We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maynard Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Maynard Hotel to your Saves list
Maynard Hotel
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   16 Esplanade Gardens, Scarborough YO11 2AW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 182 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights in this hotel and I cannot praise it highly enough. Stuart and Angela were very welcoming and accommodating. The hotel is in a great location and we
Slept in the most comfortable beds ever. Our room was very spacious and clean and the breakfast was exceptional. This really is an excellent small hotel and very dog friendly which was an added bonus. We will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room no 2 which was on the first floor which was a very spacious room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuWalker, Owner at Maynard Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
thank you for taking the time to write a review,
We appreciate all comments and strive to make all our guests feel welcome and at home, to receive your lovely comments makes it all worthwhile.
we enjoyed yours and David's company in the bar and Olly was no trouble at all.
hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    30
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
30
71
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay having fortuitously stumbled across The Maynard last year. Great place to stay, clean, great breakfast and Stuart and Angela couldn't be more accommodating. Excellent sized family room and they ensure the children are well entertained. Will definitely be returning - thank you both again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuWalker, Owner at Maynard Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Maynard. we look forward to welcoming you all back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is the first time we have stayed at a B&B in Scarborough and I must say how impressed we were. The hosts gave us a warm and friendly welcome, the room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was very good. Good location with a nice walk into the town.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuWalker, Owner at Maynard Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments and taking the time to Review The Maynard. hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We recently had 2 nights at this hotel and have to say that we really enjoyed our stay. Stuart and Angelia were very friendly and welcoming and the whole place is spotlessly clean and in a great location just a short walk from the beach and around a 15 minute walk into town.
Good choice at breakfast time and well cooked food. Evening meals are available at 5.30 but that was a little early for us so we chose to eat out.
Our room was small but well equipped with plenty of drawer and wardrobe space and tea and coffee facilities. An extremely comfortable bed gave us a good nights sleep. Wifi is available if required (you have to pay for this service)
Parking could perhaps be an issue at busy times. The Maynard relies on street parking and the area is a disc zone which only gives you 3 hours between 9am and 5pm, however Stuart did mention a scratch card priced at £2 which allowed longer parking if required.
Overall if you are looking for a great little friendly hotel in a really good location the Maynard could be the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuWalker, Owner at Maynard Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for your review it was a pleasure to have you stay at our hotel, and we appreciate all your lovely comments. ps (Wi Fi is FREE )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Nothing but praise for the way we were treated by the owners of the Maynard. Originally bought discount vouchers and intended to have midweek break in September 2012 with another couple. Unfortunately the week before our planned trip I was rushed into hospital. My husband telephoned to for fit our reservation and was told that there was no problem we could rebook it for a later date. We actually went in March this year. Snowing and cold but the welcome we received was warming. The breakfast was more than adequate and the hospitality second to none. Will be going back again and would recommend to friends. Rooms clean and comfortable . Well done Stuart and Angelia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuWalker, Owner at Maynard Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.
We pride ourselves on always treating our guests the way would like to be treated.and
we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.
We hope that you both stay fit and well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just spent two nights at the Maynard with friends and thoroughly enjoyed it once again!
Our group have been here several times now and always receive the most friendly welcome from Stuart and Angelia - the perfect hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they really look after us well. They even managed to ensure the sun was shining for the whole of Easter!!!!! We all look forward to the breakfasts and they did not disappoint. However, we also sampled the bar meals this time and these were fantastic too! Hotel is comfortable and clean, the location is perfect - quiet and within walking distance of town centre and beaches. Scarborough is a beautiful place and the Maynard is an ideal place to stay. We have already booked again for next year and cannot fault it. Thanks Stuart and Angelia - from your friends at Movin' Scene SC.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuWalker, Manager at Maynard Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, it was a pleasure to have you all stay once again at our Guesthouse, it makes our job very worthwhile and satisfying when people appreciate the hard work we put into making our guests feel welcome and at home.
we look forward to seeing you all again next year and will of course order the Sunshine!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

2 friends and I have just had a 2 night stay in the Maynard. We agree with all the positive reviews and disagree with the negative ones. Stuart and his wife were great hosts , the rooms clean and beds comfy, and the cooked breakfast lovely. Also, where do you get the choice of 16, yes, 16
boxes of cereals, plus a choice of various fruits and yogurts.. We would certainly recommend a stay here.

June, Joan and Edna

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuWalker, Manager at Maynard Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you ladies for your lovely comments and taking the time to review The Maynard. we look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maynard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maynard Hotel

Address: 16 Esplanade Gardens, Scarborough YO11 2AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maynard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Maynard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maynard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.