by Jan and Ed and they always make me feel more than welcome. St Michaels' is very clean, with fresh decor and is a place you can really relax. There is lots of choice for breakfast and I was given a great veggie breakfast where i felt they'd really gone to great effort to cater for me with meat substitutes. I agree with WanderingBlue when they say it's more like staying at a friends house (tho Jan and Ed are not intrusive in any way - just warm, friendly and helpful!). It is good value for money too!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Beautiful B&B which is being renovated. My room had been freshly decorated. Really warm welcome. Good value for money. Nice shower which managed to maintain its temperature! The large breakfast was really nice.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

This place is all about the people, treating you like family, not like guests. Great rate on laterooms, clean room and decent bed, huge breakfast included, great overall value. Ed and Jan haven't owned it for long and have made a good start in transforming the place. At this price, nothing to complain about, and it should only improve over time. If you want anodyne corporate uniformity, look elsewhere. If you want to stay at a friends house, this should suit you.

Room Tip: On a main road, so despite double glazing, if you want it quieter, ask for one at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

i was working in the scarborough area towards the later part of the year and had the pleasure of stumbling across Ed & Jan. Like someone in a previous review commented, when you work away from home finding a nice place to stay makes a huge difference. The way we were welcomed and treated by Ed & Jan during our stay went above and beyond what you'd expect,and it's fair to say in my time working away it's by far the best place i've stayed. Ed & Jan have just taken over and are putting there own touch on the place,and the rooms are comfortable. it's very clean & the breakfast is really good as well. I'm working back in the scarborough area again this year and there is only one place i would stay now whenever im in this area. C'mon the Posh Big ED.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

we stayed as a party of 10 and the service we got off jan and her family was brill it was valu for the money we paid and also it was a nice brakefast in the morning.The rooms was very clean and tidy with tea and coffee in your room i couldnt ask for anything else it was a brill weekend and i will definitly be recomending jan and her family we will also be comeing back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Michael's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Guest House

Address: 149 Columbus Ravine, Scarborough YO12 7QZ , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your St Michael's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Michael's Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.