We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunningdale Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sunningdale Guest House to your Saves list
Sunningdale Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   105 Peasholm Drive, Scarborough YO12 7NB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Doncaster
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Home from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

We have been visiting Sunningdale for quite a few years and have always enjoyed our stays, however, Judy and David who took over three years ago have improved what was just a good place to stay to a fantastic place to take a holiday

Across the road from Peasholm Park and within easy walking distance of town centre and the shops, or 5 minutes from the beach, it is perfectly positioned for everybody and is an ideal base for touring the area

They have changed and improved the appearance and comfort for their friends (guests) by redecorating, new furniture including the most comfortable bed we have ever slept on, Freeview TVs (if you need them) and obviously tea/coffee making in the en-suite rooms

The breakfasts are cooked freshly for each guest and are as varied as you like, all delicious and ample servings (if it were not be the done thing, plate licking would seriously be considered) the "full English" is always my choice and could not be bettered anywhere, and Judy's porridge is awesome!

Dining locally leaves you spoiled for choice, across the road is the finest fish and chips in the northern hemisphere (take away) and has consistently won prizes, and there are a wealth of good but reasonable priced restaurants within 10 - 15 minutes walk or a 5 minute bus ride

Poppy, the dog is rarely seen but for a Red Setter, she is the most placid and very well behaved as well as very good looking

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    5
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
36
112
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

we have stayed in lots of hotels but always return to this one .
We booked the three night winter special deal for a treat for my birthday .
From the moment you arrive the owners judy & david make you feel so welcome , they offer to make you a hot drink and biscuits to help you relax after your journey before showing you to your room .
The room we stayed in was beautifull , from the newly decorated walls and the luxurious soft furnishings to the extremely comfy large bed .
Our room was right at the front of the hotel overlooking the lovely peasholm park , we had tea & coffee making facilities , a tv & dvd player and a very clean ensuite bath & shower and lots of storage space for our things .
The breakfast was delicious , always cooked fresh , hot and to your liking , served with toast & fresh tea or coffee .
Judy & david cannot do enough to make your stay a fantastic one , they even bought me a delicious bottle of red wine for my birthday , but this just goes to show just how thoughtfull they both are .
we are a young couple in our early thirties and have seen lots of other guests young & old staying here and everyone is treated by the same high standards .
If you want a fantastic break in scarborough then i would definetly recommend that you stay at the sunningdale hotel .
Judy & david have been working really hard decorating and refurbishing all of the hotel themselves and it looks fabulous .

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

We have recently returned from a 3 day winter special break and have to say that everything about our stay was excellent. Beautiful newly decortated room with high quality furniture/beds and linen.

Breakfast was excellent and cooked freshly each morning and always piping hot.

Judy and David are great hosts and make you feel very comfortable and at home, right down to offering hot drink and biscuit upon arrival.

We would not hesitate to reccomend Sunningdale to anyone and will return again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Very good guest house for overnight stays and ideal if you are a regular and returning guest. We were surprised to be informed only after paying the deposit that payment by debit or credit card was not acceptable. Room was spacious quiet and clean. Good for able visitors but anyone with a mobility problem could find better facilities and location.
Very good location for Peasholm Park, North Bay, bus routes, taxi stand and local parking. Liked the room and old style guest house charm however the breakfast was of basic quality and hot if you arrived promptly.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

We booked 4 nights here and really enjoyed ourselves, the guest house is in an excellent location for the town,beach and Peasholm Park.
Good size room and very tasty breakfast and we hope to return again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

Judy and David welcomed me and my partner into thier home like theyd known us all thier lives. I had a cup of fresh ground coffee and biscuits on arrival.

We sat and chatted for 10minutes about what we planned on doing during out little get away. They were super friendly and gave us lots of recommendations.

Rooms were immaculate and decor was to an extremely high standard.

The next morning we went down for breakfast and it was fit for a king! Hopefully coming again soon :)

PS. ask to see poppy, most adoreable dog ive ever seen.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunningdale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunningdale Guest House

Address: 105 Peasholm Drive, Scarborough YO12 7NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunningdale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunningdale Guest House is perfectly situated on Scarborough's North Bay, opposite Peasholme Park, close to town centre, theatres, parks, gardens and galleries. Children of all ages are welcome at Sunningdale. David and Judy look forward to greeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sunningdale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunningdale Guest House Hotel Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunningdale Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.