We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still as good as ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cumberland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cumberland Hotel to your Saves list
Cumberland Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Belmont Road, Scarborough YO11 2AA , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Still as good as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Have just returned from 5 day stay for the second year and everything was a good as it was last year, nothing was too much trouble for myself and 2 friends, we all have disabilities and were given all the help we needed. The rooms were excellent as was the food and entertainment. We met up with many people who had been last year at the time and hopefully we will be returning next year.
Many thanks to all the team at the Cumberlans hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    44
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
47
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just come back from a weekend break at the Cumberland Hotel ( November 17th - 18th ). Having gone with Alfa Travel, and read some of the reviews on Trip Advisor, I was a little apprehensive. The trip from Leeds took approx. one and a half hours, which is probably the norm. The hotel is situated near the end of the Valley Bridge, and is only about 5 minutes walk to the centre of Scarborough. Our room was small but adequate and was tastefully decorated. The bathroom looked like it had recently been renovated and was tiled in a modern design. I would have no problems in staying in this room again ( room 223 ). There was a Singer/Comedian on Saturday night, finishing with the usual Disco music. Lager at the bar was £3.30p a pint and double spirits were £2.75p. The breakfast was adequate with the usual cereal followed by a full English. The only down side was the evening meal. It wasnt very warm, and there wasnt much of it. All in all, I enjoyed our stay at the Cumberland. A better evening meal and I may have upped my rating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent u.k.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Travelled to this hotel with Alfa travel and driver Phil.Lovely five day trip with lots of information from Phil about the area. I had a single room which was nicely furnished with a clean and modern ensuite shower room. The food was lovely and we were looked after by Sandra who always had a smile on her face. I feel that I ought to say in defence of the Hotel that the mealtimes are staggered so that guests are not kept waiting for their meals and to make for a better dining experience. Also to reply to the issue from the vegetarian about the options available, a lady on my table was a vegetarian and was always pleased with her meals without having to have salad each time. I was really pleased with my stay and would not hesitate to use Alfa and this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

we had never been to scarborough before.it was a lovely place and we were very lucky with the weather .we had trips out to heartbeat country and also a visit to the city of york plus a good day out in scarborough itself.hope to go somrtime in the future

Room Tip: my wife and i travelled to this hotel on a bus trip this was an excellent hotel for the price ,we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here last night. The hotel is clean and comfortable but quite dated. We chose to eat our evening meal at the hotel, this was only served at 6pm not at any other time. We arrived at the dining room 10 minutes early and were told to go away, it was not put any politer then just that. We chose to eat here as they had a vegetarian option. when we asked what the vegetarian option was, we were told fish! I was looking forward to a nice hot meal but ended up with a cheese salad. We chose not to eat breakfast at the hotel as this was only served at 8am. I will not stay here again and would certainly not recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Just had another brilliant holiday at The Cumberland, 10th - 14th October. Everything was first class, the staff, the food, the rooms, even the sun shone!!
Our waitress Lisa was cheerful and speedy, and our Driver Roy - what can I say? - mad as a hatter in a fun way, very helpful and a fountain of knowledge of the area. We enjoyed the evening entertainment and had a bonus of a bingo win.
This was our 4th Alfa holiday (Eliot at Newquay, Regina at Torquay and Cumberland last year) everyone Excellent. We will be back!

Mr and Mrs Emmett

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

I am here now with my daughter. We booked with Alpha. This is our first coach holiday and its fantastic. The coach driver Kevin is lovely and very informative. The staff at the hotel are friendly and welcoming. Our waiter Sam cannot do enough to ensure we are well looked after. The evening entertainment is also excellent. A marvelous hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Hotel

Address: Belmont Road, Scarborough YO11 2AA , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cumberland Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cumberland Hotel - Scarborough [3 Alpha Symbol & AA 2 Star]. Very well situated on the South Cliff a few minutes walk from the Spa complex, beach and town centre with excellent views of the town from the north facing rooms. This excellent hotel has recently been extensively refurbished. 86 bedrooms have central heating, private bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV. Entertainment is provided most evenings in the ballroom. There is an attractive restaurant and quiet lounge. Lift serves all floors (few stairs to some rooms). On street car parking using complimentary permit available at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cumberland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.