We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday. Didn't want to come home!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cumberland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cumberland Hotel to your Saves list
Cumberland Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Belmont Road, Scarborough YO11 2AA , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Orpington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday. Didn't want to come home!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Where to start?? Went on a week's self drive holiday with my mum (she had her 81st Birthday while we were there, I am her 50 year old daughter). Had an absolutely fantastic time. We both have eaten far too much. So much choice, not just for dinner, but breakfast too. Food was always really well cooked and presented and very tasty. Good old fashioned British food. Wholesome and plenty of it. Many choices, especially as at least 7 different vegetarian options, which is really unusual. Different choices for every day of the week and no repetition.
Room was very nice. Maybe a bit dated, but spotlessly clean and tidy and very comfortable. We were on the first floor on the roadside. Whole of hotel was very warm and the room was also, but not stuffy and both windows opened. Although at front of hotel overlooking the road, we were more disturbed by the noise of the seagulls than passing traffic or people.
Staff in whole of hotel were fantastic. Nothing was ever too much trouble. Each one seemed genuinely happy in their work and were always smiling. Different entertainment every night with the obligatory game of Bingo nightly. Maybe not always everyone's cup of tea, but brilliant fun all the same. You're on holiday. Enjoy yourself. Mum did and she won the full house!!
Met some great people there and am really sorry that we didn't get the chance to exchange telephone numbers, so if Jo or Jen from Cheshire happen to read this, or if you know who they are, please do tell them to try to get in touch somehow.
Anyway, can't praise the hotel, food or staff highly enough. We had a fantastic time and would go back in a heartbeat. Would agree that it would not particularly be suitable for families with young children or young adult groups, mainly because it is a very quiet hotel and respectful of the older guest which are its main clientele. Personally, I would spend all of my holidays with the "older" guest. They know how to have a laugh and enjoy life!!
You wont regret a holiday here as long as you are not expecting 5 star service for a 2 star price. It is VERY good value for money and you will find everything you need for an enjoyable stay. The hotel is very central for everything you need. Beach is literally down the road and town quite close. Loads of things to see and do in the area.
Bar Manager Jamie was an absolute scream. Such a good sense of humour and a brilliant Bingo caller. Hope he has recovered after our stay. If I say that one night the lounge/ballroom was rather windy during the bingo, then I am sure he and other guests will know exactly what I am talking about. Glad that our friends and us managed to get the last laugh and have Jamie in fits during his stint at calling the bingo.
Can't wait to go back. Thank you to all who made our stay perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel have brilliant views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    45
    16
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
51
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Just back from a weekend stay in this large Scarborough hotel. It appears to be a slightly older building, there is no double glazing and consequently, having a front room you can hear cars going past but worst still all the noisy people shouting in the street- granted there is nothing the hotel can do about it since I assume they are not allowed double glazing but it is annoying.

The rooms are spacious and well equipped, the bathroom itself exceptional with a very good large shower with plenty of power coming from it. However as the title suggests you can hear next door talking and using the bathroom etc, worst still some people forget their neighbours and not only talk loud in the corridor and also slam their doors. Winge over!

Breakfast had a good choice and was no doubt pre-cooked due to the speed of English breakfast arrival. I had smoked haddock and poached egg- the egg was slightly over done and rubbery. We didn't have evening meal but there seems to be a large choice and it smelt nice when we were checking in.

The hotel is in a good area and easy to walk into town- the walk back is a little harder though. Parking seems to be a little hard with only on street parking available, via a street disc giving 3 hours at a time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

just recently got back from staying at the Cumberland Hotel in Scarborough, great location as it only a short walk to the beach, staff were friendly and my room was clean and the entertainment provide was excellent only grumble i have is the food was a bit hit and miss my room was to hot and could only get Windows to open a little bit plus hotel looks to dated could do with being refurbished x

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed here on Alfa holiday tour, working. The hotel itself looked a bit art Deco, lots of character. The rooms are as standard, cleaned everyday. Good facilities. Bar and ballroom/social room. They have entertainments most evenings.

The hotel caters well for adults and couples alike. And as nice as it is I wouldn't recommend to any young adults or hen/stagg do type parties. This is a hotel to relax and enjoy.

What sets this hotel apart from the others are the helpful friendly staff and the restaurant- 3 course evening meals every night and no meal was the same. I'd recommend the holiday just for the hotel :)

The hotel is in a good location, near the town centre and off set on the cliff with great views from the esplanade.(a cliff lift will take you to the beach).

All in all a lovely hotel. Lovely staff and the manager was lovely too. Lovely jubbley :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
longridge
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

just returned last night from the hotel on an ALFA TOUR .The hotel is fantastic in every aspect. Food is served piping hot on hot plates,with a choice of 4 mains and starters and deserts at every meal, plenty of it by the time you had eaten 3 courses plus a chefs special every day.(if the Cumberland food is not to your taste then you should not be going on holiday,you wouldnt eat this well at home!) we didnt have the same vegetables twice apart from potatoes and they were served in different ways too. The restaurant was tastefully decorated and the staff all looked like they enjoyed their work, chatty and efficient, very little waiting time even though the hotel had a lot of visitors.

The room, we had a double, was spotless, cleaned daily, with a super shower and HOT water instantaneously. The hotel always felt warm , was nicely furnished and had thick carpeting all through. Staff were cheerful and helpful at reception, we enquired about getting to Whitby and were given a bus timetable. The hotel is just a short walk away from THE ESPLANADE, and about ten minutes walk from the town centre with lots of shops on the main street. yes, it is a very hilly town but the views from the Esplanade are superb, there are two tramcars that take you down to the beach and bring you back, one at north side the other on the Esplanade, and some lovely walks if you are ablebodied.

Alfa Tours are first class, with excellent drivers who go the extra mile, WELL DONE ROBERT !!!Dont know how you managed to find your way round the hold- up but it all added at bit of hilarity to the day. Great. Wont consider going with any other coach co.

Finally, every ship needs a good captain and Cumberland has theirs,with Terry.Thank you so much to you and all your staff, this was our first visit but we will be back. you all made our holiday perfect.

Room Tip: We had a front room, but i think any room here would have a nice view. SOUTH FACING.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

My friend and I went with Alpha to this hotel for 7 days at the beginning of June 2014. We asked for "quiet" rooms, which we got. Unfortunately these were on the 3rd floor, which was terrifically hot. My room was quite small (and therefore unbearably hot) and my friend's room was slightly bigger (not quite so hot). As I have heart problems I asked for a fan, but unfortunately the hotel only possessed 2 and these were out on loan! The Receptionist kindly offered to relocate me in the basement, which offer I eventually took up. This room was fairly dark, but much cooler and was "quiet" except in the evenings due to entertainment. However the noise abated by 10.15 p.m.-ish so one couldn't complain. The bedrooms were very clean and the furnishings were good, with a quite powerful shower. Beds were comfortable.
Both my friend and I agreed that the staff were very obliging and courteous. Nothing was too much trouble for them and there was always someone available on reception. The waiters were flying around like demented ....., but great fun and very efficient.
As we are both in our 70's (although still mobile), I would thoroughly recommend the hotel to this age group, although I must point out that the surrounding area is quite hilly for the not so mobile.

Room Tip: Room 318 is VERY hot. Room 316 is not quite so hot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We were a group of four ladies of a certain age on an Alfa coach trip last week. The hotel was clean and comfortable with a friendly atmosphere. The food was excellent with lots of choice and served on hot plates! The staff were lovely, always ready to help and certainly added to the enjoyment of the holiday.

Room Tip: As the location is on top of the cliffs, unless you are a strong walker, take a local taxi telephone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Hotel

Address: Belmont Road, Scarborough YO11 2AA , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cumberland Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cumberland Hotel - Scarborough [3 Alpha Symbol & AA 2 Star]. Very well situated on the South Cliff a few minutes walk from the Spa complex, beach and town centre with excellent views of the town from the north facing rooms. This excellent hotel has recently been extensively refurbished. 86 bedrooms have central heating, private bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV. Entertainment is provided most evenings in the ballroom. There is an attractive restaurant and quiet lounge. Lift serves all floors (few stairs to some rooms). On street car parking using complimentary permit available at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cumberland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.